We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun, and a but harrowing”
Review of Olympic Game Farm

Olympic Game Farm
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in Sequim
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seattle
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lots of fun, and a but harrowing”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a very unique place, you get to drive around the park by yourself and feed the animals wheat bread. The animals obviously are well versed in the process so you are frequently inundated with Llamas, Yak, Bison, Elk, and various deer. Some of the larger animals can make it a bit harrowing as they are eye to eye or above with you, but following the posted instructions (which most people don't do) makes it go by well. Feeding the bears is great, they all seem to have their own act they do for the bread and the predator cages were neat. The walking tour left a lot to be desired, I am not sure I would do that again. And the little food stand had some pretty good food. All in all we had a fun day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank barcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    153
    32
    15
    46
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a heartbreaking relic”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

the Olympic Game Farm was heartbreaking. here's what our visit was like, more or less in order.

the llamas are wandering around the road, taking bread from visitors' hands. there were two very young llamas that we saw. all are gorging themselves on bread. the whole area is overrun with peacocks of all ages--easily a couple hundred--and hundreds of gulls and dozens of crows. the two zebras are penned into the middle of the llama area, with no shelter at all. towards the back of this area, there are yaks, one with a splintered horn with long pieces sticking out. the density of animals was overwhelming.

i've seen quite a few zoo bears, and i've seen wild bears on half a dozen occasions, in at least three different states, and i know what a bear looks like. the "waving bears" are massively overweight animals fenced into a grass-and-dirt area with very little in the way of water and nowhere to hide. they sit along the fence, picking up slices of bread visitors throw to them endlessly, for eight or more hours a day, every day but two of the year. if the bread lands a few feet away, they won't go get it, because another piece will land closer soon enough. they look inflated. when they did move, they moved in a completely different way from any bear i've ever seen. if there had been a way out at this point, i would have taken it. but there isn't. you have to continue, at 0-3 mph, spewing exhaust, while you witness the suffering of these animals.

the timber wolves are enclosed in chain link cages, also on flat grass and dirt, roughly 15'x15'x15' with a plywood doghouse-style enclosure along one side. the back wall of this "den" is chain link. in other words, they have nowhere to go to hide. there are no trees or structures in the cages at all. not so much as a log or a bush. the wolves are pacing madly. the big cats (bengal and siberian tigers, and male and female african lions) are in identical enclosures, one to a cage. they were laying, perfectly still, with their eyes open, staring.

the last animal you see is the european fallow deer. they behave like the llamas, sticking their heads in the window and looking for bread.

the aquarium is basically a concrete above-ground pool with windows in it, and a wooden shed around it. you walk into the shed, look through the windows, and see the fish you'd find in local streams. sort of. trout, a sturgeon (not moving at all), and so on. to identify the fish, you refer to a poster taped to the wall, titled something like "Washington Sport Fish". nice.

the reptile area is one room, painted white and with glaring lights, with a dozen or so tanks with a couple boas, a python, a chameleon, a turtle, and so on.

we went into the gift shop so i could ask some questions. the employee didn't know where all the animals came from, but knew that some were retired from TV and movies (for instance, the bear from Grizzly Adams was trained by the guy who started this place, and retired there), and some had been pets (illegal, mostly) that had been surrendered. i, always the optimist, offered, "so this place is sort of a rescue organization?" she kind of stammered, and gave a non-answer. i asked if there was a program in place to release the young into the wild, and she just stared at me then told me they wouldn't survive. (in case you're wondering, yes, given the right program, they would.)

i kept hoping SO hard that there was something i was missing that would make me say, "OH, i see, so this is where these animals can come when there's nowhere else for them to go, and this is just the best that can be done with the resources at hand". but that didn't fit with the elk and the bison especially, or with the other young animals.

this evening, i did some research, and it backs up my gut feeling. go looking for an Exotic Pets Report on Born Free USA dot org. just search "olympic" in the PDF. it pretty much lays out the same things that upset me, plus a few disturbing safety issues for visitors.

this place is a relic. it's a throwback to a time when animals were penned up to be stared at and teased and taunted until you got an amusing reaction, then fed whatever was cheap and handy. i'll be writing a few letters this week about this place, and doing some more research to see if there's a way to help get it shut down. it looks like the guy who started it, who does seem to have truly cared about the animals (though he knew little about what they needed beyond food and fences) has died. i don't know what the status is now of this property, but from what i've read the quality of life for the animals hasn't changed in the last handful of years.

i get that it came into existence a long time ago when this was how most people believe animals should be kept. but it needs to be dismantled now.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
19 Thank Brianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun and interactive”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My family and I enjoyed the animals on the drive-through tour, especially the bears. I recommend that you buy two bags of bread when you buy your ticket. We quickly went through one bag. The prairie dogs were also so much fun to see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Close Encounters with the animals”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Kinda neat feeding animals from your car & they come right up too! We rode the motorcycle there so they let us borrow one of their trucks. The walking tour was closed for the season at the time so we just got the drive tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Auntie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Game farm”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Everything was good. I would recommend going around the property 2 times. At least 1 bag of bread needed

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank darwin z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olympic Game Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing