We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Beautiful location by the water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dungeness Bay Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sequim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dungeness Bay Cottages
Save
You added Dungeness Bay Cottages to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful location by the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times. It is a quiet, peaceful place with a quaint studio design and kitchenette. Not located right in Sequim means you have about a5-10 minute drive to get to town but it is also the reason it is so quiet. Great place to get away and only an hour from the Kingston ferry dock.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieOSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
61
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you'd like to enjoy a quaint, clean, and cozy cottage with a beautiful view this is the place for you. We enjoyed the trail to the beach directly across the street with our coffee each morning. We were lucky enough to share the morning peace and quiet with herons, eagles, deer, and sandpipers. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kacie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

With the Olympic mountains out your back door and the Straits of Juan de Fuca out your front, there is no better place than to be snuggled up in one of Karin & John's cottages! You will never find a cleaner well tended space along with the expertise of these two to offer you the best of the local food & art scene. They will be happy to share about the hidden gems in Dungeness. You're a short drive away from Dungeness Spit (although you look at it from your room) where you can hit the beach or cling to the edge of the forest for a leisurely rural walk. This is the little bit of paradise you have been looking for- what are you waiting for?

Room Tip: Just decide how many to sleep and they will handle the rest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bether58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at these extremely clean cute cottages twice last month. The view is fabulous, right across the street from the bluff above Dungeness bay. It was very peaceful and quiet. There is a private walkway down to the beach. I would recommend these cottages to both families, couples and the single person who wants to escape their hectic schedules and relax for a day or several. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I liked cottage 3 with the seperate bedroom, for a family cottage 6 would be nice as it is the large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annieremt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My family and I had the pleasure to occupy several of the cottages for one weekend. They might be the cleanest motel/hotel I have stayed in and have a homely feeling to them. I appreciated the fact their is a car port to put your car since I had cracked my sunroof on the drive over. If you have never woken up to a water view this is a nice treat.
The beds and pull outs were all comforatable.
I would highly recommend this place for any type of romantic getaway or better yet if you want to take the extended family.

Room Tip: There is no bad room, all the cottages are in a line and have the same view and each cottages is si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REMYdaYUCCAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Can't decide whether you want a water view or a mountain view .. don't .. stay here and get both.

We wanted to stay close to Olympic National Park and have the experience of being near the water. The Dungeness Bay Cottages fit that bill. Across the street and down a staircase was access to Dungeness Bay where we watched the sun set to the west (note, the Bay is on the north of the shoreline so you have to look left, but still, it was lovely). At night there is very little light pollution here so the sky is jammed with stars!!!

Out the kitchen window of our cottage (we stayed in #5) we could see the mountains of the park in the distance. As the park was our primary visit location I would have like to have been closer to the entrance. It took well over an hour to actually get into the park. But it was a very nice drive and Karen did provide info on the drive and places to eat along the way.

The cottage itself is clean, quiet and comfortable. The furniture all seemed on the newer side and was in very good shape. Also there was NO funky, musty beach odor - just clean and fresh! It was a great surprise to find that the bed was a SELECT COMFORT adjustable mattress! We have a Sleep Number at home and this was by far the best night's sleep of our entire 12 day trip through Oregon and Washington! The shower is small but does have a removable shower head which made it acceptable.

I would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for cottage #5 which is comfortable for two people. It is on the end and has a SELECT COMFORT b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni_McGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights in the Sound View cottage (#5). The grounds and the room were well kept, cozy and quiet--which was exactly what we hoped for. Our hosts, John and Karen were very friendly in their communication to us as well.
I have a bad back and this particular cottage had a Sleep Number bed in it which allowed me to get a good nights rest all three nights! That us usually not the case when we travel. The view is just exhilarating! The location is about 10 minutes from Sequim---about 24 minutes from Port Angeles---and about 45 minutes to an hour from Port Townsend. There;s lots to do if you want---or not if you just want to relax.
We will definitely be going back in the future. Full marks all around!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
11.2 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,319 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
3.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
12.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#4 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Juan de Fuca Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dungeness Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dungeness Bay Cottages

Property: Dungeness Bay Cottages
Address: 140 Marine Dr, Sequim, WA 98382-9577
Location: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A collection of roomy cottages, Dungeness Bay Cottages enjoys a lovely setting...With private beach...Picnic tables & chairs. The cottages have full kitchens...Plus sweeping views of mountains & cow pastures outback!"...From Frommers. The beach, the Bay, the Olympic Park hikes, waterfalls, the wild beaches and Rain Forest, Victoria, B.C.Are all in your reach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dungeness Bay Cottages Hotel Sequim
Dungeness Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing