We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - close but serene & peaceful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cedarbrook Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cedarbrook Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in SeaTac
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location - close but serene & peaceful setting”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Definitely NOT your typical hotel near a major airport! It's tucked away in a neighborhood much like a little country club. Our family of 4 stayed here to meet visitors arriving at Seatac for a layover. Our room was a good size and had a awesome desk space & storage. Cedarbrook has living room spaces throughout each building with a fireplace, tv, and a pantry full of yummy snacks - including malt balls in a few flavors, fruit, chips and a refrigerator with even more nibbles -- haagen daazs ice cream, yogurt, and cheese, drinks, & water. The breakfast buffet was delicious - with homemade granola, smoked salmon or herring plus the usual assorted pastries, bagels, cereal, coffee and juice. We didn't have time to eat dinner but would LOVE to go back, stay longer and dine at the Copperleaf. Staff was super friendly and helpful. The fitness room was clean and also well maintained. One small downside was that they don't have a pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kishth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott O, General Manager at Cedarbrook Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled that you found our hotel to not be typical and that you enjoyed a great stay with you family in our peaceful and serene setting.

Although we need to work on the pool situation, we will continue to keep our living rooms stocked with all the goodies you mentioned in anticipation of your next visit.

And perhaps next time, you can sample the bounty of Copperleaf, our signature farm-to-table restaurant.

See you soon!

Sincerely,

Scott Ostrander
General Manager
Cedarbrook Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,854
    261
    67
    20
    19
See reviews for
539
892
193
412
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I hesitated to review this place, because I don't want it to become too popular. But it is really nice, rooms, grounds, and restaurant. I guess this was built by a large Seattle company at one time for their exec retreats, and the company is gone and now it is a hotel. You can tell just a little bit that the rooms have a little bit of a corporate feel. But still they are as nice or nicer than some of the premium brands that would would pay much more for.

Overall I say highly recommended.

Room Tip: You can self park and not have to walk far, and save some bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rei98402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott O, General Manager at Cedarbrook Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your hesitation in trying to keep our oasis a secret, but am glad you discovered us nonetheless and took the time to provide such kind comments on TripAdvisor.

You are correct...Cedarbrook was built by Washington Mutual (WaMU) Bank as a private training retreat. In late 2009 when they went out of business, we converted it to unique hotel (Lodge) on 18 acres of wetlands in the midst of the urban environment of SeaTac.

Thanks for staying with us! I hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Scott Ostrander
General Manager
Cedarbrook Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cedarbrook Lodge after returning from a Cruise. The surroundings, impeccable, the staff superb. We will always stay here. We didn't have any problem getting from the ship to the hotel. Close to the airport so a shuttle was available, compliments of the hotel. Thank-you for such a wonderful place....

Room Tip: Dogwood Building
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved the biodegradable toiletries, watched how they grew some organic herbs and vegetables, and just enjoyed the natural surroundings.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott O, General Manager at Cedarbrook Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us a Five Star rating on TripAdvisor and most importantly for considering us the best of the best.

I am thrilled that you had a great stay and look forward to your return visit in the future.

Regards,

Scott Ostrander
General Manager
Cedarbrook Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spend 3 nights at the cedarbrook and the stay was great. The hotel is closeby the airport and provides you with a courtesy shuttle. The rooms are spacious and have everything you require. You can even order a different pillow from the menu if you can't sleep on the ones allready there. The luxery doesn't stops there. In the lounges you can get water, ice cream, peanuts and coffee etc, all included. In the morning they serve a good variety of food for breakfast. It certainly gets you going. They also have a very good restaurant, with fine dining and an excellent choice of wines. All our needs were met. Would stay here again for sure.

If you want to go to downtown Seattle without a car, you can take the shuttle to the lightrail and from there to downtown for $11 (2way). It saves you the trouble of taking your car and having to park!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarsH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott O, General Manager at Cedarbrook Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so happy that your three night stay met / exceeded your expectations. I appreciate your taking the time to write a review and give us a five star rating on TripAdvisor.

You stated that you will return again....And we look forward to seeing you.

My best,

Scott Ostrander
General Manager
Cedarbrook Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights and 5 days, which did hit my coin jar pretty badly, but I would do it all over again. I stayed in room 2217- Dogwood Building.

My son stayed here previously and he recommended it to me because he knows I enjoy the "extras" in a hotel and because I'm keen on recycling and taking care of our earth. He was right.

The things I appreciated:
1. The lush landscape and N. American "woodsy" feel.
2. The Common Area - television, some books, and snacks: different flavor malt balls (the mint was my favorite), Tim's chips (vinegar & salt, original, sour cream,and jalapeño), string cheese, water, oranges, and Haagen-Dazs (dulce de leeches, chocolate, strawberry, coffee, and vanilla).
***$ saver
3. Toiletries in biodegradable containers made with recycled materials.
4. Daily continental breakfast that's more than cereal! ***$ saver
5. 24 hour gym
6. Friendliness of the front desk clerk who's from Corona, Ca. Quite amazed how she called me by my name after not seeing me for a couple of days!
7. Overall upkeep of the property and the layout of the lodge and room.
8. The robes in the room.
9. The pillow menu. Try the body pillow and the sachets.
10. Location - but then of course, I was visiting friends who live in Seattle
11. Free daily newspaper - located in the lobby near the front desk ***$ saver
12. I'm sure I'm forgetting something...

Things I wasn't too fond of:
1. Salt or too much of it! Seems like wherever I ate, even at the hotel, the cooks love to use salt.
2. Having to pay for parking - $15 a day (ouch, ouch, ouch!)
3. The lounge during Happy Hour because the waitress may take the orders of people who definitely came in after you! The food menu is alright, but the happy hour special is just one item (see their website). I had the oyster tater tot, which tasted like tater tots (about six pieces for $12?) and wouldn't recommend it. However, I would recommend the crab sandwich for about the same price, but you get a lot of crab and fries. I went to the common area for desert. ***$ saver!

My wish list for this property:
1. Salt water pool
2. Spa

My bill was over $800. A little pricey, but again, the little extras mentioned made it worthwhile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank datwahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott O, General Manager at Cedarbrook Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a detailed review of your Cedarbrook stay on TripAdvisor. I love the "list". As I always continue to say, it is truly wonderful to read the wonderful accolades and sharing them with our hard working staff, but it is the comments that are more constructive in nature that continue to help us improve.

Trust in the fact that I will work with our culinary team on the "salt" issue as well as the happy hour specials.

Please know that, as you did list in many ways, we try to create great value for our guests. As a result, although there is a fee for parking, it is 40-50% lower than all other SeaTac area hotels and 100%+ lower than hotels in Bellevue and Seattle. We will continue to strive to lead our market in quality service, amenities and value.

I can't promise a salt water pool; however, I can share with you that we have plans in the near future to possibly build a spa.

I truly hope to have you as our guest again!

Regards,

Scott Ostrander
General Manager
Cedarbrook Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I cannot recommend this place enough. The grounds, lobby, community 'living rooms', the free use of computers and even a shredder, the most ample space in our room for storage, an amazing in room works space/desk, the oversized shower/tub with the nicest shelf space for all of our family's toiletries to fit and then some, the most comfortable beds and many choices for pillows (they have an actual pillow menu!), free snacks, bottled spring water, even Hagen Das (24/7!), umbrellas located conveniently all over property for our use, free shuttle service to and from the airport and/or lite train for travel to Seattle, the NUMBER ONE rated restaurant (per Tripadvisor) out of over 1,700 other TA rated Seattle restaurants, the Copperleaf, is on property and is gorgeous! Everything was spotless, gorgeous and with a beautiful, free breakfast, this was an amazing value. I wish all places were like here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USCGWIFEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott O, General Manager at Cedarbrook Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for all the wonderful accolades. I am most appreciative of your kind comments and am grateful you took the time to write a review and post it on TripAdvisor.

While we always strive for continuous improvement, I am glad that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to you staying with us again.

Regards,

Scott Ostrander
General Manager
Cedarbrook Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have read about Cedarbrook Lodge in the magazines each time I flew Alaska Airlines and always said that I should stay there. My wife and I finally had a few days in Seattle before a cruise and booked a room here. While the neighbor hood that surrounds it does not see to be the best, the lodge and grounds are super, hard to believe it is that quiet and peaceful yet so close to the airport.

The rooms were very comfortable and it is nice to wake up, look out the window and see greenery and not the highway or another building like at most hotels! The free Haagen Daas ice cream was much appreciated and usually served as a before bed snack, chocolate covered raisins, yogurt, water and malted milk balls were also there for the taking. Everyone we met or spoke to working in the hotel were very friendly and seemed to genuinely like being there. Free shuttle to the airport and to the rail station which you can take into the city. After a long flight, it is nice to walk around the grounds, watch the ducks in the pond and enjoy being outside.

A nice touch is they have complementary umbrellas, you can pick them up at multiple points in the hotel and we took them for our trips to the city, with the rain Seattle is famous for, bonus points for this service!


I cannot wait for our next trip back, when I have a long layover or some free time, you can bet I will be trying to get a room here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laterisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott O, General Manager at Cedarbrook Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am not sure what took you so long to stay at Cedarbrook Lodge, but I am glad you did. :-)

It is always interesting to hear the comments from a first time guest. I am privileged to work with a great staff who, with great authenticity, love their jobs and truly care about providing great experiences for our guests. Now, this does not mean that we are always perfect, but we try and we care. All the way down to the Umbrellas and Haggen Dazs.

On behalf of our staff, I look forward to your next trip to our hidden retreat...right next to the airport.

Sincerely,

Scott Ostrander
General Manager
Cedarbrook Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these SeaTac hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Seattle-Airport/28th Ave
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Seattle Airport
0.4 mi away
Coast Gateway Hotel
Coast Gateway Hotel
#3 of 34 in SeaTac
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Seattle Airport
0.5 mi away
Seattle Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Seattle Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedarbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarbrook Lodge

Property: Cedarbrook Lodge
Address: 18525 36th Ave S, SeaTac, WA 98188-4967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > SeaTac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in SeaTac
#1 Family Hotel in SeaTac
#1 Romantic Hotel in SeaTac
#1 Business Hotel in SeaTac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedarbrook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtfully situated less than five minutes from Seattle-Tacoma International Airport, Cedarbrook Lodge is a 169-room distinctive lodging facility. Guests are afforded a quiet, secluded environment ideal for a wide variety of business and leisure travel needs as well as professional and social gatherings. Eighteen lush acres of natural restored wetlands, comfortable accommodations, unexpected amenities (including highly acclaimed Copperleaf Restaurant and The Spa at Cedarbrook), and contemporary event spaces complement Cedarbrook's quintessential Northwest style, original works of art, and seasoned service. The result is an optimal location with the ambiance of a discreet hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cedarbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedarbrook Hotel Seattle
Cedarbrook Hotel Seatac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing