We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walk into History!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shelburne Restaurant & Pub

The Shelburne Restaurant & Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Shelburne Restaurant & Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Seaview
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 45th
Transit: Pacific Transit System serves north and south Pacific County communities.
Description: The Shelburne Restaurant & Pub has been serving up local cuisine since 1896. Working closely with local purveyors and foragers of seafood and produce, our staff makes the most of an enviable bounty of northwest ingredients. A talented team of chefs and bakers take pride in their 'scratch' kitchen. The freshest,seasonal ingredients rule the day. Guests have the option of dining in the elegant dining room of the original 1896 building or having a brew and a bite in the adjacent pub, which also offers outdoor seating in the summer months. Choose a wine from our award-winning wine list, a northwest microbrew on tap, or one of our hand-crafted cocktails.
Oregon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Walk into History!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

The historical feel, care, and maintenance are much appreciated. We did not stay here as a guest, but we had breakfast at The Shelburne Restaurant. The breakfast was above average, but nothing to write home about. Reservations are required, so be sure to reserve a time before showing up. We did have reservations, and were seated soon after we arrived at 9:30am. Unfortunately, there was a bit of a service issue during our visit. This may seem small to some, but the lady who took our order tried to do it without writing it down and screwed up my egg order........ I didn't say anything, as I can eat eggs many ways. However, I noticed at the table next to us that had around 6 or 7 people, she screwed up the egg order for two of those folks...... and, they let her know about it. Also, the "spuds" they serve were a bit too herbal for my taste and I didn't ilke them. The bread was home made and was quite good. Their bacon was too thin...... I'd go for a thicker cut bacon, which would fit the wonderful 19th century atmosphere that the caring owner has preserved so well. My wife just loved the english flower garden along the front of the building.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Retsof1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    46
    19
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for a romantic evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Everything is great. Service, friendliness of staff and patrons, atmosphere, and food. Not cheap, but worth the price.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BuggsScruggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“mmmmmm, brunch on the patio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

raw oysters with lemon and Bloody Mary shaved ice? Yes please!
Hang Town Fry = omelet with bacon, calamari, prawn and cheese = YUMM-O
Even the ice water had herbs/fruit added to it for flavour and interest.
The garden setting was lush and fantastic.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravellinTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine dining at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had dinner in the restaurant and as always it was a true dining experience; the food is fresh and imaginative; the ambience lovely; the service excellent! The next day we had brunch in the pub; while not as elegant as the restaurant the food was excellent as well as the service and atmosphere. A place not to be missed when visiting the WA coast!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReaderBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gearhart, Oregon
Level Contributor
468 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Perhaps it is better sometimes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Came for late lunch in the pub.

The food was good: elk chili, mussel chowder, bread, fried oysters and jalapeño burger were all excellent. Unfortunately the wrong burger was delivered initially. Also unfortunately our order was delivered to another table first. In addition the bread was delivered without a butter knife, the chili and chowder did have spoons but the oysters and burger without utensils. When we arrived no vacant table had been cleared and wiped off. Wine was available but glass of Pinot Gris not very good. The list of wine by bottle looks wonderful.

This was the last day of a holiday weekend. Perhaps some of the problems were caused by press of business. That isn't much of an excuse since holiday weekends are always busy so that should be planned for.

We were disappointed because we hoped for better. Looking at other recent reviews it seems that this kind of problem is not unheard of. Too bad. Great food in a charming place deserves decent wait staff and organization in the kitchen. I have been here before and expect to be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank jamesccasterline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelburneInn, Owner at The Shelburne Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
We're pleased to learn that you enjoyed the food and that you would return, and of course, disappointed that your actual dining experience was less than stellar. Your comments are well received and we will use them as part of the necessary feedback in our constant effort to improve what we do. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shelburne Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Shelburne Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing