We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North Park Lodge
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We were referred to the North Park Lodge because hotels in Yakima were full. We were very pleasantly surprised and will stay here in the future, when in the area, because the location and value are superior to what we've found in Yakima. The proprieters have gone out of their way to cater to families. The venue has a pool, game room including pool table and arcade, tanning salon, large gathering area with couches and TV, and well appointed breakfast room. We had a room with microwave, refrigerator, and sink, separate from the bathroom and vanity area. The room was quiet and our King bed was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If your trip is on a Friday or Saturday night and doesn't involve kids, call ahead to ask about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travbug98501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
13
12
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here after a concert at the Gorge and it was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and welcoming and the rooms were great. Since we reserved a room late notice, we had to take a room with two queen beds. One of the beds had a red stain at the foot of the bed, so we slept in the other bed. Though we did not bring this to the staff's attention, we pull the sheet out so the cleaning crew would see it when they came in to clean the room. The rooms were outfitted in a country decor with large pine furniture. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. We were able to arranged a late check-out with the staff and a late check-in as well. The jets in the hottub were not that strong, but the hottub and pool were both very clean. We really enjoyed our stay here and plan to bring our kids with us for our next stay. The staff was helpful and even reccommended a great place for lunch.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanmansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Staying in this hotel was like staying at the local dog pound. Dogs barked through the night and into the morning, called front desk for a little help and nothing was done. When we went to check out we told them about our problem and we were told that they are a pet friendly hotel, which is good for the pets but not for the paying customer. We also in our sleep deprived state left some clothing in the closet and it took four phone calls ( and four different people) and one month to get our items back. I would hope that if any body reads this that they will not stay in this hotel no matter what the price of the rooms are.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Yakima valley contrary to what the area marketing would like tourists to think is not a destination We were in the area to visit family and as this is the only hotel in selah we booked a room this is a gem. The staff is helpful and friendly the room was very clean and comfortable the breakfast is nice cute lodge decor we had a lovely time good for family or romance

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leahazgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have family in the Yakima/Selah area and have spent many years in inexpensive motels at $45/night (Sun Country Inn, etc.). Our most recent visit, we tried the North Park Lodge and were willing to spend a little more ($79 AARP rate). Unlike some previous reviews, we found our room to be very clean. LOVED the decors...i.e., quilt, lamps, furniture, etc. so much we took pictures and will try to attach them. Selah is not a "happening place" but there is a grocery store and a few fast food places within walking distance. This hotel could improve by: adding fresh fruit, pastries, etc. to the continental breakfast selections, training and insisting upon "enthusiastic customer service skills" by front desk employees. We were in an adjoining room and could hear the "neighbor's" coughing at night. Wondered if all the walls were that thin. Didn't hear road noise but certainly doors slamming after 10pm. Regardless, we enjoyed our night's stay there and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlh824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We rented a room earlier in the week, which had some hairs in the bath tub. If I could've cancelled altogether I would have but they charge half of your room rate if you cancel, so when we had to return I asked the clerk to make sure the room was cleaned properly this time and she checked the computer and advised it was. We got into the room and immediately set up the crib so my sleeping son could be put to bed. After doing so, my husband went to get our luggage and I went to use the bathroom. Hair and blood on toilet. Hair in the shower. Hair all over the floor. The room had been "cleaned", so it was just a half @$$ job. They offered to move us, and had us move everything to the opposite end of the hotel and wait in the hall while the clerk took the time to check in some people. My son woke up and didn't fall back asleep for probably an hour. Toilet bowl was dirty in this room too. Desk clerks couldn't do anything for us, so we had to wait days until a manager was in. She credited us a whopping $20.00 for three nights of dirty rooms...said that's all she could do. I will NEVER return to this establishment. They did nothing to show they wanted to keep our business. They did offer us a free room instead of the $20 credit...umm, I'm from Indiana. When exactly do you think I'll be able to reap that benefit? This place will probably be closed by then! Disgusting and they don't actually care. An apology does not fix THREE dirty rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I had to phone the office to find the lodge (it's actually just a hotel--average at best). She said go to the stop light and turn left--no stop light, so I had to assume she meant stop sign. These kinds of details are important when you aren't familiar with a town. I was disappointed to see a small, average building they call a lodge and more expensive than other similar places. We had to drive to find food since there were none close enough to walk too. The pillows were very uncomfortable and when you finished a shower you were standing ankle deep water. We didn't bother with breakfast since it was less than adequate. The desk gal told us how to get to the golf club only to find the streets were dug up for some extensive street renovation--didn't she know that--we never made it there. We entered a local business hoping to find out some information about the town only to be completely ignored by the owners. When I asked a question he never even looked up but mumbled something. Very disappointing experience in Selah. Oh, and finally to top it off--the last night there I went to the lobby, couldn't find the desk clerk. After looking around I found her in a small side room filling up her glass with wine--she jumped when she saw me. Sooo, I suggest you drive 5 minutes more down the road to Yakima, many more hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrissy kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selah
4.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Yakima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Yakima
Holiday Inn Yakima
#6 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Yakima
Days Inn Yakima
#7 of 24 in Yakima
3.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
2.9 mi away
Yakima Valley Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Park Lodge

Property: North Park Lodge
Address: 659 N Wenas Rd, Selah, WA 98942-1158
Location: United States > Washington > Selah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Selah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — North Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your North Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing