We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B Reactor Tour”

Hanford Nuclear Reservation
Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Richland
Certificate of Excellence
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“B Reactor Tour”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The technology, historical names, cold war happenings: they are all here. There is 2 great brew pubs and an excellent winery within 100 feet of the B reactor tour starting point. All have excellent food and craft beers. Ethos Bakery is also next door to the starting point. It has artisimal baked goods and pizza to die for.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Owen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    22
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“not my thing but...”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Everyone loves this and tours to the site sell out within hours. It is worth the time spent to find out about the area. Our Visitors and Convention Bureau is great and they would be happy to help

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sondra62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“September 13; last tour of Season; B reactor”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I drove 3 hrs from Seattle, hoping the trip would be worth it. It was. The big plus to this visit was the incredible proximity you get to a former reactor plus the very intelligent commentary the tour guides provide. And its all free.

I signed up the prior March 2, just minutes after the web reservations system opened. On the day of our tour (the 1130 slot) i arrived as needed at 11am. But we almost had trouble; the Web allowed for up to 1 hr prior edits to your list of attendees....but the check in lady had no internet and was using 3 day old forms. Somehow i convinced her (she was pretty mellow) that the name on her sheet was replaced by the friend i brought.

Beyond that minor gotcha the day was awesome; the bus departed pretty quickly (only a 10 min boring video, at most) and we drove about 45 min north to the B reactor. On this trip you can take cameras and unlimited photos. The disadvantage is we didn't see much of the inside of the nuclear reservation (its 20 miles x 30 miles, and the reactor we saw was very close to the NW corner.

I"m told it gets hot inside in the summer (no AC) but our day was 65 and so we were ok. We had almost 2 hrs of very interesting tours and then 30 min of pure free time to check things out.

We started at 1130 and by bus were back at the visitors center by about 4pm. I knew little about the history of plutonium and the site; now i have a pretty decent grasp at least of the Manhattan project (hanford being the main producer of the plutonium used in the bombs).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
461 reviews
279 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Fascinating bit of history”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I grew up here and Hanford was a big secret in the 50s. Our dads worked there but no one knew what they did. Interesting to see for the first time in 50 years

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank garlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bonneville, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

So much has happened here, is worth a visit to see the before and afters.The area is being cleaned and hopefully will be safe, time will tell.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank marijd406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanford Nuclear Reservation also viewed

 

Been to Hanford Nuclear Reservation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing