We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this place at all costs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coast Gateway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in SeaTac
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, ID
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid this place at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

2am without knocking, someone slips a key into our door and tries to open it (we had the emergency lock on so they could only get it open 4 inches). We yelled for them to get out and shut the door, they rudely screamed "are you supposed to be there?" Ruined our nights sleep for an early flight the next day. I called the desk, they said to talk to the manager the next morning. When I complained to the manager she denied it happened !!! They would not refund our money.
I sent an letter to both the hotel and Coast Hotels main office complaining and telling them that's a good way for someone to get shot. They offered me a free night. Like I would ever stay there again. I told them I would never stay at that place again but they ignored me and just said that's all they would do, or would upgrade me next time. I again told them there wouldn't be a next time. I found out from the desk clerk that the guy who tried to open our door was the boyfriend of the hotel manager. This was the rudest and worst we've ever been treated at a hotel. I recommend you never take this chance.

Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank wayneharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    286
    111
    30
    17
See reviews for
165
225
104
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

I just finished a two day stay in one of the rooms facing towards the airport, and overall found the property to be a good value. The hotel is on par with a HI Express or a Hampton Inn; I’d say a little bit closer to the Hampton Inn type of layout. The place is fairly new, rooms were clean and overall the furnishings were nice.

I used the gym, it had very new Lifefitness equipment, the down side was it was very crowded due to having a treadmill, a cycle, and elliptical, and a weight machine & weight set & bench all crammed into a standard room converted to a gym. Internet hook up is a charge, but you can use the business center for free.

This hotel is walking distance from the airport, you walk straight out of the terminal & turn to the right and it is down about one block. About a 5 min walk total. Early check in was not a problem. Rooms were very quiet, and it even had functioning windows. With the clean air of Seattle, that’s a big plus. I suggest a street side room if you are a very light sleeper. (Trash truck shows up at 4AM which was louder than any aircraft noise) And they will give you Alaska Airlines points.

Food in the area is close & walking distance, (About 2-3 block) Sharps in the parking lot of the hotel is very good, and if you walk down past the Denny’s to the south, Dave’s Diner has a far better breakfast for about the same price as a Denny’s. And 13 Coins is across from the airport entrance in a large hi-rise up one block if you want a steak house.

Talking to someone else during my visit the Doubletree across the street was very close in price but hits you with add on fees for parking, etc. and there is a really nice Radisson & Hilton in the same area. Overall not a bad place at the rate I had.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

The Coast Gateway is a terrific small airport hotel, perfect for value-conscious travelers. We've stayed here several times when overnighting in Seattle between flights. The hotel is basic, but rooms are more than adequate, although not large, with an armoire for hanging up clothes rather than a separate closet. A very nice continental breakfast is included in the price, and also complimentary internet in their business center. The airport shuttle is convenient, but you do have to put your luggage on the bellman's cart and take it up to your room yourself, which we found to be no problem. While there is no restaurant actually in the hotel, a very nice BBQ/roaster/bar is conveniently located just across the parking lot. (I believe some area restaurants may deliver to the hotel also.) One additional service that we really appreciate is complimentary transportation to Southcenter Mall (a large shopping center), about 10 minutes away that is provided by a shuttle service that the Gateway contracts with. All in all, if you're looking for a clean, convenient airport hotel in Seattle, this will defintely fit the bill..

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinderella_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

My flight was so delayed that I got in too late to drive the 100 miles home, so the airline put me up here. I got a room on the 3rd floor facing the parking lot, over the entry. It was nearly 2am. I asked for a fan because I like to sleep with white noise. The desk clerk said they didn't have any. The room smelled very musty, so I opened the window, which was behind a heavy curtain. If the curtain was open there were very bright lights right outside. It was 34 degrees out so it was too cold to leave open, and then I could also hear the sirens. I tried to turn the air conditioning/heater onto "fan" only and the nob was broken. So I put it on heat but turned it on "cooler". The smell seemed to be coming from the air unit, and the hallway smelled the same and it was so late I didn't ask for another room, but wonder if anyone else on here noticed the odor. Also there was a hair under the toilet wrap. Breakfast was dry oranges and hard boiled eggs with invisible shell fragments and orange juice. I think I was already getting sick but had the runs by the end of the day.

  • Liked — Close to the airport
  • Disliked — The smell, no free internet, no fans
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Flight_815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haddonfield nj
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2008

I was put here after being voluntarily bumped off a flight. For an airport hotel, this is all you need. It can't be 5 minutes from the courtesy bus pick up to the hotel door. The service was fast, its next door to a Denny's and a place that does their catering, the gym is cramped, but adequate. The only thing I could've wished for is a hot tub and pool to relax in.

  • Liked — Proximity to the airport.
  • Disliked — Nothing extra for relaxation.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ejpiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

It's clean and the rooms are ok (althought privacy was not really an option in the bathroom with its odd sliding, thin door).

The breakfast is below average, more like a super 8 motel type than what you would expect for such a price.

It would not recomment this hotel, there are much better, less expensive options.

  • Liked — well, they have a shuttle to the airport, but that's about it
  • Disliked — way too expensive for what you get
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarlotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

We stayed when arriving & again prior to an early flight on our departure. The first night was adequate & room was clean- just skimpy on towels (and I agree about the shower configuration- knocked the skin off my knee trying to get out)
On our return, they checked in another guest under my name. The first clerk said I had to have my confirmation number & I explained we were there 2 days before and I had arranged for a late check. She said she had no rooms! She was accusatory & acted as if I wasn't being honest (yep, that angered me!)
The second clerk then came over & said she had double booked another room & had to go verify that no one was in it. We finally got a room & asked for a wake-up call (did not get it).
Overall, room is fine, noise not bothersome, continental breakfast better than most & price is fair. We would probably stay there again.

  • Liked — room size & cleanliness
  • Disliked — one employees attitude
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cmnipomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these SeaTac hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Seattle-Airport/28th Ave
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Seattle Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Seattle Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedarbrook Lodge
Cedarbrook Lodge
#1 of 34 in SeaTac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Sea-Tac Airport
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Seattle Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Gateway Hotel

Property: Coast Gateway Hotel
Address: 18415 International Blvd, SeaTac, WA 98188-4209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > SeaTac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in SeaTac
#8 Business Hotel in SeaTac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Coast Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Gateway Seattle
Hotel Coast Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing