We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service Lacking”

The Shelburne Restaurant & Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Shelburne Restaurant & Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Seaview
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 45th
Transit: Pacific Transit System serves north and south Pacific County communities.
Description: The Shelburne Restaurant & Pub has been serving up local cuisine since 1896. Working closely with local purveyors and foragers of seafood and produce, our staff makes the most of an enviable bounty of northwest ingredients. A talented team of chefs and bakers take pride in their 'scratch' kitchen. The freshest,seasonal ingredients rule the day. Guests have the option of dining in the elegant dining room of the original 1896 building or having a brew and a bite in the adjacent pub, which also offers outdoor seating in the summer months. Choose a wine from our award-winning wine list, a northwest microbrew on tap, or one of our hand-crafted cocktails.
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Customer Service Lacking”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We had breakfast, lunch and dinner over the course of a few days because we were staying at the Audubon Cottage at China Beach Retreat. The first day we went for lunch in the pub prior to check in and no staff were around. We waited at least 5 minutes and finally she appeared. Perhaps a bell or something should be there to call staff as I am sure there are alot of customers lost because the wait staff are out back. Lunch was great otherwise. We came back for breakfast in the dining room and same thing, no wait staff and restaurant was empty. We waited over 10 minutes, went into the kitchen to find someone and still no sign of any staff. We called out back and she finally appeared. Breakfast was outstanding, food was terrific and service was very good. We came for dinner in the dining room on our last night, four tables were occupied and one waiter looking after all. He was clearly taken with an older couple and the other three tables were virtually ignored. He spent most of our dinner telling anecdotes to this couple and bringing them their orders. I am in the hospitality industry and the first rule to great customer service is to treat all customers equally. It appeared that they were likely going to be the best tippers so he spent all his time schmoozing them. Again the food was outstanding. I understand they have a new chef and he is definitely a keeper. Hope the customer service issues can be resolved as we have been longtime supporters of The Shoalwater and now The Shelburne and would like to see them enjoy continued success.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Funbeach1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    48
    19
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We visited the Shelburne restaurant for breakfast one morning and while the building is beautiful and the dining room is gorgeous, the place smelled bad and the food was mediocre. The service wasn't great....there were 3 tables filled including ours and the one waitress was bouncing back and forth between the tables like she didn't know what she was supposed to do next.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank iplaruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, WA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memorable gem.”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Three of us accidentally ended up at Shelbourne on a Sunday night around 7 when other plans went awry. Hadn’t been here in years. Found the pub cozy & busy but the little tables a bit cramped for 3 so we opted for the main dining room -- a charming turn-of-the-century parlor done up in linens, lace & finely crafted millwork. Our server gave us the pub menu as well as the dinner menu -- a nice option. From the pub, local craft brews on tap (I chose Vortex from Fort George Brewery across the river in Astoria). Nice wine list, also. Two of us ordered fried seafood from the pub menu (fish & chips -- the chips cut literally like thick potato chips before frying -- and fried oysters with a side of fries) and one ordered seafood from the dinner menu, cioppino. Four stars across the board: fresh cod lightly fried (moist & flaky), local oysters lightly fried, French fries cut thin, a bit crispy outside, not oily; and the shellfish piled artfully in the center of bowl rather than awash in the broth -- a nice presentation. I tasted the broth -- lovely depth of flavor and a bit of a kick (Thai dragon?) just above a Mediterranean spice my tongue remembers but not my brain (saffron?). Raised a glass to Plan B even before salads arrived (arugula with pears; mixed greens with slivered apples & blue cheese; both dressed sparingly). Desserts lifted our spirits even more -- an almost-bread-pudding item billed as a cross between sponge cake & custard featuring cranberries; an sort of mini-apple-galette in a spiced sauce; and something-chocolate in a terrific presentation (amusing & pretty). Each declared ourselves the winners in dessert choices. Also nice to have an espresso to finish off the meal. After dinner, two of us dashed up a steep, expertly crafted stair tucked in a corner of the dining room to peek at the guest rooms above. Had a great adventure tip-toeing around and switching on lights in the rooms still available (honestly, our server suggested we tour the rooms!). So: Shelburne was delivering great hospitality despite the odd time of our visit. A memorable gem.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happily_surprised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhododendron, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good good food”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

What is not to like about this place! The food is of top quality, the service is wonderful and the setting is so comfortable.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank calgordon46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Valentine's Day Dinner”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were seated in a quiet and private portion of the dining room which made it even more romantic. The special dinner was excellent and the staff were wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening. It was the best meal by far on our whole trip.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shelburne Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Shelburne Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing