We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great NW Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sou'wester Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seaview
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sou'wester Lodge
Boulder, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great NW Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

A unique, cultured retreat at what feels like the edge of the world and that is at once the best of the contemporary Northwest and a sweet throwback to the 1940's. Definitely worth a visit and a good base for further adventures in the region.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was so happy to discover Sou'wester Lodge. Everything there is unique, beautiful, and tended to with so much attention and care. The grounds are naturally stunning and a short walk from the ocean... The trailers are comfortable and clean with a dash of retro glam... The staff is so friendly, knowledgeable, and warm. I couldn't think of a better getaway to truly unplug and take in nature (although wifi is available)! This place is charming and feels like a secret spot to be enjoyed solo, with a friends/fam, or for a romantic getaway- Sou'wester can accommodate it all. I'm so grateful to have found this place!!

Room Tip: I stayed with a girlfriend in the Spartan Mansion and it was enough space for the two of us! Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelstravelsNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This place was beyond words. The attention to detail in every corner of the property was incredible. We stayed in a 50s trailer that beats out the best hotel I have stayed in. We walked to the beach, enjoyed the fireplace in the main building, and slept like babies.

I was at the Sou'Wester for a retreat-like event, and am now planning to bring our company retreat there as well.

See you soon Sou'Wester!

Room Tip: Go for one of the vintage trailers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TayTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have never encountered a place like the sou'wester - it transports you out of time and into some strange wonderland you never want to leave. The owners and staff are as warm and friendly as family. The trailers and motel cabins have been decorated with more attention to detail than any 5 star destination. Obviously this place is not for everyone - people who fear spending a night in an immaculate vintage airstream - with a pantry loaded with local duck eggs, indie vinyl, and hand made candles - should absolutely steer clear. It is the type of place that simply attracts people you want to know. Pure inspiration. Thank you Thandi and Kathy - you have made a place that gives me faith in people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Adorable collection of trailers, airstreams and cabins in a remote area. Still walkable from a few local bars and restaurants, but easy to feel far away. The beach is a 3 min walk from the location, absolutely 100% breathtaking. The owner is the most lovely woman, if you need extra blankets or a space heater for your trailer, all set. The main house has a lovely fire, incredible old world vibe. If you need to get away, especially as a romantic get away, go.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ami s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Sou'wester is a magical little wonderland in Sea View, WA. Tandy and the crew make sure you're taken care of, and the trailers and cabins are delightful. The Sou'wester isn't for everyone – it's VERY special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank metalguruSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was here as part of a retreat and I cannot say enough about how enchanted and enchanting this place is! It is a short walk from the beach and the rustic trailers are adorable and very comfortable. I am going to make stays here an annual tradition!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SivP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
2.2 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#7 of 8 in Long Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.1 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Anchorage Cottages
The Anchorage Cottages
#4 of 8 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
0.8 mi away
Long Beach RV & Camping Resort
1.3 mi away
The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sou'wester Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sou'wester Lodge

Property: Sou'wester Lodge
Address: 3728 J Pl, Beach Access Road (38th Place), Seaview, WA 98644-2077
Location: United States > Washington > Seaview
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four cabins and a fleet of 1950's vintage trailers, all furnished, each with a kitchenette (including cookware and tableware). Units vary in size, accommodating 2-6 (or more) people. Our historic lodge offers a large living room filled with books and art where, from time to time, we offer cultural events, such as concerts, readings and lectures. Our grounds include a pavilion for covered outdoor activities & showers for RV guests and tenters. We have numerous RV sites (30amp, sewer & water, Wifi, no cable) and a few tent sites as well. Campfires are not allowed, although there is an old-style fireplace and patio (bring your own wood). Our property is as close to the beach as you can get in Seaview, a six minute walk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sou`Wester Hotel Seaview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing