We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Undiscovered" new Fine Dining in Richland, WA: J Bookwalter Winery”
Review of Bookwalter Winery

Bookwalter Winery
Ranked #8 of 171 Restaurants in Richland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Join us for lunch, dinner, or Sunday brunch! J. Bookwalter specializes in producing some of Washington’s finest wines through meticulous winemaking and exceptional vineyard sources. The winery’s tasting room in Richland includes a full-service restaurant, Fiction, and was named one of the best tasting rooms in the United States by Sunset magazine. Fiction serves lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch featuring local ingredient-driven dishes such as wild Pacific halibut, Snake River Waygu beef strip loin and Draper Valley chicken and mushrooms. Live music sets the soundtrack several nights per week at the restaurant and winery.
Richland, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“"Undiscovered" new Fine Dining in Richland, WA: J Bookwalter Winery”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We recently (March 2013) got a discount coupon in the mail for dining at Bookwalter Winery, and were quite surprised, as we didn't even know they now have a restaurant. So... not being one to pass up a bargain, we had had dinner (on a Friday) and the place was PACKED. Though not huge seating areas (reservations probably a good idea on week-ends), we did get seated right away and were amazed at the fairly extensive menu. Top quality beef and pork ("wagyu", I believe -- the new Kobe?).

The dinner was supurb, service great, and prices actually reasonable for such gourmet food. Thoroughly enjoyed the meal/experience so much we went back the following Sunday for a leisurely lunch, which also didn't disappoint.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pdelucchi1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    46
    16
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Pasco, wa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere for most occassions”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have gone for after work social time, girls nights, and dinner with family / friends / fiance multiple times. Each time is a fantastic experience. Great service, food, and wine. I personnally recommend the rib eye steak with the truffle sides for dinner.

My favorite time to go is after work for social time. Great outdoor sitting area, bocci ball courts available, great sounds and set up for people to talk.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WLKAPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, WA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great ambience at Bookwalter”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in for dinner, wine and to hear the music on Friday Feb 1st. Great ambience and excellent food. Bookwalter has perfected their formula.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RLFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
547 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere for just wine or dinner”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here for my birthday a couple of days ago.
The atmosphere is outstanding. Since it is a Winery they specialize in wines but there dinner menu is excellent as well.

I had the New York Steak ( small portion - but large enough if having it with some wine and other foods.) it came with some delicious mashed potatoes - not sure how they where prepared but it was delicious.

My wife had the Kurobuta Pork Loin

We had some Riesling - very light

We also had a cheese plate with some bread

Food was presented very well and we left satisfied but not too full.

Our total bill before tip was $66.60

They have seating outside, if you come in the spring or summer it would be great to wine and dine out on the patio.

www.bookwalterwines.com

It is located off of South Queensgate off the highway in Richland

I would recommend this for a romantic dinner or dinning with a group.

Make sure to make reservations if you have a party of 4 or more.

They have live music - check website or call to see what nights they have it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bookwalter Winery also viewed

Richland, Tri-Cities
Richland, Tri-Cities
 

Been to Bookwalter Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing