We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Historic Hotel in a Historic City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Richland
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
137 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A Historic Hotel in a Historic City”
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Hotel was short-staffed when we arrived but it was a holiday weekend, they were sold out, and maybe someone called in sick. The hotel has been well maintained and is clean. There are no funny smells and the beds/linens are nice and cozy.

GOOD:
+ Very dog friendly
+ Nice, helpful staff
+ Beds, linens
+ Location (adjacent to a very nice riverfront park)
+ Clean
+ Secure

BAD:
- Shower curtain not long enough so you flood bathroom with shower
- Maintenance could be a bit better especially on the exterior (light bulbs, etc.)

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHCC, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, responded to this review, June 21, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We truly appreciate your patronage.

I do apologize for the shower curtain being too short, we have already placed an order to replace them, and maintenance has checked the parking lot for light bulbs...thanks for bringing these points to our attention.

We are looking forward to your next visit, until then, safe travels.

Ian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    78
    69
    39
    24
See reviews for
82
62
18
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

This is an older hotel that has a GREAT location right on the river. The hotel has been updated and is very comfortable. I do not recomend the food however.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSandH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHCC, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, responded to this review, May 12, 2010
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! We certainly do appreciate the business we receive, but more importantly we enjoy the relationships that are created when we have a guest stay in our home!

I did see you would not recommend our food...Please on your return visit let us try agin, we are well known in the area for the quality of food we produce.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Ian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

I went for a job interview and was put up at the Red Lion. I had never heard of this chain before but was pleasantly surprised. From the outside it looks like an older "resort-style" hotel. The property was clean, which was a thumbs up right from the start. The room was also clean, spacious and nicely furnished with 2 beds and nicely quiet. Free wireless was a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0r1H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHCC, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We truly value you patronage, and take great pride in the overall experience a guest has when visiting us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon - until then - safe travels

Ian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
300 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Great location, very nice rooms w/wonderful beds, nice amenities. Pleasant check-in. Nonsmoking hotel, but loud cigar smoking party on the first floor ruined my second floor balcony experience, and I could also hear them over the TV with the door closed. Kids running up and down the hall slamming doors all night didn't add to the ambiance either. Checkout was poor in that they did not acknowledge me when I walked up (too busy having a conversation) and the only interchange I got is "looks like you're good to go" after I said I was checking out and the room #. I gave them my comment card and told them the toilet was leaking from the base that they might want to look at. No thank you, no follow up, nothing. I'd also asked the night before for a one hour late checkout and even though I'm a Red Lion awards member, I was not accommodated, and from the looks of it, they were not full that night. For as nice a property as it is, I expected a little more. Perhaps they can work on a few things.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldanse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHCC, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do apologize for the issues you had when you were here - your comments are very important to us and have been addressed already.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Hanford House - it really is a great location.


Ian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

It is 2:35 in the morning. I tried to contact the front desk for over ten minutes to make a noise complaint for which I had to eventually talk to the other room. Horrible. Since they are still loud I am on the phone again... it is ringing...three minutes and I eventually got someone to pick up.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank want2sleeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHCC, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review regarding your stay with us. I am very sorry that it was not as comfortable as you would have expected. I have informed my management team so this does not happen again .
We strive for excellence at the Red Lion and would love to see you back here for a visit... a chance to redeem ourselves.

Until then - safe travels.

Ian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Great Place to stay while in the tri-cities. Right next to the Columbia River, Rooms are nice, pool area great, restaurant with great food. We will definitely stay here again if we come back to Richland. We were here for my daughters fastpitch tournament and it is great to have a comfortable place to stay and clean and nice after being in the hot sun all day. Did I mention the beds are the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on!

  • Liked — The mattresses
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hondariders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHCC, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! We certainly do appreciate the business we receive, but more importantly we enjoy the relationships that are created when we have a guest stay in our home!

Our hotel credo is Arrive as Guests, Leave as Family. We strive to create that homey feeling for everyone, and it sounds like we hit the mark with you!

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!

Ian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
remond wa
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2008

I agree with the last guy, only good with the Price line rate. And the other guy, "you can't cover age with paint". It's an older place, and a little rusty if you look too close. The room was clean, beds ok. Only major problem was that the AC in the room was broken, so it got rather warm at night, and the ground floor window is a patio door, so you can't keep that open all night. Check in was easy, and the front desk guy recomended a great place for dinner, Atomic Ale brewery just a short drive away.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ludechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richland hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Richland / Tri-Cities
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Richland
0.6 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel Richland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Richland Columbia Point
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Richland
1.1 mi away
M Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House

Property: Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House
Address: 802 George Washington Way, Richland, WA 99352-3538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tri-Cities > Richland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Richland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House in Richland Washington is located right on the scenic Columbia River, 10 minutes from the Tri-cities Airport via our complimentary airport transportation. On downtown Richland's main arterial, the hotel offers convenient access to the Hanford Nuclear Reservation and all of the businesses located there including Battelle, Energy Northwest, Bechtel, Framatone, and HAMMER.Our 149 spacious guest rooms, including seven suites, feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel, including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, telephone dataports and room service. We also have laundry and valet services and a fully equipped business center.For fun and relaxation, enjoy our outdoor pool and whirlpool or work out in our fitness center. Nearby you'll find Howard Amon Park with a 7-mile path along the river for walking or jogging. Golf, tennis, boat rentals and shopping are close by as are some of the area's 20 wineries and the Columbia River Exhibition of History, Science & Technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Richland Hanford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Richland
Richland Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing