We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for advanterous people.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gate Keeper's Castle
Ranked #10 of 10 Sequim B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We are two mature (over 65) friends and traveller companions. We love to stay in unique places and this one was unique to the point that upon entrance to the dungeon, we questioned our sanity. What are we doing here? Where are the lights, the windows, the phone? We were in the dungeon - literally. My friend said "let's pick the bedrooms closer to the bathroom and the door". There are 3 bedrooms. The first night was so dark that I tought that this would be what death feels like. But we both slept quite well in our separate and not so close bedrooms. Our gracious hostess made us breakfast to order. The second night was more relaxed and since we already survived the first nigth, we were able to enjoy it more. It looked more like a Disney place.
As I was showing my pictures today, a much younger friend said she would not dare to stay in a place like this. Power to us mature ladies!

Room Tip: Go for the dungeon but stay more than one night. Bring a flashlight for each person. Ask about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 20 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is one of the most unique properties I've ever visited, and not to be missed. For one, the value of what you're getting is miles ahead of any BnB; deluxe dual head steam shower, giant tub for two, massive grounds to walk, views for miles, real privacy, space.

The whole castle of course has a medieval theme which wanders from interesting to whimsical, there's nothing too offensive among the curiosities save a well placed mural in the steam shower but by that point, well, you know what your in for. The dungeon is made for lovers first, and large parties second (it does have three full bedrooms), no two ways about it. Dungeon has a private entrance not shared with the other guests. Lot of fun.

The upper floors are open and light. Both the bedrooms look fantastic, the Queen is actually much bigger than the photos infer. The King does the name justice, money well spent for top floor luxury, great balcony, impossible to disappoint.

Hosts are gracious, smart and kind people, all good.

Room Tip: Upstairs for open and light, dungeon for ultimate privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the castle for our 15th wedding anniversary and will be back for sure. The building its self is just gorgeous. The view was amazing and the dungeon was a fantasy of it's own. The host and hostess were by far the best part though. Fun and down to earth people. The pictures do not do this hide away justice either.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank velezredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was wonderful the castle is exquisite and it was easy to get lost in time without losing comfort as well. I hope to return soon the pricing was affordable and the people very friendly. So quiet and peaceful yet if you needed assistance it was readily available. I slept very well the beds and rooms were extremely comfortable. Over all loved it

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malisha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was a wild an unexpected ride for me and my husband...we stayed in the dungeon! What happens in the dungeon...:) Our hostess was amazing and we LOVE her! If you are looking for adventure romance relaxation or just a nice place to stay this is the place..loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dieshankarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went out to review the property for an event, and fell in love.

There are wide open spaces as well as a stable and barn that could be use for a multitude of outdoor events. Inside the castle itself, this bed & breakfast is appealing to a variety of situations and tastes. Be warned--there are cats, who are quiet, retiring, and provide a delightsome bit of whimsy in addition to the incredible stained glass windows, stairways that lead to antique-filled bedrooms, and sybaritic bathrooms.

Josie, our guide and proprietor, was gracious and talkative, telling us bits of history as well as showing us exquisite rooms, a spacious kitchen, and glorious vistas of Diamond Point, the Juan de Fuca, and Canada from verandas and balconies. There is a meditation circle as well as a charming garden out front--suitable for taking photos or wedding portraits.

While the Dungeon, a spacious collections of rooms (located down the stairs, of course) might appeal to a set of more eclectic tastes, there is a Harry Potter Room tucked away under a set of stairs for younger guests.

While there were worn bits, where the paint had chipped or worn away, those slight defects are easily overlooked. Seeing this spacious, incredible property is truly a treat!

While this was a business trip, I truly hope to return for more selective, private events!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lgonstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My fiance and i were really exited to visit The Gatekeepers Castle .We had waited weeks for the trip , and were not at all let down. Driving up to the castle is like an image from a Disney movie...bright purple and yellows catch your eye,the grounds alive with trees and beautiful decorations.I especially loved the meditation circle....it looks like a place where bad days dont happen,a place thats meant to be enjoyed . It really is a breath of fresh air. The hosts are friendly warm hearted people who really made the stay comfortable. On the castle interior there was so much to look at and do, that i wasn't bored for a second.The tour was wonderful and the lovely gatekeeper who guided us was very thorough and showed us all the great views while explaining the layout and history of the castle.we stayed in the dungeon which was much cooler than any pics can show... The morning walk to the beach was especially sweet it is filled with beautiful wooden sculptures that make up a rather long fence and the beach was crisp and clean.All in all the journey is worth it if your anywhere near the area this is a must. I'm urging all my friends to go see this magical place for themselves. You wont regret or forget the trip:) we can't wait to visit again:) its truly a privilege.

Room Tip: i dont think theres a pool but theres a beautiful jacuzzi in the dungion, and just walking the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sequim hotels
5.3 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
194 reviews
7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
7.3 mi away
Red Caboose Getaway
Red Caboose Getaway
#5 of 10 in Sequim
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Lost Mountain Lodge
Lost Mountain Lodge
#1 of 10 in Sequim
400 reviews
12.4 mi away
Greenhouse Inn by the Bay
12.8 mi away
Juan de Fuca Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gate Keeper's Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gate Keeper's Castle

Address: 960 Gardiner Beach Rd, Sequim, WA 98382-8752
Location: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sequim
Price Range: $139 - $799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed and built from a dream. This medieval castle is the most enchanted castle in the area. Looking upon the structure, flights of pure fantasy and imagination dazzle the mind. Feasting, sieges, bards, mystery and wonder grow when stepping into this magical world. An age of bygone kings, magicians, giants, dwarfs, sorceresses, elves and trolls. Through the doors, chivalry is born and romance has its origins in this magical world. The castle is extremely spacious and must be seen to fully appreciate. This is a dream getaway for anybody seeking a refuge from the mundane. The Gate Keepers Castle has a total of 5 full size bedrooms all prepared in the finest linens, rest easy in luxury. There are 3 bedrooms in the King Suite, as well as a full size Jacuzzi, steam shower and a decor unique in its own right. The main floor has a full restaurant style equipped kitchen, fireplace, and bathroom all with an elegant Victorian charm, with modern appliances. Meandering up the spiral staircase to the upper floor, one is drawn to the stained glass and antique decor. Here you will find two more spacious bedrooms and a bathroom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing