We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay...Great People...and Eagles Too!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Totem Trail Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Totem Trail Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rockport
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay...Great People...and Eagles Too!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

This was kind of a long shot. Picked this out of the blue and it was a real gem. If you need a Westin or Hyatt, this is not for you, but it offers simple, clean, and comfortable accommodations at a great price. $50.00 for one and $5.00 extra for spouse. Color TV with HBO, individual heated rooms, and the heat works great! Our room had a coffee maker and a microwave as well as real dishes. The towels were really nice and the beds were extremely comfortable. We often have an issue with the beds in even some awesome hotels, but these were really nice. As said before, no phone in room or internet around and not much, if any cell coverage, but that can be good too.We stayed in room 8, which had a King bed as well as a Queen. Communal refrigerator outside is a nice and somewhat homey touch.

A word of warning about visiting in the off season, not much open in the way of restaurants around the motel on weekdays, you can get some food in Concrete. Also, stock up on supplies early in the day from the local food stores, We ate at the Eatery for lunch and breakfast, really good sausage gravy, and at the Buffalo Inn Restaurant for one dinner, good buffalo stroganoff!

The eagles are amazing now so stay at the Totem Trail, leave your cell phone behind and enjoy a great place and some really nice people.

BTW: the liquid hand soap in the bathroom is the motels, I thought my wife brought it and packed it up....!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xtrasalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    34
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
35
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Snohomish, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

Cozy 8 room motel which at first glance looks like something out of a David Lynch movie was a nice change of pace from chain motels and tourist traps aand at $50.00 for a single, it was a bargain.

My room was very cozy and clean. The bed was actually comfortable and had a fresh clean smell to it. Rooms are simple with no phones and no hair dryers, but Sonia put other welcoming touches to the room with new fluffy towels, nice new showers, coffee and tea service,fresh flowers as well as a microwave and real dishes and silverware. A communal refrigerator is available just outside the guest rooms.

Outside, a small picnic area with BBQ grill was welcomed as I enjoyed cooking my own steak outside in the fresh air instead of spending $32.00 for one at the tourist trap restaurant down the road. Cooking utensils and firewood were availalbe for use as well.

Just 1.5 hours from my home, this will become a get-away spot from time to time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indigeax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

Stayed at the Totem Trail Motel for one night on the 31st. The owner was friendly, the room was spotless. Nice towels and comfy beds. The room had a full sized coffeemaker, microwave, and tv with HBO. Newly remodeled bathroom, light fixtures, and fresh paint. Very happy with our stay here. +++ We also recommend The Marblemount Diner.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

Stayed here a few days in mid June for a hiking trip.

The owner was very friendly and gave really good service. She put fresh flowers in the room.

There weren't too many people staying at the motel because of the time of the year (the Cascades are probably best experienced in the later summer rather than early June). As such there was no noise from neighbors in other rooms.

The room I got was clean, the bathroom newly renovated. The bedsheets were clean as was the carpet for the most part, although I think there was a weird odor wafting from it. It appeared clean but it probably could have used a good steam cleaning because there was a smell to the room that I could only attribute to the carpet.

There was also a microwave, plates/utensils, a coffee maker with coffee/teas/sugar/cups/spoons provided. They have a communal fridge outside which I used with no problems.

The only other complaint I had were there were a few bugs that got into the room, but that was to be expected considering the location, and I did not get any bug bites.

There are other accomodations in the area but they were all more expensive than here and overall I would recommend this motel for anyone going hiking in the Cascades and even surrounding areas.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upright_infinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2008

This was a convenient place to stay, close to the cascades. The owner was very kind. This was an affordable place to stay for a family of 4, just $70 and that included tax. It was an older motel, but they kept it clean, the beds were comfortable, and there were fresh flowers in the room. It did have a closed up, musty smell, but that improved after we aired it out.

  • Liked — The price, and the bed linens were nice and clean.
  • Disliked — The closed up, musty odor of the room.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank show-me-state23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Totem Trail Motel while visiting North Cascades Natl. Park. We were disappointed by the lodging and food options available in the area and after trying a couple of other motels that were full, we ended up reserving a room at the Totem Trail. We stayed for two nights and we were the only people there one of those two nights. The rooms were old school non-chain motel rooms that were in desperate need of redecorating. Still, the room was comfortable, clean, cheap, and somewhat homey and came with a tv, coffee maker, and a microwave. The motel is just outside of Marblemount and a little hard to find in the dark, but still convenient for exploring the park. The owners were extremely nice and eager to please. Considering the other choices available, this is an okay choice for a short stay. For more information on the area, check out the web site for the North Cascades Chamber of Commerce.

Helpful?
4 Thank Monkeywrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Totem Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totem Trail Motel

Property: Totem Trail Motel
Address: 57627 State Route 20, Rockport, WA 98283-9752
Location: United States > Washington > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean,cozy,quiet 8 unit motel rooms with wonderfully comfortable beds and many home style extras creating an affordable "home-away-from-home". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing