We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best parks on the Olympic Peninsula”

Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Sequim
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Dungeness National Wildlife Refuge is home to over 250 species of endangered birds, fish and mammals.
Langley, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best parks on the Olympic Peninsula”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Particularly good spot to camp with children, right by the beach. Walking all the way to the end of the spit is a good challenge!

Helpful?
Thank jacottet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    92
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Polo, MO
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous scenery, peaceful beach strolls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Dungeness is a wonderful destination for families or anyone on a budget wanting to appreciate nature. The kids loved playing in the surf. We could see the mountains to our left and just make out Canada in the distance. The kids enjoyed playing with the driftwood and even though we didn't make it all the way to the end we had a great time. The rangers were very helpful with information and the path to the beach is well kept.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank loupelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and unique hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Walked along the sand spit and explored the large amounts of driftwood washed along the sand. Wear good shoes - footing is a little tough with all the wood.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank JoJoLovesSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
273 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“The driftwood is amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Give yourself time to walk a good length down the spit and take your time. It can take several hours to walk the length of it, but I wouldn't try. Just give yourself a couple of hours and walk slowly down the beach. Take it in. It's really hard to describe how amazing the beach, rocks and driftwood are.

http://bumblechickfood.blogspot.com/2011/10/alaska-and-northwest-trip-day-24.html

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank BumblechickFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“No wildlife to be found”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We made a quick trip out to see the wild life. Didn't see any.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Eve_Delta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dungeness National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Dungeness National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing