We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NW Perfection.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sou'wester Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seaview
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sou'wester Lodge
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NW Perfection.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have never encountered a place like the sou'wester - it transports you out of time and into some strange wonderland you never want to leave. The owners and staff are as warm and friendly as family. The trailers and motel cabins have been decorated with more attention to detail than any 5 star destination. Obviously this place is not for everyone - people who fear spending a night in an immaculate vintage airstream - with a pantry loaded with local duck eggs, indie vinyl, and hand made candles - should absolutely steer clear. It is the type of place that simply attracts people you want to know. Pure inspiration. Thank you Thandi and Kathy - you have made a place that gives me faith in people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Adorable collection of trailers, airstreams and cabins in a remote area. Still walkable from a few local bars and restaurants, but easy to feel far away. The beach is a 3 min walk from the location, absolutely 100% breathtaking. The owner is the most lovely woman, if you need extra blankets or a space heater for your trailer, all set. The main house has a lovely fire, incredible old world vibe. If you need to get away, especially as a romantic get away, go.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ami s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Sou'wester is a magical little wonderland in Sea View, WA. Tandy and the crew make sure you're taken care of, and the trailers and cabins are delightful. The Sou'wester isn't for everyone – it's VERY special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank metalguruSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was here as part of a retreat and I cannot say enough about how enchanted and enchanting this place is! It is a short walk from the beach and the rustic trailers are adorable and very comfortable. I am going to make stays here an annual tradition!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SivP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I came to this place for a group gathering and honestly don't know if I would have ever picked it out if I read about it online. The rooms are hipster cool, super clean and well stocked. The trailers are cool and surprisingly comfy. There's a main house with wine, fabulous chocolate and other necessities for sale at ultra reasonable prices. The seaview entrance is right there. Its comfy and like camping but with enough creature comforts and attracts a cool, interesting clientele. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chef_Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We can't wait to go back and try out some of the other trailers.. and the cabins.. and the lodge. Such a unique place we fell in love with it instantly. My husband and I drove from Vancouver, BC and spent 3 nights in the Zelmar Cruiser with our 1.5yr old, it was the most relaxing time we have had in ages and definitely worth the drive. The place has an overall good vibe, lots of kids but not strictly families, a great mix of people. The trailers are amazing, so stylish and well-equipped but might not be for everyone, they are quite old so a love of kitsch and everything vintage is required, this isn't a regular hotel. Make sure to check out the thrift shop trailer plus cool art, records and jewellery for sale in the lodge. The beach is very close and there's a great bike path (you can borrow bikes from the souwester!) which our lil' one loved running along. There are lots of little towns in the area to explore as well and great antique stores and diners etc. Seaside and Cannon Beach, OR are less than 30min away so we made day trips but found Seaview/Long Beach more laid back. The Adrift hotel in Long Beach has a great restaurant on the top floor which serves westcoast style food and craft cocktails. The Sou'wester was really the highlight of the trip though and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby, Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I found the Sou'wester Lodge while searching for a campground in the Long Beach area. Having grown up in southwest Washington and having had visited Long Beach many times I was amazed I had never heard of this place before!? The thought of staying a couple nights in a Vintage Travel Trailer seemed so unconventional that I had to give it a try! I called and reserved the Boles Aero. Upon check in, we were greeted by friendly staff and were shown around a small store inside the Lodge and the many common areas on the property. Our vintage travel trailer had a little sitting area, kitchen with pots, pans, dishes and utensils, a super comfy bed and little bathroom at the rear. The property was quiet and set among tall trees. Also the is beach close by, it was an easy walk to and from. We had a great stay at the Sou'wester Lodge and plan to return in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snochik127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
2.2 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#7 of 8 in Long Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Anchorage Cottages
The Anchorage Cottages
#4 of 8 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
0.8 mi away
Long Beach RV & Camping Resort
1.3 mi away
The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sou'wester Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sou'wester Lodge

Property: Sou'wester Lodge
Address: 3728 J Pl, Beach Access Road (38th Place), Seaview, WA 98644-2077
Location: United States > Washington > Seaview
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Seaview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four cabins and a fleet of 1950's vintage trailers, all furnished, each with a kitchenette (including cookware and tableware). Units vary in size, accommodating 2-6 (or more) people. Our historic lodge offers a large living room filled with books and art where, from time to time, we offer cultural events, such as concerts, readings and lectures. Our grounds include a pavilion for covered outdoor activities & showers for RV guests and tenters. We have numerous RV sites (30amp, sewer & water, Wifi, no cable) and a few tent sites as well. Campfires are not allowed, although there is an old-style fireplace and patio (bring your own wood). Our property is as close to the beach as you can get in Seaview, a six minute walk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sou`Wester Hotel Seaview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing