We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way but "worth it" location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sequim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Marine Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonds WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Out of the way but "worth it" location”
Reviewed May 12, 2009

I've stayed here twice, in the Boat House and the Clam Cottage. Wonderful to be on the water like that, and enjoyed having access to kayak rentals. Sequim Bay is totally delightful, and the location is quiet and secluded if that is what you are looking for. The only downside we found were mice living in the walls of the Boat House, and the owner/managers didn't seem too concerned. However, that would not keep me from going back.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sambrose1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    11
    4
    1
    8
See reviews for
33
48
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

The Sunset Marine Resort offers views of a bay near Sequim---but nothing else. The property is far from restaurants, groceries and the national park.The premises are rundown and unkempt. In our unit, the Cliff House, the furniture, dishes and decorations looked as if they were acquired long ago at garage sales. The rug had not seen a good cleaning in years. The mattress sagged uncomfortably. And the bathroom was so teeny that anyone over 6 feet tall would be unable to use it. All in all, the resort is way over priced. The current owners appear to be milking the property for every last nickel of revenue and investing nothing for their guests' comfort.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank truthteller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMRSequim, Owner at Sunset Marine Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Sunset Marine Resort has been under new ownership since August 31, 2009. The Cliff House cabin has since been remodeled and is now known by its original name; The Tree House.
With an entirely new kitchen, bathroom and floor, the cabin has seen some wonderful new updates, however we continue to maintain the "vintage" decor that is a hallmark of SMR. It's no mistake that you might find a 1950's old prop outboard mounted on a wall with a vintage fish net, in our Boat House. We consider it a "lucky find" and have enjoyed many great guest comments about those types of items.
I hope this reviewer decides to come back and check it out.
As for location: The National Park is 20 miles, there is a market 3 miles, groceries 8 miles...but most folks seem to want to stay put once they arrive. Something about the "location" keeps them there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

I rate it average, but almost went above average. We stayed in the Cliff House and did enjoy the stay but there are some pro's and con's. The room was clean and neat, but the cobwebs were everwhere overhead. The room looks like it is secluded, yet it is right below what I believe is the owners home (just there on the weekend) and their deck overlooks yours. They filled our requests like needing a fan next day, but there is no one there other than cleaning crew during the day. The view is very good and from what I found locally is pretty much better than most.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank taz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 6, 2004

We had a wonderful stay in the Boat House at Sunset Marine Resort. We watched the tide go in and out right under our cabin! There were eagles and seals right out our window and we got a glimpse of "lucy" the dolphin.Our nostalgic cabin was clean and comfortable. The privacy and sunsets are unbeatable.We're coming back for a family reunion.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
18.4 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,614 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
182 reviews
19.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,981 reviews
9.4 mi away
Juan de Fuca Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marine Resort

Property: Sunset Marine Resort
Address: 40 Buzzard Ridge Rd, Sequim, WA 98382-8612
Location: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location provides for spectacular sunsets, and with a 500ft bulkhead, it's one of the closest waterfront access lodging options around. Cabins range in size from studio to 3 bedroom homes - all with amazing water views. No roads separating you from the view or from water access. The natural landscape of coastal madrona trees and pacific northwest salal make this location beautiful and private. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Marine Hotel Sequim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing