We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Delightful in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lost Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Sequim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We had the most delightful experience at Lost Mountain Lodge. The host and hostess, Dwight and Lisa, couldn't be more accommodating and welcoming. When they checked us in they showed us all the wonderful ammenities around the lodge as well as the kitchen stocked with snacks, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and more for us to enjoy at our leisure. Their adorable son Ryan offered to bring our luggage to our room.

The room was amazing from the large size with a special seating area to the fireplace, wide screen TV, beautiful appointments, and views of the Olympic Mountains from our bed. Every detail was so well thought out. Even the required signs for our safety and well-being were placed in beautiful picture frames. Another feature, the coded lock entry to the Lodge and room just made coming and going so much easier. We didn't have worry about whether or not we had the key or key card.

The wine and hors d'oeuvres that were delivered to our room before we went out to dinner were absolutely divine. Upon our return from dinner we were surprised to find two heart-shaped brownies beside our turned down bed. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and I felt hugged all night long by the fine linens and warm down comforter. These little touches are what make Lost Mountain Lodge so special and memorable.

The breakfasts in the morning were delicious and so artfully presented. We encouraged Lisa to publish a book of Lost Mountain Lodge breakfast recipes. The chef, Grace was a delight to talk to and we enjoyed meeting the other guests at breakfast. By the time we left, we felt like we had made new friends.

Lost Mountain Lodge is like a welcoming home away from home. The setting and the accommodations are so beautiful. I wanted to soak up every detail and bring it home with me. I encourage anyone looking for an incredible experience to book a weekend at the Lodge. We are looking forward to returning often.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FairholmIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 399 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2009

After reading the many positive responses for Lost Mountain Lodge, my husband and I decided it was just the place to experience our first visit to the Olympic Peninsula. The proximity to all the sites was perfect. The accommodations were exquisite - down to the ironed pillow cases. And our room was more spacious than any other B&B we've ever stayed at. We enjoyed complimentary wine & hors d’oeuvres, lattes, bottled water & soft drinks, popcorn and a great selection of movies! Room amenities were outstanding. We wanted to take our king bed home! We even had our own beautiful fireplace and widescreen flat-panel TV! We also had a delightful breakfast every morning. The owners definitely take pride in their home and went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. We look forward to returning to Lost Mountain Lodge again and will be recommending their beautiful accommodations to our family and friends. Thank you Dwight and Lisa!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lighthouzlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

This is a beautiful spot; we were in the guesthouse which was lovely and very private. As other reviews have said, breakfast was excellent. The odd thing is, and something that's a bit hard to articulate, is the strange manner of the owner; the words seem friendly, but the delivery and the feeling you get from her is that you are an intrusion and a unhappy chore. It's as if she is able to maintain a pleasant demeanor until your credit card has been charged in full, after which, she really doesn't want you to bother her. It's a great, somewhat high priced place to stay but I wouldn't stay again or recommend it because of the lack of warmth and welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank blueskygirl214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LostMountainLodge, Owner & General Manager at Lost Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2009

This Reviewer has made most unfair assumptions about my very quiet and reserved wife. Both my wife and I personally welcomed this couple to the Lodge for their honeymoon.

My wife did a great deal more than swipe their credit card as I observed my wife spending time at check-in going over trail maps, offering to make reservations for dinner, and providing directions to a nearby Farmer’s Market to stock up on food for their cottage. I personally escorted the Reviewer to her private cottage and showed them how to work the fireplace and hydrotherapy spa. Our young son offered to unload their luggage.

Shortly after they arrived, my wife and I took a beautiful tray of wine and hors d’oeuvres (on lovely heart-shaped dishes for honeymooners) over to their cottage as a special welcome to help them relax and enjoy their stay. I personally heard my wife tell the reviewer if there was anything at all they needed during their stay, they only had to ask us and that we are here to serve them.

When the Reviewer left for dinner, my wife did a turn-down service and placed freshly baked treats by their bedside. My wife also made certain that a tidy with fresh linens was provided daily during their stay. I am sad that the Reviewer did not appreciate how much was actually done to make her feel special and welcomed.

Whenever someone reserves one of our private cottages instead of staying in the main Lodge building — especially guests on their honeymoon — we believe they are looking for privacy and so we respectfully fade into the background to let them enjoy their stay uninterrupted. We are very sorry this Reviewer misinterpreted our intentions.

Sincerely,
Dwight Hostvedt
Owner & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Four of us staryed at Lost Mountain Lodge for a weekend of golf and bridge. We were really thrilled to find such beautiful accomodations. Our Guest House was perfect for the four of us and was beautifully decorated. The food was amazing and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They made our dinner reservations for us at fabulous spots. But the breaqkfast and special snacks provided by the Inn were unbelievable--truly delicious. This was a great weekend get away for us and we look forward to staying at Lost Mountain Lodge again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flyguymi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We have stayed in B and B hotels in many countries. Our two nights at Lost Mountain Lodge surpassed all expectations. Each room was unique with every amenity available for a couple or the whole family. The grounds were beautiful with flowers, acres of grass, and water. Our breakfast consisted of fresh local fruits along with a 5 star meal with great presentation. Go stay if you want a memory of a lifetime. Dennis and Penny Storie

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marley1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Our weekend trip was absolutely amazing. We were warmly greeted and shown to our "ffantasy suite". The room was beautifully decorated, immaculate, with every amenity. The staff was extremely freindly and helpful. We were treated like royalty. The food was delicious and beautifully served. If you want a romantic pampered getaway, this is ther place to go. The room was amazing, the surroundings beautiful and the food fantastic. The elegant suite was only enhanced by a private massage in our room.. I could not imagine a more perfect place to go to enjoy being pampered.
This is a great place for two or a whole family.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank balsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

This was our first trip to the Olympic Peninsula and we had a wonderful time.
Lisa and Dwight are fantastic hosts with a found of information concerning the places to visit in the area. What they have given to the property is amazing.
If you are looking for privacy and romance this is your place. We stayed 4 nights in the Guest House, which is really a beautiful home. The surroundings are so private. Side porch with a new grill and seating, also a back porch with seating and a hot tub. Great after a day of hiking the nearby trails in the Olympic National Park.
Very comfortable King bed, full size kitchen with every kitchen utensil imaginable.
We enjoyed sitting in the porch swing overlooking the private little Quail Lake .
If you are a nature lover, you will adore this place.
We would highly recommend staying here for a quiet and romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tina-Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
11 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,024 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,279 reviews
6 mi away
Juan de Fuca Cottages
2.4 mi away
Olympic View Inn
Olympic View Inn
#6 of 10 in Sequim
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Mountain Lodge

Address: 303 Sunny View Drive, Sequim, WA 98382
Location: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sequim
Price Range: $192 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lost Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top 40 Places in Washington State for Romance, Adventure & Gourmet Cuisine. Private 9-acre National Wildlife Federation Certified Habitat. Mountain views. Idyllic ponds. Close to Olympic National Park, Lavender farms, ferries to Victoria B.C. Spacious suites feature fireplaces, King beds, 32-inch HDTV-DVDs, free Wi-Fi, resort robes and stylish private baths. Gourmet hot breakfast served every morning 8:30am-9:30am. Savor your morning latte on a sunny deck chair. Linger in our hydrospas under the stars! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lost Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing