We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and charming”
Review of Totem Trail Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Totem Trail Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Waimea, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Rustic and charming”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed at the Totem Trail for 3 nights during a visit to North Cascades National Park for hiking. It is an old-style "tourist court" but is obviously much loved and cared for. The owners Sonia (sp?) and Bob have put a lot of effort into making an older building into a cozy and pleasant place to stay.

The rooms are small, but with touches like individual decorations and different bedding; REAL dishes including wineglasses, and are very clean. It is quiet (there are only 8 units) and in a lovely setting.

Definitely not the Hilton or luxurious, but it was perfect for us and we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corisline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    38
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
39
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

After driving a long way and seeing mostly trees, with the occasional blueberry patch, we eventually happened upon our accommodations for the evening. We were on our way to North Cascades and stayed here for the night because it was the least expensive place.
The owner was friendly and efficient. Our room was clean and basic, with a touch of the rustic feel. The room was small, but we arrived later in the afternoon so we just settled in. Room included a microwave, coffee cups and wine glasses. You can get breakfast (and possibly other meals) a little further down the road at Clark's Skagit River Resort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicariouslythrulisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Our family stayed here for 2 nights the week of August 14th. Its not large ( I think 8 rooms max) but it is a great value withan excellent location. Our two kids had there own room while wife and I had room next door. It was cozy & clean. There is an old fridge outside that everyone shares which has no big deal. The owner/manager Sonya is super friendly and helpful; ask her for tips on where to visit and where to eat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyk696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The North Cascades on the west side of the mountains do not have a lot of lodging options, but what a gem the Totem Trail Motel is. It is about a 20 minute drive from the park, but it's well worth the drive each day. First of all you have a wonderful owner in Sonja. She is very accommodating and does not tolerate a lot of nonsense. The first night there was a power outage locally, but she provided everyone with lights (including us) whose rooms did not get lit with generator. She even took a few minutes when we left to get the outside of our car washed even though we dirtied it up again on the way home. We were in room 4 which is a small room, but not being there much during the day, it was sufficient. Microwave, coffee maker, and dishes are provided to use. You just have to get to used to all of Sonja's signs all over the room (not a lot) and outside the rooms. The only fridge is outside for everyone to use. We used it a little and had no problems. It's only an 8 unit motel so you're not sharing it with a lot of people. The grounds include a picnic area, basketball court, and a hammock (if she puts it up). For now, dogs are allowed and hopefully our neighbor one night didn't ruin it for everyone else. Breaking smoking rules and having dirty animals does not set well with the owner. You don't want to be put on her smokers wall of shame she has in the office and get charged extra. Overall (in spite of having no water or power most of the first night), our weeks stay at Totem Trail was a wonderful experience. It is very economical as well compared to other lodging in the area. Marblemount is only a few minutes away with food and gas even though it is limited. I would not hesitate to recommend the Totem Trail Motel to anyone visting the North Cascades or any other part of the area. Worth every minute and dollar.

Room Tip: Rooms 6-8 (maybe 5) get the lights on with generator if the power does go out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rainier72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

A typical small-town, family-owned place.Clean and quiet. Owner particularly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mailstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our visit to North Cascades NP. The room was clean and very comfortable, and highlighted by the fact that dishes (real plates, glasses, and flatware!) were in our room, in addition to a microwave and coffeepot. The first night, we sat outside our room sipping glasses of wine from the real wine glasses provided. (Maid service includes cleaning the dishes!) The bed was very comfortable and the room quiet. Towels were not the paper thin ones at most motels. And I loved the fresh flowers in the room when we arrived. The owner was very helpful when we inadvertently locked our key in the room. We would unconditionally recommend the Totem Trail if you are traveling in this area!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank novastorm19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed for two nights end of July and loved it! Very clean, updated bathroom. We loved the pavilion out back where we cooked breakfast with our camp stove. The owners were great - very friendly and knowledgable! If we are out that way again we definitely would stay there!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris040214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Totem Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totem Trail Motel

Property: Totem Trail Motel
Address: 57627 State Route 20, Rockport, WA 98283-9752
Location: United States > Washington > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean,cozy,quiet 8 unit motel rooms with wonderfully comfortable beds and many home style extras creating an affordable "home-away-from-home". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing