We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”
Review of Monterosso's

Monterosso's
Ranked #7 of 171 Restaurants in Richland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We loved the atmosphere of an old train dining car. The pasta dishes were just right. Several of us had salmon and seafood dishes - portions were perfect and presented well. We got there just before 6 pm which seemed to be the right time before the crowd showed up.

Server was quick and professional. Take a look at the picture of a similar vintage dining/parlor car on the wall near entrance to kitchen. Also, consider taking AMTRAK and try a weekend trip from the new Pasco railroad station. On the real train you can watch the countryside roll by while eating (although the food won't be as good as Monterosso's).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    35
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Confusion in the Kitchen!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This restaurant is situated in an old rail car. The atmosphere is nice; the setting potentially intimate. The problems seem to be either inexperienced servers or a very confused kitchen team; possibly both. Our reservations resulted in prompt seating. Unfortunately, our orders kept getting confused. The wrong dishes then the right dish with the wrong accompaniments. Dishes served at three different times to each of us which meant that two waited for the fourth dish to be served (a second try for two of the three dishes). Additionally, while virtually empty, it was rush, rush, rush on the part of the server creating an atmosphere that reminded me of a fast food restaurant versus the upscale restaurant reflected in the prices charged. This is not a location that I would visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale26589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richland, wa
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Set in a former railway dining car, you cannot beat the atmosphere/setting. The food and wine are first rate as well. Make a reservation, because seating is limited.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank teresa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice food, great people, beautiful atmosphere”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My girlfriends brought me here from out of town for my birthday dinner. We had a late night reservation, and the staff really went out of their way to make it a special occasion. The food was nice and even more importantly, the service was excellent. The chef and the waitress both came out to present our food and wish me a happy birthday. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“excellent dinner”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Really neat diner in a ( railway car) diner. Good service and food in a unique setting. Would definitely go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterosso's also viewed

 

Been to Monterosso's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing