We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Good Experience for Us”
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #7 of 86 Restaurants in Sequim
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Black Bear Diner is dedicated to providing the very best food and service anywhere. You'll enjoy delicious family meals, perfect burgers, frosty shakes, and healthful salads. We'll treat you like we invited you over for diner! Enjoy outside seating on our deck in the Sequim sunshine. We are located next to Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Sequim. Don't forget our pet-friendly deck when the weather is nice!
Port Orchard, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a Good Experience for Us”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our first visit, not great. The server we got seemed woefully undertrained. He didn't know if they had a "light" salad dressing (really?), didn't know Merlot was served at room temp, didn't think to ask us how we wanted our prime rib cooked, brought my husband chipotle/ranch dressing instead of the requested thousand island, brought out the entrees BEFORE we'd had our salad, on and on the list goes. The food itself was just OK. Best part of the meal was the cornbread muffin. That was outstanding. The side veg was all but inedible, it was so overcooked. My med-rare prime rib was REALLY rare. Just not a great experience, all in all. We may try it again or we may just head back to the old standby, The 101 Diner!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davejostef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    130
    57
    27
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
109 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Good Value and Great Pie”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had dinner here and I ordered the smaller portion of the pot roast, yet received a very full plate that I could not finish. We ordered the blackberry pie. Great! Our server was also great. Would definitely eat here again if on the West Coast and I found a Black Bear Diner. (they are a chain.)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank idemandthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bear Food”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great place to eat. Prices are good and so is the food. Service is great and there is no extra charge for their smiles. We have eaten at many Black Bear Diners and they are all great. Large portions, so you might want to share a plate.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelingones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Come as hungry as s bear”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Mom had short stack of blueberries pancakes. We wondered if there was any left in the kitchen. I has eggs over med with corned beef. Real corn beef and country potatoes too much to eat in one serving leaving enough for lunch.Alex had an omelette which was excellent. Cute gift shop inside and lots of carved bears to take for photoes of inside and out. Waitress attentive friendly and well versed in menu. Multiple location in the NW. Find one close to you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Fun”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Went to this restaurant last night. Staff very accomadating for our special needs. Ask for Zach for your server. He anticipated our every need. Friendly, helpful with the menu, and always there when in need.
The food is excellent in taste, quanity, and eye appeal. Great atmosphere. Relaxing place to eat with friends and family. Not one disappointment from arrival to departure.
I would recommend this for any age group.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Davina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing