We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to hibernate”
Review of Chito Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sekiu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chito Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2011

My first visit to Chito Beach Resort will be the first of many. I was looking for a place to hibernate, just sleep and relax and meditate undisturbed, and that's what i found.

I stayed in "The Rock" house which is literally built on the rocks leading to the water...high tide and a storm was enough to bring splashes almost up to the deck. Plenty of blankets and good coffee meant i could even rest outside, soaking in the cool damp air.

The house itself is private with a loft bedroom, and then a futon and recliner chair downstairs, large screen TV with satellite plus DVD player, good wireless internet, dining table, gas range and oven, microwave, and kitchen essentials including coffee and tea and salt and pepper. And, of course, a gas fireplace that added added warmth and ambiance.

The bed is super comfy, though the steps up to the loft are very steep and a person who does not manage ladders well would struggle.

The views are so surprising also - every 30 minutes it seemed to change from sunny and clear to cloudy to stormy to sunny again. Cormorants and gulls were in abundance, and the river otter and 2 bald eagles added spice.

I bought my food in Port Angeles before coming the rest of the way out; however there is a great little market next to the shop that is well stocked with more than enough to live on. And, Neah Bay, just 15 minutes away, has a larger supermarket.

The managers are also super nice and responsive by email.

Last note, this is a treasure of a place...and they like to keep it that way. If you're clean and tidy, this is the place for you. If you're looking for a rough place where you can walk around in dirty shoes and clean fish in the sink etc, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 112 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2010

Despite the snow and rain this was a wonderful spot to spend time. We stayed three nights and could have longer. We stayed in the Rain Forest cabin. It had been recently remodeled and was spotlessly clean. The couple managing the resort was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G_and_L_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

My mom found this place on Tripadvisor for our family trip to the Olympic Peninsula, and wow... what a find! It's a small place kind of in the middle of nowhere. The address is Sekiu, but it's actually a bit west of the main part of Sekiu (not that there's really enough to call it a "main part," either). Not a bad location if you want to explore Neah Bay, Shi Shi Beach, and the Ozette Triangle.

There are only six units, all uniquely furnished. We had 6 people, so we stayed in the Lighthouse and Wolf Den, which each held 3 people and were right next to each other. If I went back with fewer people, I think I'd go for the Birdhouse because the layout looked really neat. All of the units have a fully-equipped kitchen, and the appliances and cookware are as nice as what I have at home! The units are all beach-facing and a few steps away from beach access.

The owners are a real highlight of the experience. They love it there, and they want everyone else to love it, too. And as one of them said, "We like any excuse to throw a party." We were there for the 4th of July, and they had a big BBQ for guests and neighbors, and the guys set off quite a fireworks show on the beach. It was like having a big extended family - so much fun! They said they do a big party for summer solstice, too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graycodekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

With a location right on the water you are in another world. Away from the hustle & bustle with everything you could need even if you have an extended stay! Will definitely go again. My only hesitation about posting this is so many might "discover" this little piece of paradise

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenJoyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

5 stars!! What a place!! We stayed here during the Makah Days festival this august, 2010 and had the Rainforest Cabin! It was amazing and the views were spectacular! It was sooo peaceful, relaxing, and beautiful ! The staff was the best I have ever dealt with!! Cute cabin and honestly some of the best memories of our whole trip! Cant wait to venture back there next trip!!
We loved YALL....(the TENNESSEE girls)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank campgirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

9 days of total inner peace..... a beautiful place with people that treat you like family. this place will surprise any one who visits and will definitly not be dissapointed. no other place around like this place. loved every minute of the 9 days we were there. it made it hard to go sightseeing for the sites here are beautiful... Bob and Sophie

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophtioga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in the "Lighthouse". The tiny duplex cottage was very well equipped, clean, cozy and comfortable and right on the Strait of Juan de Fuca. Very peaceful setting and we loved eating our breakfast and dinner overlooking the water. We went to the Makah Museum in Neah Bay and did the Cape Flattery and Shi Shi Beach hikes. We enjoyed them all, but if you only have time for one thing, do the Cape Flattery hike -- an easy hike with incredible views!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chacogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sekiu
6.5 mi away
Van Riper's Resort
Van Riper's Resort
#1 of 5 in Sekiu
36 reviews
24.8 mi away
Forks Motel
Forks Motel
#3 of 5 in Forks
455 reviews
6.5 mi away
Curley's Resort and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
The Pacific Inn Motel
24.7 mi away
Miller Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
21.8 mi away
Misty Valley Inn B&B
Misty Valley Inn B&B
#1 of 11 in Forks
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chito Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chito Beach Resort

Address: 7639 Highway 112, Sekiu, WA 98381-9741
Location: United States > Washington > Sekiu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Sekiu
Price Range: $120 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic getaway on the Straits of San Juan De Fuca. Cozy cabins on the waterfront looking across to Vancouver Island. Full kitchens, wireless internet, HDTV. Eagles, otters, whales, seals, lots of wildlife. Beautiful grounds, with lots of flowers.This is your perfect staging area for hiking, kayaking and exploring the Northwest coast of the Olympic Peninsula.We specialize in those quiet get aways, honeymoons, weddings, anniversaries, any special occasion.What we are not is a fishing resort. There are plenty of places to call home while fishing in the area. Chito Beach Resort has always been a NON fishing resort. You are welcome to bring in your fish to prepare for dinner but we do not allow ANY fish processing in the cabin or on the property. Fishing is a sport for the early bird, here at Chito Beach Resort our guests appreciate the quiet mornings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chito Beach Hotel Sekiu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing