We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice location and hotel with a few down points” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coast Gateway Hotel
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in SeaTac
Certificate of Excellence
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice location and hotel with a few down points”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Staued here for 8 hrs for some sleep between a flight to Amsterdam. Clean rooms and fast shuttle service to the airport. Good wake up calls. My main complaint is the pillows. They were horrible and prevented me from sleeping. Pretty easy fix though so otherwise a good hotel. I payed $90 by getting their airport shuttle rate.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlemufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    248
    97
    26
    16
See reviews for
137
178
87
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chandler62
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel is average. It's clean, great location, free parking, free wii fii and free breakfast. I would stay here again or any hotels close to this hotel. It's older but taken care off. It's located close to the light rail and goes to the stadium or Westlake. We stayed in Seattle for two Mariners games and Huskies game. We normally stay at the Silver Cloud accross from the stadium. It was booked and we could not find another close hotel on the three day weekend. The shuttle driver is very friendly and will drop you off at the light rail. Shuttle is 24 hours. My 8 year old son enjoyed seeing the airplanes from the room window. They do not have a pool. I do not think this should be rated a three star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chandler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a great hotel - clean, nice, quiet (and LITERALLY right next to SeaTac you could almost walk) but the reason I gave it four instead of five stars was for two reasons. Firstly, they offer rooms with two doubles (instead of queens) and the breakfast definitely was lacking (for the price you pay per night). For the breakfast, there were no hot options other than the obligatory "make your own waffle" and there weren't even any pastries. Other than the waffle maker there was just fruit and cereal. I was disappointed - considering I'd paid $150 a night!

Other than that, the hotel was very nice - warm, welcoming staff, clean, so quiet (even though we were overlooking the runways we didn't hear a thing) etc. Just for the money I expect to have a queen and a good breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CfromV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastgateway, Manager at Coast Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us during your time in Seattle! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated you taking the time to provide your comments. We’re looking forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I would never stay here without getting a great price on Hotwire. It is in no way a three star property. It looks like someone has purchased property from various hotels that are closing and has combined them into one hotel. It is really quite funny to see.
My bedspread reminded me of Florida during the early 1980's. That said, my room was clean- just old and outdated. Everything in the hotel is fine if you are getting a discounted rate. It appeared very safe and well used.
The bottom line is stay here if you want to save money. But definitely know it is a two star- if that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastgateway, Manager at Coast Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for visiting us during your time in Seattle and for providing a review. We’re glad you found our guestrooms clean and look forward to showing you one of our updated rooms with the new bedspread upon your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We arrived ready to begin our vacation and trusting the Coast Hotel name after our plane landed about 9:30. Headed up to our room to discover the a/c didn't work. Asked to be moved but had to wait for the maintenance/airport shuttle worker to verify that it wasn't working. At which point the manger said there weren't any other rooms that we could be moved to. Not so much as an apology or offer to find us a place to stay. So disappointing!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastgateway, Manager at Coast Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We are very disappointed to read about your experience and assure you that the type of service you described is not what we typically provide, nor what we train our staff to provide. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will consider us again during a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were traveling to Alaska and needed and overnight stay near the Airport in Seattle to catch and early-early flight to Ketchikan.
This hotel fit the bill perfectly--good value--($115 with all taxes etc)--very close to the Airport-- Clean rooms--- good shuttle service--courteous and freindly service by all that we came in contact with. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hotels in Seattle are expensive and out at the airport is no exception. This hotel is about the most reasonably priced and it is very convenient being right next door to the airport. 24 hour shuttle service also makes this very nice for travellers. This sits right next door to Roasters, which is a very good restaurant with a great selection of micro brews. Rooms at the hotel are on the small side, but fine if you're just passing through. They also have a small continental breakfast in the morning which is great when you're on the go. My only complaint was my room was right over the front door and the lights came in around the curtains so it was difficult to get the room dark. All in all I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely try Roasters, the restaurant next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globalreach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these SeaTac hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Seattle-Airport/28th Ave
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Seattle Airport
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Seattle Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Sea-Tac Airport
0.4 mi away
Cedarbrook Lodge
Cedarbrook Lodge
#1 of 34 in SeaTac
5.0 of 5 stars 2,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Seattle Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Gateway Hotel

Property: Coast Gateway Hotel
Address: 18415 International Blvd, SeaTac, WA 98188-4209
Location: United States > Washington > SeaTac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in SeaTac
#6 Romantic Hotel in SeaTac
#8 Business Hotel in SeaTac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Coast Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Gateway Seattle
Hotel Coast Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing