We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Small-Town Meaty Goodness!”

Freckles' Gourmet BBQ
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Republic
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Friendly, casual atmosphere with great food made from scratch. We feature daily chef's specials in addition to our regular menu. We serve a variety of beer and wine, including two selections on tap from our neighbor, the Republic Brewing Company.
Republic, Washington
Level Contributor
141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Small-Town Meaty Goodness!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you like a gut-busting burger or any other kind of meaty repast, then you'll probably like this place. Conveniently located in the middle of town, walking distance from any of the three hotels and best next door to the fabulous brew pub, Freckles' Gourmet serves a compendium of meaty sandwiches. They have other things, too, like fish and chips, but meat seems to be the thing they do best and really enjoy. They also have a small bar where you can have a glass of wine while you wait for breakfast, lunch or dinner, but their main focus is the food. They serve a mean (did I mention meaty?) breakfast burrito as well as standard diner fare for breakfast. They were open 7 days a week, with limited hours on Sunday, but check before you go. This is a fun stop while doing a weekend trip either to or through Republic. Fun staff. Atmosphere is dinerish. Average lunch (plentiful food) is around $12 with a drink. You can also order food and either pick it up yourself to take next door to the brew pub, or have it delivered.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julian09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Alabama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“They use FRESH, "Real" ingredients”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Early morning...town looking kind of empty..stop some folks on street ask where to eat...they say turn around go back a couple blocks...I say nothing this way...they give "the LOOK" so I say got it..wow they were soooo right. Awesome omelet, awesome coffee, very busy (with locals...always a good sign). Prices very fair...YEP give this place a go...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravelerRoatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow yum!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

First bite confirmed perfection on my Swiss and mushroom burger.
Just go there and you will know!
Went here for lunch and was happy to see a newly met local there. When you find a local gem, the locals eat there.
Great food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mucklevinedresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
417 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Good breakfast and excellent service”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were in Republic with two other couples. Came here for breakfast. The food was excellent (six people - five different choices). Everyone enjoyed the food. It is not cheap but worth the money. The waitress was very friendly and efficient. She did say that all the foods are made "in-house" and they certainly tasted like it.

We did not try any other meals here and wish we had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great, local food”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We came here for breakfast in August. The waitress was very friendly and attentive. Our table ordered pancakes, bacon and the breakfast burrito. All of the food was a big hit. The bacon is especially amazing!! My kids loved the pancakes. The breakfast burrito was good but tasted a bit bland. The didn't serve salsa on the side, which was a bite odd. But, this is a great place and I wouldn't hesitate to go back again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeckyInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freckles' Gourmet BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing