We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Victorian gem in Roslyn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huckleberry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roslyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huckleberry House
Save
You added Huckleberry House to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Roslyn B&B and Inns
SeaTac, Washington
Level Contributor
124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A little Victorian gem in Roslyn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at this wonderful B&B many times over the past 10 years. Don & Sibyl are wonderful hosts. The House overlooks the little town of Roslyn and has 3 rooms on the upper floor of the house and one that is handicap accessible on the main floor. Full breakfast served to guests, usually a fresh bakery item. Hot tub and deck area outside with BBQ; a deck surrounds the front & side of the house. Upstairs is a library with lots of books, games and videos - including all the seasons of Northern Exposure, which was filmed in Roslyn. There is a brewery, wine tasting, and lots of little shops.

Room Tip: We love the Gypsy with its great view of the town and its on the end away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Velvet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Being fans of Northern Exposure we had stopped in Roslyn, WA a couple times but wanted to stay overnight. The town still has all the buildings used in the TV series, The Huckleberry House overlooks downtown, and is just a block away. We stayed in the Quinault room, which actually is their biggest room. It was very comfortable and we slept like we were visiting a familiar place. This B&B has a lot of information on Northern Exposure, books, vhs tapes, magazines, and sightseeing maps of the town related to the tv show in a large upstairs library. Our room was big and comfortable with some very nice antiques, tv/vcr, a sitting area, and a large bathroom. The other couples staying there were also NX fans; 2 from England, so at breakfast we all shared our stories. A little expensive but probably the best place in town to stay.

Room Tip: Most people want the Cicely room but we felt the Quinault room was bigger and better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingman1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 night here for our 5 year anniversary and we are so glad we did! The room was fantastic, comfortable and pretty as well. (We stayed in the Gypsy room.) We were greeted with an Anniversary card and chocolate bar, an unexpected and very sweet and thoughtful gesture. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well, in fact, I almost never sleep well in new places, and I slept like a rock. We enjoyed the antiques and the sunny library upstairs.

Sibyl was very helpful and helped point us towards our destinations. She also provided us with an atlas, and other books and pamphlets on the area to borrow. Breakfast was delicious-scones, eggs, fruit, and extraordinary plum cake. Perfect!

The area was full of history, great trails, old mining towns. There was so much to see and do, we were almost disappointed to have to move on to our next destination. We are looking forward to returning (hopefully soon!) to continue our explorations. We loved being able to walk to town, and especially loved walking to the old theater for a movie one night.

We highly recommend Huckleberry House.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHT84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Don, Sibyl and the children were great hosts. We felt warmly welcomed into their home. The breakfasts were superb and felt no rush to get up to eat. One morning we had to get up early to leave and Sibyl got us breakfast (freshly made scones from scratch) earlier than usual. We had a wedding in a campsite to go to or else we would have spent more time in the house and the town because it was such a pleasant place to stay. All five days we were there were relaxing and fun. The whole family was the best.

Room Tip: The Gypsy room was great. We took a peek at the other upstairs rooms. All seemed very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Javier A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here three nights with two kids. All in all: an exellent choice. Nice yard with the yacuzzi, Delicious brekfast, Beautiful room and Cibyl and Don really make you feel wellcomed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Finnsh_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

First class service, excellent food and great room (We chose Lena's room). The inn keepers are helpful with information of local attractions and events. Yoga on site.

Room Tip: Lena's room on the first floor and great bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadabob58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I was a bit disappointed with the breakfast... especially since it was my first BnB outside of Ireland where the breakfasts are legendary but everything else was great. We stopped in Roslyn on our roadtrip honeymoon and stumbled upon this great find. It was affordable, we took a yoga class right on the deck, hung out with local people just down the block at a local pub (or 2), and then retired to the Huckleberry House's outdoor hot tub where we drank wine and smoked a cuban cigar. Don and Cybil were very hospitable and very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milesntrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roslyn
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Snowcap Lodge
4.1 mi away
Econo Lodge near Suncadia Resort
3.1 mi away
Timber Lodge Inn
Timber Lodge Inn
#4 of 7 in Cle Elum
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Stewart Lodge
Stewart Lodge
#6 of 7 in Cle Elum
3.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
Cle Elum Travelers Inn
#7 of 7 in Cle Elum
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#2 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huckleberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huckleberry House

Property: Huckleberry House
Address: 301 Pensylvania Avenue, PO Box 327, Roslyn, WA 98941
Location: United States > Washington > Roslyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Roslyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home B and B located in historic Roslyn WA. Walking distance to down town. Filming site of Northern Exposure. All rooms have private baths. Use all natural, organic and recycled products when ever possible. Outdoor hot tub. Great views of the area. Full house available for small groups. Lots of outdoor recreation available right outside your door. Innkeepers Don and Sibyl ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing