We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small town motel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Republic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Republic B&B and Inns
Winnabow, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small town motel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spent two nights in Republic during travel in eastern Washington. Older motel with 2 floors. Completely full both nights we were there. Rooms are smaller than newer hotels and furnishings need to be upgraded, as they appear old and well used. Room was very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. No breakfast, but the bakery next door to the motel office is excellent for breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    27
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
27
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This cute and clean motel is a great place to stay. We got in late but still had a chance to speak with one of the motel owners. It was an informative discussion about the area and they maintain their motel in tiptop condition. Our bed was comfortable, and the room was clean and quiet. We stayed on a Saturday night and left on Sunday morning. It cost us $80, but when we've traveled in Spokane, Couer d'Alene and Boise, we've never paid less than $90 a night and as much as $150, so $80 seems reasonable. The restaurant on the east side of town that is part of the Exxon (well, it's on the corner road that leads to Curlew) has the best breakfast for a great price! The locals all go there!

Room Tip: Recommend you ask for an upper floor room for a view of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very clean and well maintained. Friendly and helpful staff. Our room was basic but comfortable. I'd give 5 stars but the $90 price for a queen bed room seemed a little steep. On the other hand, this is Republic where the lodging options are slim. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My dog and I stayed in room 8 before and after the both of us were rescued from a botched trip to Snow Peak Cabin in April, 2013. The hotel had everything we needed. Restaurants and a grocery store were within walking distance. Gas stations were nearby also. Our two-bed room cost $79 and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was across from the vending machine, which could make some noise on a busy night. But it di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Visiting family; and checked into the historic/modern Northern Inn. Very welcoming and congenial person at front desk, room was large, clean, tidy, and quiet. Met family members for great beer and conversation at the Republic Brewpub in the evening and in the morning woke to walk around the town. Coffee was available in lobby from 6am onwards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We attempted to book a room there in person, but was told by the owner that the only rooms she had available were suites going for $179 a night. Looks like an adorable, unique motel, but certainly not worth that amount. Less than 30 mins later, I asked my friend to call her (since see had already spoken with me) to see what the rates were - just felt that something wasn't right - & he was told $89 a night. He then asked if it was just one room at that rate & was told that there were a few avaiable. Now I can slightly see the possibility of one room opening due to a cancellation, but a few? We're the exact opposite of the rough biker, punk crowd so all I can think is that she saw "upscale" & thought she should raise her rates . . . We decided to drive 45 mins to another area that we knew had many reputable places to choose from.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JuneOlympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed there in mid October. It was VERY clean and a very well maintained property. We had no idea that we would find a place this nice in lovely, out of the way Republic.
The staff was more than nice and very accommodating ( it may be the water, as all the people we met in this town had the same affliction). Outstanding value!

Room Tip: We stayed in 109 (?), on the second floor. It was quiet and very conveniently accessed via a short f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brucehelm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Republic hotels
0.3 mi away
Klondike Motel
Klondike Motel
#2 of 6 in Republic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
4.0 mi away
Winchester RV Park & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Inn

Property: Northern Inn
Address: 852 S Clark Ave, Republic, WA 99166-8776
Location: United States > Washington > Republic
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Republic
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Northern Hotel Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing