We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot”

Dungeness River Audubon Center
Ranked #5 of 38 things to do in Sequim
Attraction details
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
285 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My sister in law and I drove to this "attraction". It was more than we expected and simply lovely. As others say, it is a natural place. It is quintessential Pacific Northwest beautiful.
We were impressed by the volunteers at the Audubon Center. They were informed and so helpful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank watravelinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    25
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice stop on ODT”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

very full of local flora & fauna information. Friendly staff and a beautiful walk on the old railroad grade over the Dungeness River. Gorgeous in all seasons.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Truly Wonderful Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We came across the Audubon Center by chance when we went to visit Railroad Bridge Park on the west side of Sequim, Washington. What a wonderful surprise! located in a lovely natural setting (of course) the interpretive center was absolutely packed with valuable local wildlife information, great displays, and hands on activities for children and adults. Their ample seating afforded plenty of space to sit and review their extensive collection of books and other published resources. The staff was friendly, helpful and just plain fun. We were fortunate to be there while a sale was going on, so we picked up items for ourselves and gifts for family. This is a great place to visit while you also visit the Railroad Bridge Park and beautiful adjacent Dungeness River.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Windwalker T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
181 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Must spot for visitors and locals”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A place to get away from it all. This Audubon Center is located on the famous Dungeness River and a real Railroad Bridge spanning it which is part of the NW Peninsula Discovery Trail. Watch salmon spawning, visit the center and learn all about the local wildlife, birds, habitat, etc. Knowledgeable docents on hand. Great little gift shop. Lots of exhibits, stuffed animals, birds, etc. Lending library. Classes, etc.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We enjoy hiking around the area. The Center is very informative and the people that staff are very friendly. Some neat stuff for purchase.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dungeness River Audubon Center also viewed

 

Been to Dungeness River Audubon Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing