We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect setting for a great meal”

Madrona Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: What better way to spend a summer afternoon than relaxing in this over-the-water restaurant dining on coastal-casual cuisine and sipping flavorful cocktails? The deck sits over harbor, offering diners the only sunset view over water on the island. Fresh salads, creative grill sandwiches and famous BBQ ribs are menu favorites.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
178 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A perfect setting for a great meal”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were in Roche Harbor around lunchtime and decided to get something to eat. Since it was a beautiful sunny day, we looked for a restaurant with a deck. The Madrona Bar & Grill had the perfect spot overlooking the marina. I was delighted to find the prices very reasonable and the food very yummy. I had the root beer glazed pulled pork sandwich, which was served on a three-seed bun. There was actually a hint of root beer in the flavor and the bun was very fresh. The fries were also better than average. The service was prompt and friendly. If you're ever in Roche Harbor on a sunny day, I would definitely recommend this place for lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fisheggs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    74
    30
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and fun dining experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

In a nutshell: friendly service, tasty food, fun outdoor deck setting with cosy heaters, beautiful sunset view overlooking water while dining at Roche Harbor!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Casual patio dining- great for lunch”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Perfect vacation lunch. Reasonable prices, outdoor seating and friendly service. Selection of sandwiches, pizza and seafood that was actually quite good with a local spin.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner and reasonably priced”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The food was surprisingly fantastic. The lamb burger is probably the best burger I have ever had! We also ordered a salmon fillet burger and it, too, was wonderful. The french fries were crispy and perfectly seasoned.

The only slight disappointment was the Heirloom Tomato salad. I was very excited to order this because I love Heirloom Tomatoes; however, when the salad came out there were no Heirloom Tomatoes in the salad. They were just standard, vine ripened tomatoes. The salad was still good but I was looking forward to the Heirloom tomatoes.

Overall, the food is reasonably priced, and absolutely delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant, especially if you are trying to avoid paying outlandishly high prices for dinner. Plus, the view from the restaurant's patio dining is spectacular.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PlayAcrossAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great view, good food and service.”
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

The view was very nice, the food was actually very good. The service is great, we all had a wonderful time. I would recommend if you are in the area.

Helpful?
Thank vinnievinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madrona Bar & Grill also viewed

Roche Harbor, San Juan Island
Roche Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Madrona Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing