We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Seattle South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Seattle South
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in SeaTac
Edmonton, AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

Rooms were clean, staff were always helpful - and useful while they were at it.

Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank frey079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    18
    6
    11
See reviews for
20
15
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

I stayed here once about a decade ago and was pretty impressed back then. It’s not quite as good as it used to be but still probably the best budget place to stay near Seattle.

The biggest shortcomings would be the limited number of towels and pillows provided and the ancient TV. The big plus other than price is the epic water pressure in the shower. Location is just a few exits from Seattle, which works well if you’re driving but if you don’t have a car don’t even bother considering this location. There’s nothing really in the area and it’s not the easiest place to find but if you’re just passing through on a road trip or just don’t want to pay hotel prices in Seattle this is a pretty good place. I’ll probably return if I’m in the area and looking to save a bit of money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cow_manx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

I don't think I could even attempt to explain the madness I've experienced in my 4 night stay at this Motel 6, but I would advise everyone to avoid this hotel.

My husband and I have just gotten out of the Air Force and have traveled across the country to relocate to Seattle. We picked this Motel 6 because they allow pets and it's affordable. During the reservation and at check in I let the staff know I have a cat.

When we walked into the room we were happy to see that it seemed clean and like a good place to stay while apartment hunting. The insanity started on the 1st morning. We received a phone call telling us that we had to move to a different room. When my husband went into the office for an explanation and new keys, the manger complained to my husband that she would have to "hire a carpet cleaner" because we had been placed in a room that was not "safe for guests." She said this with such terrible attitude that my husband had to remind her that we did not place ourselves in the room, her staff did. We were then placed in a substandard room next to the freeway, with a door that had no weather stripping. So we heard the traffic all night. We asked the staff for a new room. The polite evening staff moved us into a nice room. By this time we had already secured an apartment and decided to stay for a week in this hotel while waiting for the movers to deliver our household goods. The second night we were treated to an all night screaming fight by our neighbors. The COPS came by multiple times yet the screaming did not stop until 3 in the morning.

Then, the next morning the real insanity began. My husband called the front desk to let them know we wouldn't need housekeeping for the day (Motel 6 does not use Do Not Disturb signs). We were told that we were REQUIRED to have housekeeping. I immediately called the front desk back and told them that I was not to be disturbed. At this point the clerk tells me he has realized that because we have pre-paid for a week we don't have to have housekeeping. He then proceeds to tell me that there was a problem with my cat because in the past they had an incident with a "cat dying and stinking up the room." I just laughed at him because I felt like I was talking to a lunatic. I told him at this point that we would be leaving the next morning and they would be refunding our pre-paid week. His response was "you don't have to stay." He did not understand or care that he was harassing clean, responsible customers and driving them out.

More crazy things were said during my conversation with the front desk. I was lead to believe that the housekeepers came into our room even though we asked them not to- yet they did not clean. Incidentally, after my conversation with the front desk our keys suddenly stopped working in the door. My husband and I put all of our valuables into the car for fear that when we returned for our last evening we would be purposely locked out or robbed.

Understand that my husband and I are normal, good, friendly guests. We have spent the past 11 days traveling across the county and have had nothing but good experiences at other hotels. What happened here was inexplicable. I don't understand how a hotel could manage to harass their customers, but this one did.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FiveAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

The motel itself is clean and close to I-5, and is a good value. The key cards would consistently stop working for some odd reason, leaving us locked out of our room at 2 or 3 am and having to make a trip to the office for 2 of the 3 nights we stayed.

The second floor rooms located with a poolview are far from the stairwells, so you are better off not getting one of those rooms.

  • Liked — Convenience and value
  • Disliked — The faulty keycards, and intermittent internet access
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HeyJoe101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2006

Motel 6 on Military Road was OK. There were 4 of us in 2 rooms. Two double beds per room. The rooms were clean but worn. The bathroom was clean but needed work (broken tiles in the shower). On the plus side were the good water pressure and temperature in the shower. The mattress was good. The sheets and towels were rough but usable. No toiletries so bring your own shampoo etc. They do supply soap.

  • Liked — water pressure/temperature
  • Disliked — worn bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — get a ground floor room so you don't have to take luggage up stairs
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank libtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near SeaTac
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Sea-Tac Airport
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Seattle Airport Hotel
2.0 mi away
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#2 of 5 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Seatac Airport
Days Inn Seatac Airport
#18 of 34 in SeaTac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn SeaTac Airport
2.6 mi away
Ramada Seatac Airport
Ramada Seatac Airport
#20 of 34 in SeaTac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Seattle South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Seattle South

Property: Motel 6 Seattle South
Address: 20651 Military Rd, SeaTac, WA 98198-4817
Location: United States > Washington > SeaTac
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in SeaTac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Seattle South 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Seattle South is conveniently located off of I-5 at Military Road. Sea Tac Intl Airport is only 2 miles. Restaurants and shops are nearby. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor heated pool and hot tub. Wi-Fi is available in all modern rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Motel-6, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Seattle South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Seattle
Motel Six Seattle
Seattle Motel 6
Seattle Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing