We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every year...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sequim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Marine Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tacoma, Washington, United States
1 review
“Every year...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We keep coming back. We have brought family and friends and pets. Other friends have ventured there on their own based on our recommendations and we all love it. We always stay in the Boat House, lots of room. Our friends that we meet with stay in the Clam Cottage. The rooms are always very clean. The seals, eagles, sounds and smells of the bay keep us coming back. There is something here for everyone! Our last visit included a group of all ages, from 10 to 73. Everyone enjoyed it. There are kayaks available to rent, fire pits and barbecues. We take bikes and the porch is a great place to watch the sunset. WE LOVE THIS PLACE and we can't say enough about Tracie and Lavon. They go out of their way to make sure we have everything we need. This is a gem you don't want to miss out on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetMarineResort, Owner at Sunset Marine Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Kathie & Paul - You have it a bit backwards - SMR is a special place in part...because of YOU. Each time you come, you bring such a sense of warmth, friendship, kindness and joy to the Resort. Thank you for your lovely smiles, for the conversations and for inviting us to share in your time here. As always - we're looking forward to your next visit with the furry kids. :)
Best~
Lavon & Tracie - (& Kukui of course)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    9
    4
    1
    8
See reviews for
33
46
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

From the views to the lodgings to the graciousness of the owners, everything here is tailored to a relaxing and fun time. You can find peace and quiet along with a nice beach and fire pits! Who can ask for more. The hosts are there to help you enjoy your stay in any way they can. I've stayed at the Landing 3 times in the past few years and everything I want / need is right there (including bald eagles, herons, seals, etc). And it's just a hop and a skip to many great trails and drives in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules58541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I highly recommend Sunset Marine Resort!!! Been there a few times, have stayed in the Landing, Eagle's Nest, Osprey's, and Boat House..... Still want to stay in the Tree House and Clam Cottage!!! The owners, are both either there if you need them or need something, very easy to communicate with. There have been many upgrades to the resort since my first stay, and sounds like more to come. I love seeing the awesome changes since the new owners took over. Great, great place... Love the view, some evenings you can hear the seals barking from the dock, take a nice walk on the beach when tide is out, rent kayaks, go to the casino (which is only 3 miles away, for fun or dining), take the ferry from Port Angeles to Canada for a day trip..... so many things to do, something for everyone... I love this place!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We three women friends spent a very enjoyable weekend in the Eagle's Nest at Sunset Marine Resort in February. House was quiet, clean, roomy, with a great view, comfortable furnishings, and a well-equipped kitchen. Owners Lavon and Tracie joined us for dessert and we so enjoyed visiting with them. During a winter storm, we were warm and peaceful in beautiful surroundings. Looking forward to doing it again someday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenaveveS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetMarineResort, Owner at Sunset Marine Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks so much for the lovely dessert and conversation. We had a wonderful time visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burien, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 wonderfully quiet days at the Tree House, interrupted only by the friendly cat, who checked in on us each day, and the crackling of the wood stove. One of the most peacefull times we have spent in a long time away from the crazy world we live in. The interior of the Tree House has been very skilfully designed to give a true old cabin feel but with modern touches to make you feel more "at home".
If you want a real treat, then the Tree House at Sunset Marine Resort is the answer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john_batstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetMarineResort, Owner at Sunset Marine Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for the kind words and great feedback. One of our favorite jobs at the Resort is the ongoing process of finding new items for the decor. We believe in the motto: recycle, repurpose and rediscover when it comes to creating cabin character. So happy you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is the second year that our Teen Program has hosted our Family Retreat at Sunset Marine Resort. It is so nice to have a relaxing place to "get away" for the weekend, but still not be too far from home. The cabins are all well-kept, comfortable and adorable! Service is great; Tracie and Lavon are wonderful people who are passionate about what they do and are always willing to help our group. We will for sure host our retreat there next year and years to come!

Room Tip: The cabin with the most character is the Clam Cottage. Right by the water and really cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetMarineResort, Owner at Sunset Marine Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
A BIG thank you to the Jamestown Youth for the woven cedar bracelets last year and for being included in your scavenger hunt this year. It's always fun having the kids and family members here for the retreat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I couldn’t ask for a better place to share such an important event in my life. We got married in July and since everyone was in town, we all got together at Sunset Marine Resort for a big luau. My husband and I stayed in the Eagle’s Nest, which is an incredible lodge-like house with wood interior and probably the best deck, with the best view that I’ve ever been on. The home was probably bigger than we needed, but it was wonderful to have some space to relax at the end of a crazy week of fun. The beach is a perfect spot to celebrate, and we were able to coordinate tent rentals, and get tables and chairs set up for everyone. There was a fire in the fire pit that night and people playing music. The best part? My friends and family were all close by and as the evening drew to a close they just retreated to their own cabins. The owners were a great help in getting everything put together. If anyone is looking for a place to bring family....a place where people can be together, but still have their own private space......THIS is the place! Thanks again Lavon & Tracie!! We will be back.

Room Tip: All cabins are different so I would suggest going to the website and checking each cabin out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Tuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
18.4 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
19.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
9.4 mi away
Juan de Fuca Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Marine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Marine Resort

Property: Sunset Marine Resort
Address: 40 Buzzard Ridge Rd, Sequim, WA 98382-8612
Location: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location provides for spectacular sunsets, and with a 500ft bulkhead, it's one of the closest waterfront access lodging options around. Cabins range in size from studio to 3 bedroom homes - all with amazing water views. No roads separating you from the view or from water access. The natural landscape of coastal madrona trees and pacific northwest salal make this location beautiful and private. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Marine Hotel Sequim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing