We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check-in Disaster!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Ramon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Check-in Disaster!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Unbelievably poor check-in process. This hotel knew it was fully booked with wedding parties on Saturday, October 5, 2013, yet they didn't have housekeeping scheduled to start working until 11am that day. I had called two weeks in advance from California to inquire about early check-in and was told to call back when I arrived at SeaTac airport the morning of the 5th, which I did, at 8am. This is when I was told the hotel was fully booked and housekeeping wasn't coming in until 11am. BUT I was told if I called back at around 12:30pm it shouldn't be a problem. Guess what? It was a BIG problem. At this point, numerous guests had arrived to attempt early check-in and a handwritten wait list was being developed. I became #4 on that list. Apparently the front desk people became flustered with the process because it became a complete and utter disaster, with the handwritten waitlist basically being tossed aside and numerous people further down on the waitlist not only getting their rooms before me, but at least one even getting an upgrade. How do I know this? Because these people are my good friends, there for the same wedding I was. I ultimately was put in contact with the manager, Toni, who after all this nonsense only offered me a $20 discount. I suppose I should be happy I got a room at all considering the complete ineptness of the staff at this hotel, but I am not. It's a good thing I likely won't need a hotel in Sequim again, but if I do, it certainly will not be this one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brigette Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Brigette Q,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the hotel was unable to accommodate your early check in request, preventing you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    140
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
142
141
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have stayed here twice now, we are looking for retirement property and wanted a nice hotel. This place fit the bill! The room is appointed nicely with fluffy pillows and firm mattress. We had a two queen room which included a round table and two chairs. Microwave and refrigerator (which was very quiet when running) was also included. The flat screen tv was awesome, also with HBO. The staff is absolutely wonderful, couldn't be friendlier. Breakfast was ok - could have been a little better but if you want a great meal the Black Bear Diner is right next to the hotel. It's in a great location, close to all of Sequim and only a short jaunt to Port Angeles or Port Townsend. Highly recommend~!

Room Tip: Either side of the hotel is good, one side is closer to the highway but is still quiet. We preferre...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are good to recycle - we left cans and a couple of bottles in the "recycle bag" they left on top of the microwave.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeKay171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SequimMichael_S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope your house hunt goes well, but in the interim, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were in Sequim from 9/24-9/26 and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel looked fairly new and our room was beautiful. The amenities were very nice and the hotel staff was always greeting us and happy to help. They even had a manager social gathering one night with complimentary snacks and drinks. We didn't attend but it looked very nice. Our room was always clean by the time we got back from our excursions for the day.

I would also suggest the Black Bear Diner next door as it is their sister property. HUGE portions but still good food.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SequimMichael_S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! I'm glad you noticed our Managers Reception on Wednesdays, and I hope that next time, if you are so inclined, you will join us. Our staff does their best to provide high quality service to our guests, and the reception is a great chance for our guests to sound off directly to the manager, or to relax after a day exploring the Olympic Peninsula. I hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a newer Holiday Inn Express with excellent rooms which are very clean. They have nice amenities; fridge/micro, laundry onsite. It is convenient to the highway and is on the edge of town so you have nice views of the countryside. This appears to be a bit quieter than the other end of town where some other motels are located.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SequimMichael_S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We are very happy with our location in Sequim. As you state, we are on the quieter side of town, and there are either valley views on one side, or mountains on the other! I hope you'll choose us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

2nd time at this property. Just like last year the grounds are manicured the room was spotless the pool and hot tub clean and ready for use. Breakfast was better than average with a good selection and served in a large bright room kept clean and inviting. The truly stand out aspect of this HIE is the staff and the Mgr. From restaurant recommendations to special requests all were provided with enthusiasm. I was treated as a valued customer and I will return to this property next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17216005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SequimMichael_S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. I'm glad we were able to provide quality service! We do our best to make sure guests feel welcome and comfortable, and I'm happy we were able to do so. I look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Checked into the Holiday Inn Express in Sequim, WA. The hotel is very new and clean and does not allow smoking. We were in our room after eating dinner and our bathroom was extremely smoky. I called the front desk to complain and they offered to change our room, however, it was late and we had unpacked.
I asked the front desk to check it out which they promised to do so.
The next night we experienced the same situation. I went downstairs and spoke to the desk manager and was told if someone smokes in the bathroom and turns on the fan , there is no way to determine where the smoke is coming from. He also stated that he had additional complaints from other rooms.
I was told the hotel owner was staying in the building and I asked to speak to him. He came to our room, and explained that it was very difficult to enforce the no-smoking policy. He did offer to either move us or not charge us for the room.
The issue was handled very well by the owner, however, the hotel should have been constructed so smoke does not get into our guests rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank austinbillgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SequimMichael_S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I am very sorry for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us. We do our best to make sure our smoking policy is very clear, and we enforce it as well as we can. As the hotel owner explained, the ventilation system makes it very hard to determine where a smoke smell is coming from. Guest satisfaction was paramount when we were making design choices, such as our rooftop garden, or our decision to double-up on insulation. Not all eventualities were covered, however, and we do apologize again for any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We've stayed here several times, and the owners and staff appear to be doing a good job of keeping up appearances to HIE standards, because this is still a pleasant and comfortable hotel in an area where much of the competition is pretty shabby. Among the things we like: attractive and thoughtful landscaping around the hotel, good views from almost all sides (you may want to stay away from the Black Bear Diner side, though we're glad it's so popular), tall shower heads and excellent water pressure. Plus, paper coffee cups for better taste as well as eco-friendly, Kirkland water and Seattle Chocolates offered to IHG Rewards members on check in, nice touches all. Andrea was pleasant and calm as usual, though apparently it's been a very busy summer; some of the front desk staff seemed a little frazzled by the pace. Breakfast still very good, well maintained, good HIE variety. Kind of a long drive to the ferry to Canada, though. Ever thought of a property in Port Angeles?

Green Features: Paper coffee cups, trash bags to separate recyclables (cans and plastic bottles), pleas to resuse towells and linens. The first two items seem unique to this property, much appreciated.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bksgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SequimMichael_S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for returning! We're glad that you noticed many of our great features and amenities, in particular, our goal of being as eco-friendly as possible. We hope to see you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
15.2 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
16.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
6.8 mi away
Juan de Fuca Cottages
2.4 mi away
Olympic View Inn
Olympic View Inn
#5 of 10 in Sequim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
Address: 1441 East Washington Street, Sequim, WA 98382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is designed to give you more value than what you are expecting from the typical, limited-services hotel experience. We have designed larger, quieter rooms, real one-bedroom suites, a roof-top garden pavilion and the Northwest’s only solar powered conference center. Our 250 seat conference center provides a state-of-the-art space for building extended customer relationships and will assist wedding and group planners by providing them a flexible space with quality food and entertainment capabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites North Sequim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing