We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old rustic resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sequim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Marine Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dupont, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great old rustic resort”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The cabin has a nice woodsy feel to it and you definitely feel like you are out there by yourself even though there are other cabins nearby. I like that there is no tv in the room, it helps you forget about the outside world for a while. The view as everyone says is fantastic, and my wife and I loved walking down on the beach. There's two ladies that run the place as far as I can tell and they were both very nice. Some negative things, the room didn't have any utensils. We had to "borrow" some from the restaurant we ate at our first night so we could have a spoon for our oatmeal (we will probably return them someday). They need more light on the walkway up to the skippers quarters. My wife and I resorted to using the light on the phone to see. Also don't show up before 3:30, they will probably ask you come back if you show up early.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetMarineResort, Owner at Sunset Marine Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks for the review James. So glad to hear you enjoyed the view and a walk on the beach. We appreciate the feedback on the path lighting. We have installed lighting to cover the path up to the entrance, but it is lower to the ground and perhaps we could add some up lights as well. It's always a difficult balance to make sure there is enough light, without also making guests feel like they are in the middle of a spot light in the darkness. Our Skipper's Quarters is our smallest rental and the only one that does not have a kitchen with common utensils. We try to make sure there is a bottle opener, a couple glasses and a couple coffee mugs for guests if they decide to make use of the fridge, or coffee maker and we're happy to know the microwave came in handy for the oatmeal. Thanks for understanding about our check in time. It helps us to maintain equal respect and care for all our guests. For future reference however, we do offer a scheduled early check at 1pm for an additional fee when available. Thanks again for choosing SMR. It was great meeting you and your wife! ~ Tracie & Lavon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    11
    4
    1
    8
See reviews for
33
48
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed at Sunset Marine Resort for 3 nights for my birthday celebration in February. In total my friends and I rented 5 of the cabins and we all had a blast! The cabins are so cozy and clean, great views and each has its own little personality with great decor and character. The owners were more than amazing and were always very helpful and quick to get a hold of (like when we accidentally locked ourselves out of one of the cabins) :) I would stay there again in a heartbeat!!! Thanks so much again! :)

Room Tip: my favorite cabin is the boat house because of how close it is to the water. the captains quarters w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have visited this property twice. Once with 3 kids and dog, once just with the dog for a bit more of a romantic recharge. Both times were fantastic. Stayed in the BOAT house with the kids in Summer where they searched the shoreline for crabs, kayaked, built a rope swing. Stayed in the TREE house on a second "just us" trip in Winter. Both times we had a lovely time. We will defintely return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phobacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed in the Tree House in January 2014. The cabin was clean and had everything we needed for our two night stay, including champagne glasses for our birthday celebration.
The cabin is a little older, no surprise, and a little drafty on a cold January evening, but the little wood stove kept things warm and cozy. The mid century furniture was charming, and the bed was reasonably comfortable. They seemed to have thought of all the basics, including a little flashlight to help us see our way to the wood in the dark of night (7:00 p.m.!). The setting is quiet and "away-from-it-all," so you definitely need to bring everything you need to cook for yourself in the little kitchen, or drive a little ways to find a restaurant, but if you want some peace and quiet in a pretty setting, this is the place. The only nit I have is that we wished they would have left out more wood for purchase. Some people staying in another cabin took all of the wood before we got to it, and left nothing in the bin for purchase by anyone else. The wood was not replenished the next day. Fortunately, knowing we had wood-grubbing neighbors, we had purchased some in town at the hardware store. So, if you are visiting in the cooler season, you might consider bringing some wood (cut short to fit in a wood stove) of your own, just in case.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tree House cabin, which was just right for a couple. Great views of Discovery Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoTheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Was passing through the area for a quick overnight but wish I could have stayed longer! Stayed in the Captains house, which was cozy and quiet. Looks like they did some tree trimming so the bay view was lovely. The proprietors were very friendly and helpful. I can't wait to come back with the family for a longer trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brezelrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay near Sequim on the Olympic Peninsula. We didn't get to spend as much time just relaxing as the place deserved (busy with wedding preparations) but it was beautiful, quiet, and very comfortable. We stayed in the Boathouse, so close to the water's edge that I could hear the water lapping under the house at night. Gorgeous views day and night (with the full moon). The "cabin" was comfortably furnished and the kitchen/dining/living room was great for group gatherings and meals. Getting there from the parking required climbing down a long set of stairs or going the long way 'round, so probably not good for some people, but there are other cabins more easily accessible. But not as beautifully set by the bay. Nice owners, pet friendly. Perfect!

Room Tip: The Boathouse and Clam Shack are both right on the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had such a relaxing visit, it was the perfect way to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. The property is wonderful, the Tree House cabin is totally charming. Close to all kinds of adventures, great food, gorgeous scenery. Property owners are quick to respond to a question but give lots of privacy- cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: The Tree House felt very private, lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ughpasswords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
1.9 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
190 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,109 reviews
10.3 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
311 reviews
9.4 mi away
Juan de Fuca Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marine Resort

Property: Sunset Marine Resort
Address: 40 Buzzard Ridge Rd, Sequim, WA 98382-8612
Location: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location provides for spectacular sunsets, and with a 500ft bulkhead, it's one of the closest waterfront access lodging options around. Cabins range in size from studio to 3 bedroom homes - all with amazing water views. No roads separating you from the view or from water access. The natural landscape of coastal madrona trees and pacific northwest salal make this location beautiful and private. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Marine Hotel Sequim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing