We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrades needed!”
Review of Sequim Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sequim Bay Lodge
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Upgrades needed!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We just left this hotel as quickly as we could. My lungs were reacting to the supposedly "non-smoking" room that still had lots of old smoke residue in it. A lot of people are sensitive to that and so you are not non- smoking unless you get rid of everything that was in the room when you allowed smoking.

That brings me to my main recommendation: new bedding - blankets are covered with cigarette burns and bedspreads are hideous and smokey smelling, new carpet (also holds old smoke smell), new towels- I literally scratched my face on the towels.

Do some updates and then maybe I could put up with the horrible tasting water and paper thins walls.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyetraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front D, Front Office Manager at Sequim Bay Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing with us your experience. I apologize for the smoke residue in your room. All of our rooms are non-smoking. We have three signs at the front desk indicating that if a person refuses to submit to this and a guest does indeed smoke in the room, they will incur a $200.00 fine for the cleaning expense. Unfortunately, there is still the occasional guest who refuses to follow this policy. We try our best to clean the bedding thoroughly and air out the rooms best we can before selling this room to another guest. I sincerely apologize that you received a room that still smelled of cigarette smoke.

As you mentioned, the establishment is in need of some updates. This has been an ongoing process throughout the year. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again and that your second stay will be more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    49
    27
    31
See reviews for
44
78
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the Sequim Bay Lodge 19 & 20 July 2013. We had a 1 bedroom suite; and it was not only clean and neat but spacious. It has a flat screen TV in the living area (and a refrigerator-microwave-coffee pot), and an older model TV in the bedroom. Overall our stay weas fine, and we were very happy with the accommodations.

Room Tip: No restaurant. Pool was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJK201368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

As title indicates this hotel needs updating. 25 years ago it would have been a real gem but the landscaping has gotten away from them. The present owners (who are very friendly) have only had this hotel for 3 summers and they are trying. There was a gardener working out front when we were checking out.

The rooms are quite large, ours' had a small frig in it even though that was not advertised. The towels and sheets were clean. Even though it is located next to the highway we did hear any traffic noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimboVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My family and I stayed with friends and our dogs at the Sequim Bay Lodge over the 4th of July holiday. The positives were a small, but very nice outdoor pool the kids enjoyed, and a helpful, kind staff that honored every request we made of them.
This place is in a good location and has potential to be really nice spot if they could make maintenance a priority. It really needs new bedding, paint, carpet and flooring all around. It is slowly decaying, and I don't see myself coming there again or recommending it to others unless I hear there has been work done. To make matters worse, there was some sort of septic leak on the property while we were there. It pretty much stunk up the whole area. We had been enjoying the park like setting until the stench set in. At least my kids liked this place. A pool and cookies in the morning are enough to get high praise from them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cougski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stopped here after cycling from Port Angeles on our way to Portland. The place needs some maintenance and yes the landscaping leaves a lot to be desired. However, the price was right and the room was clean and comfortable if a little run down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hasherdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

On a recent overnight stay in Sequim, I decided to forgo the warning about this place and try it, and I wish I had kept driving. Although the exterior appears worn, outdated and overgrown--I can accept the fact that tidying extensive landscaping is a never-ending chore and can be overwhelming on this scale. The interior is what I found appalling. I accept the fact that the room furnishings were outdated, the towels were tiny and threadbare, the sheets were threadbare, the blanket was covered with stains and cigarette burn-holes. I realize these things are probably expensive to replace. But how hard is it to clean? This room had the filthiest bathroom I have ever seen in my travels--and I am well-traveled. Black mold was everywhere, including on the bath tub mat...grimy dirt caked the door, inside and out, the light switches were filthy...even the mirror was dirty. There was mold growing on the ceiling, and some sort of yellow grime on the walls near the microwave (which was also filthy). I won't even go into what was on the vinyl liner of the bedroom curtains. The walls were thin, the room was noisy, the mattress old and uncomfortable. The advertised 'Continental breakfast' consisted on muffins cut into quarter pieces (seriously? Are you that cheap?), bananas, and a pump dispenser of lukewarm coffee. Someone needs to call the health department on this place, and advise other travelers to keep driving and look further! That room was a health hazard!

Room Tip: Ask to inspect the room before renting it! Check the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathlinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequim hotels

Puyallup, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The reviews were nice so we planned on staying here but when we drove in the manyflower beds were completely overrun with weeds and tall hay. The pool was empty and being worked , on and the place just felt depressing. We drove away quickly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front D, Front Office Manager at Sequim Bay Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. We're sorry to hear that you decided not to stay with us. Our pool doesn't open for the summer until July 1st so work was being done to have it open by that timeframe. We also put in a new ramp to the pool as well as made our public restroom wheelchair accessible. We are happy to say that the project was finished on time and our pool is now open. :)

Keeping up the grounds is certainly a full time job, but we feel we have made much progress. We hope you will give us a second chance. If there's anything we can do to personally accommodate you, please feel free to call and ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Sequim
Econo Lodge Sequim
#7 of 9 in Sequim
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
312 reviews
18.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,109 reviews
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites- Sequim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequim Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequim Bay Lodge

Property: Sequim Bay Lodge
Address: 268522 Highway 101, Sequim, WA 98382-9664
Location: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sequim Bay Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Highway 101, our Sequim, Washington Lodge is quietly nestled on 17 forested, park-like acres. The Sequim Bay Lodge is open all year and consists of many spacious, comfortable and tastefully appointed rooms and suites making it the perfect choice for your visit. Just minutes from Port Angeles, the gateway to the Olympic National Park and just across the water from beautiful Victoria, British Columbia. Our Sunny Sequim Lodge is the perfect place to stay while you are visiting the Olympic Peninsula or Olympic National Park. All of our rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, remote control cable TV, and personal coffee maker. The Lodge features an outdoor heated pool (May through September) and a thirty-person conference room with a pool side patio for meetings, retreats, reunions, and parties. Play 'n' Stay Golf Packages including lodging, rounds of golf with or without golf carts are available year round. We have pet friendly units available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sequim Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sequim Bay Hotel Sequim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing