We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning”

Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Sequim
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Dungeness National Wildlife Refuge is home to over 250 species of endangered birds, fish and mammals.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
276 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

One of Nature's creations is available to us to enjoy and savour.
The walkways are plentiful to enjoy the views here. My sister in law and I talked with Ranger Lynn who shared worthwhile information and helped us on our journey. Some of the pathways would be accessible to people with mobility challenges.
We found several approaches to the spit by foot and took them. We did not attempt the very long walk out onto the spit.
I returned by myself several days later and again loved the views and walkways It was quiet and peaceful there off season. Cost is minimal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank watravelinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    92
    13
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
135 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscapes”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We did not have enough time here but the drive through this scenic piece of the NW was amazing. Made me want to stop and buy a house nearby!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Europhile62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“wonderful Saturday trip”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

smells very earthy and is a great place to relex. Costs $3/family but is well worth it, just make sure to bring a coat. They do not allow pets and no jogging. If you can make it to the spit you will have a great view of the open water, really is a wonderful way to spend a day relaxing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hatric26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A long walk on a beach - but check the tide chart”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you're looking for a long walk by the sea, this makes a pleasant stroll. The Dungeness Spit extends 5 miles out into the Straits of Juan de Fuca, with a view of the cliffs above the strait, and there's a light house at the end. Should you be lucky enough to have a clear day, you will see Hurricane Ridge, Mt. Baker gleaming in the distance, and Victoria, Canada to the north.

Check the tide tables and plan the trip for the few hours near low tide. Don't get caught in the middle of the spit at high tide! it can be completely covered.

The fee for the park is $3. There are sea birds on the spit, we saw an eagle.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeAndalucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke BC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to walk”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Quiet ocean side reserve, natural wilderness area. Enjoyed the scenery, all the trails and the shore birds on the beach.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dungeness National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Dungeness National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing