We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and fabulous service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alder Wood Bistro

Alder Wood Bistro
Ranked #2 of 86 Restaurants in Sequim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sequim Avenue
Description: Thoughtfully crafted seasonal menus and daily specials featuring local, organic and sustainable ingredients from the bounty of the Olympic Peninsula. Food prepared well and served with a smile.
London
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Lovely food and fabulous service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had such a lovely meal here while staying nearby in Port Angeles. The food was fantastic, especially the surf-and-turf (salmon and steak) special and the ‘chocolate bliss’ dessert. The menu makes it sound like it's going to be innovative and complicated, but I found it a bit simpler than that in practice - just really well-conceived and well-executed, super-tasty food. We washed it down with a couple of lovely glasses of local white wine and finished with some really great coffee. And the service was really outstanding – so friendly and welcoming. The kind of restaurant every small town should have, but few do!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAlicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    84
    24
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olympic National Park, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Adorable Spot, Small Portions, High Prices,Tasty Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We sat in the Garden which was pretty cute. The food tasted pretty good, but the portions were super tiny and the prices were up there. We weren't very impressed with dessert, but their coffee was good (go Sunrise!). We ordered an appetizer, a salad, two entrees and two desserts but were hungry by the time we drove home (1/2 hour later). Great place to go for a special occasion if you don't need much to fill up and have the funds. Serivce was friendly but slow, as it was pretty busy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paper_monkE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great reviews left me disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I hyped this place up to my wife (based on reviews here) when we were taking an overnight trip to the Sequim area. I drove in from our hotel and had a delicious pint of ale while I waited for our order of salad and pizza. The inside of the restaurant was nicely decorated and the staff was pleasant. When my order came up I promptly took it back to the hotel about 5 minutes away. My wife and I agreed the salad was short on toppings and the vinaigrette was not fantastic. We didn't find the pizza to be much better. The crust was nothing special and the pumpkin sauce was bland, but the lamb sausage was a highlight. Unfortunately there was hardly any on the pie :( I would not eat here again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tubasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magical night of dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This was the best restaurant find of our 12 day trip. We dined in the cozy outdoor garden at dusk beneath the apple tree w mini lights. It got a little cool but no problem, the staff had clean lap blankets to offer! The food was exceptional with many vegetarian offerings. Staff was attentive but not over bearing. They offered suggestions for our trip into Olympic National Park, which all turned out to be good advise. A night to remember!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cvansom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Salem, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not Very Good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We waited over 30 minutes for them to bring the (very small) salad; then we waited until 20 for the (very small) meal, which was not very tasty. I had the "tart" which was simply spinach quiche. Yuck. The waitress never checked on us even one time, but remembered she had not done so when she brought the bill, and apologized. That apology got her a SMALL tip. Won't be back. Try Adrian's Restaurant on Fifth. Excellent food, and the service is marvelous!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alder Wood Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Alder Wood Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing