We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place and people”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gate Keeper's Castle
Ranked #10 of 10 Sequim B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the castle for our 15th wedding anniversary and will be back for sure. The building its self is just gorgeous. The view was amazing and the dungeon was a fantasy of it's own. The host and hostess were by far the best part though. Fun and down to earth people. The pictures do not do this hide away justice either.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank velezredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 20 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was wonderful the castle is exquisite and it was easy to get lost in time without losing comfort as well. I hope to return soon the pricing was affordable and the people very friendly. So quiet and peaceful yet if you needed assistance it was readily available. I slept very well the beds and rooms were extremely comfortable. Over all loved it

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malisha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was a wild an unexpected ride for me and my husband...we stayed in the dungeon! What happens in the dungeon...:) Our hostess was amazing and we LOVE her! If you are looking for adventure romance relaxation or just a nice place to stay this is the place..loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dieshankarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went out to review the property for an event, and fell in love.

There are wide open spaces as well as a stable and barn that could be use for a multitude of outdoor events. Inside the castle itself, this bed & breakfast is appealing to a variety of situations and tastes. Be warned--there are cats, who are quiet, retiring, and provide a delightsome bit of whimsy in addition to the incredible stained glass windows, stairways that lead to antique-filled bedrooms, and sybaritic bathrooms.

Josie, our guide and proprietor, was gracious and talkative, telling us bits of history as well as showing us exquisite rooms, a spacious kitchen, and glorious vistas of Diamond Point, the Juan de Fuca, and Canada from verandas and balconies. There is a meditation circle as well as a charming garden out front--suitable for taking photos or wedding portraits.

While the Dungeon, a spacious collections of rooms (located down the stairs, of course) might appeal to a set of more eclectic tastes, there is a Harry Potter Room tucked away under a set of stairs for younger guests.

While there were worn bits, where the paint had chipped or worn away, those slight defects are easily overlooked. Seeing this spacious, incredible property is truly a treat!

While this was a business trip, I truly hope to return for more selective, private events!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lgonstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My fiance and i were really exited to visit The Gatekeepers Castle .We had waited weeks for the trip , and were not at all let down. Driving up to the castle is like an image from a Disney movie...bright purple and yellows catch your eye,the grounds alive with trees and beautiful decorations.I especially loved the meditation circle....it looks like a place where bad days dont happen,a place thats meant to be enjoyed . It really is a breath of fresh air. The hosts are friendly warm hearted people who really made the stay comfortable. On the castle interior there was so much to look at and do, that i wasn't bored for a second.The tour was wonderful and the lovely gatekeeper who guided us was very thorough and showed us all the great views while explaining the layout and history of the castle.we stayed in the dungeon which was much cooler than any pics can show... The morning walk to the beach was especially sweet it is filled with beautiful wooden sculptures that make up a rather long fence and the beach was crisp and clean.All in all the journey is worth it if your anywhere near the area this is a must. I'm urging all my friends to go see this magical place for themselves. You wont regret or forget the trip:) we can't wait to visit again:) its truly a privilege.

Room Tip: i dont think theres a pool but theres a beautiful jacuzzi in the dungion, and just walking the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hidden gem is like nothing you will find anywhere else. How often can one say that they stayed the night in a castle? Someone obviously had a dream and had made it come true. If you are visiting the Olympic Peninsula, I would highly recommend adding a little fantasy to your trip by staying at The Gatekeeper's Castle.

It is only about 5 miles or so from the Seven Cedars Casino and 25 minutes from Port Townsend. It was a great springboard for my visit with all my destinations within an hour of the Castle. Hurricane Ridge, The Dungeness Spit, Port Townsend and Sequim. The proprietors were warm, inviting and entertaining as all get out. They have my return business on my next trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JerryQ707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very relaxing, quiet and comfortable place to stay. I love the Fantasy aspect of this place that made me feel like I was in my own world.... Thank you Josie... I would recommend Gate Keepers to everyone.

Room Tip: Choose the Beowulf room in the dungeon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bear S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
9.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
22.2 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,008 reviews
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Olympic View Inn
Olympic View Inn
#6 of 10 in Sequim
118 reviews
12.8 mi away
Juan de Fuca Cottages
11.3 mi away
Lost Mountain Lodge
Lost Mountain Lodge
#1 of 10 in Sequim
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gate Keeper's Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gate Keeper's Castle

Address: 960 Gardiner Beach Rd, Sequim, WA 98382-8752
Location: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sequim
Price Range: $139 - $799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed and built from a dream. This medieval castle is the most enchanted castle in the area. Looking upon the structure, flights of pure fantasy and imagination dazzle the mind. Feasting, sieges, bards, mystery and wonder grow when stepping into this magical world. An age of bygone kings, magicians, giants, dwarfs, sorceresses, elves and trolls. Through the doors, chivalry is born and romance has its origins in this magical world. The castle is extremely spacious and must be seen to fully appreciate. This is a dream getaway for anybody seeking a refuge from the mundane. The Gate Keepers Castle has a total of 5 full size bedrooms all prepared in the finest linens, rest easy in luxury. There are 3 bedrooms in the King Suite, as well as a full size Jacuzzi, steam shower and a decor unique in its own right. The main floor has a full restaurant style equipped kitchen, fireplace, and bathroom all with an elegant Victorian charm, with modern appliances. Meandering up the spiral staircase to the upper floor, one is drawn to the stained glass and antique decor. Here you will find two more spacious bedrooms and a bathroom. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing