We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can hardly complain for the price”
Review of Sequim Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sequim Bay Lodge
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Can hardly complain for the price”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

For $50 - it was a deal. Old motel with some inportant updates; Flat screen TV, large amount of cable channels, fridge, good ice machine, new hair dryer, accommodating host. Very large rooms, comfy bed. Was in buidling up back with balcony and nice view. About 4 miles from Casino.

I'll say it was surface clean. Did not pass the "wet ones" test. The faucet, light switches, TV remote - high touch areas need a good scrubbing. There were two plasic cups filled with cigarette butts left on the balcony..looks like for a while.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LP1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front D, Front Office Manager at Sequim Bay Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We do apologize for the housekeeping issues you raised. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take the matter of cleanliness seriously and have addressed this oversight with the staff.

We’re happy to hear that in many ways your stay was pleasant and look forward to having you with us again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    46
    46
    25
    30
See reviews for
43
71
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have stayed here on five different occasions in the past three months. The rooms in the back are more private and secluded and in the best location but they are all single bed rooms. If you need two beds you will need to stay in the front. Rooms are spacious, clean and very reasonably priced. The owner/manager is very accomodating and makes us feel like home. Located only a couple miles out of town in a nice wooded setting. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 150pounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The first thing you are going to think of when you pull up, is it a big hotel on a big piece of property. The lodge was built on the side of a mountain so each building has rooms with views that are are not obstructed. We stayed in the very back building and it is all woods surrounding the area, made you feel like you are part of a nature setting.
It was rainy and cloudy when we checked in so I am not sure about being able to see Squim Bay above the tree tops from our small balcony. The single room included a queen bed, coffee maker, and a small refrigerator. The room was about twice the size of a chain type hotel. The beds clean and firm, pillows medium soft and we had a flat screen TV.
We will be back here again when we are working in this area again.

Room Tip: The rooms located at the far south end of lodge are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front D, Front Office Manager at Sequim Bay Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We love hearing from our guests, so thank you for submitting a review! We’re glad your stay was comfortable. The back rooms closest to the wooded areas seem to be the most popular. Unfortunately, none of our rooms have a view of Sequim Bay. However, we are located less than a mile from the state park which is very convenient for guests wanting to be close to the water. :) Thanks again and hope to have you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a fine place to stay in Sequim. It's actually 3-4 miles outside of town, but in Sequim, you have to drive almost everywhere from any motel, so it's really not inconvenient. My October long weekend stay was cool and rainy, but the room was great, and only $50/night. The room was clean and HUGE with a king sized bed, large flat-screen tv, small balcony, and a fridge and microwave. The owners clearly have an interest in gardening and landscaping and it show around the buildings. The lobby is tastefully decorated and inviting, not barren. The only criticism I have is that the continental breakfast is very limited, only Costco muffins, cookies, bananas, oj, and coffee; no cereal, toast, bagels, etc. I'd like to take this place everywhere I travel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank winodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in the Standard King Room for 2 days during our recent visit to Olympic National Park. The Lodge is right on Highway 101 and quite close to Sequim City Center (3 miles). We got the room we asked for (back building, upstairs). Room was large and clean with flat screen TV, coffee maker, microwave and mini fridge.

The Wifi internet connection was very slow and we ended up using Cellular data on our iPad. We should have checked this with the owner but we were too tired after our hike. Anyways we needed internet just for half hour to check our emails, so this did not bother us much.

The hotel did not provide complimentary breakfast (atleast in October when we visited) but there is a small section in the lobby equipped with beverages (coffee, tea, orange juice), muffins and fruits (only in the morning).

If you are visiting Olympic National Park, its better to pack some food either in Sequim or Port Angeles because there isn't much between PA and Forks. The visitor centers in the national park are only open on weekends (Fall and Winter).

Room Tip: Back Building rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hema_gvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front D, Front Office Manager at Sequim Bay Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience by way of review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate the pointers you gave for the readers contemplating a trip to the area.

Sorry you had trouble with the wifi internet. Usually there is a good connection, so this is definitely something we will have to look into. Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

At this time, we only offer a complimentary continental breakfast in the lobby from 6am to 10am. Perhaps in the future we will be able to include more variety in our breakfast options. :)

We hope you will choose to stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I have stayed two times so far this year and plan on returning soon, Our first stay was just a one nighter then a week later we spent two nights. Enjoyed the new flat screen televisions, large clean rooms, decks, and room to roam park-like grounds, Owners and a young women that works at the desk are gracious and accomandating.. Prices are excellent in value.

Room Tip: For two people the king size bed rooms offer the best value for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAROL O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We just finished climbing Mt. Rainier and were looking for recovery hike around Mt. Olympus, so at 2am we came across Sequim Bay lodge, formerly Best Westin.

This is the only hotel that answered our phone calls and had room available for five weary climbers on a Friday night after July 4th week. The person greeted us at the front desk - the owner perhaps - was polite and friendly. He gave us the best rate we couldn't turn down so we stayed. For two queen bed and a pull away we paid $96 per night. Not bad at all for a beautifully decorated, cleanly kept little motel / hotel miles away from Olympus National Park.

In the morning the continental breakfast was served in the lobby from 6am - 10am with healthy bananas, muffins, mocha tea, coffee, and trail mix. You can tell the effort of the owner put in to beautify this little lodge, as there is a large edible garden in front of the lobby. The flower beds are filled with vibrant flowery plants as well as some Asian exotic varieties. On the lamp post along the drive way, each is decorated with a unique drift wood on top, giving the impression of that of stone lions lining the path to the palace of an emperor. I had the pleasure of being shown the bio-degradable mulch made from grass and the effort to be "green" and environmental friendly.

The lodge was quiet and didn't get much traffic noise at all. Room was clean. Our beds were comfortable. Wall was a bit thin as we could hear the inaudible voices from the adjacent room. Shower was hot and towels were plenty. We were on 2nd fl, the key uses a card system. There's a nice little balcony looking into the mountains and the jacuzzi. In the back there was a swimming pool / jacuzzi but for unknown reason it was emptied at the time we stayed. Since we hurried to sightsee we didn't linger in the lodge too much.

Did I emphasize how beautiful the lodge is when the wild flowers are blooming, and the air scented with local lavender farms? The lodge is also a short walk from a tranquil seashore, something we missed greatly. Sequim is famous for its lavender farms, wildlife game zoo, gorgeous seashore and rolling hills. It is not as touristsy as the Port Charles and the drive around town was simply relaxing and superb. Since the owner was extremely courteous and made our stay like home, I highly recommend Sequim Bay Lodge for future stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaGingere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequim
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
17.2 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Sequim
Econo Lodge Sequim
#7 of 9 in Sequim
87 reviews
18.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,980 reviews
12.1 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequim Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequim Bay Lodge

Property: Sequim Bay Lodge
Address: 268522 Highway 101, Sequim, WA 98382-9664
Location: United States > Washington > Sequim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Sequim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sequim Bay Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Highway 101, our Sequim, Washington Lodge is quietly nestled on 17 forested, park-like acres. The Sequim Bay Lodge is open all year and consists of many spacious, comfortable and tastefully appointed rooms and suites making it the perfect choice for your visit. Just minutes from Port Angeles, the gateway to the Olympic National Park and just across the water from beautiful Victoria, British Columbia. Our Sunny Sequim Lodge is the perfect place to stay while you are visiting the Olympic Peninsula or Olympic National Park. All of our rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, remote control cable TV, and personal coffee maker. The Lodge features an outdoor heated pool (May through September) and a thirty-person conference room with a pool side patio for meetings, retreats, reunions, and parties. Play 'n' Stay Golf Packages including lodging, rounds of golf with or without golf carts are available year round. We have pet friendly units available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sequim Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sequim Bay Hotel Sequim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing