We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventurous but not too adventurous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Afghan Cuisine - CLOSED

Afghan Cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Adventurous but not too adventurous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is to my knowledge the first Afghan restaurant in Renton, and I'd have to think one of a small number in the Seattle area. If you're looking for something different but not too different, Afghan food is a good choice. It has similarities to both Middle Eastern food and Indian food. But most everyone will find something that they like here. Especially good were the stewed lamb and also lamb kebabs. They have an Afghan chai tea, and Afghan dumplings whose name I forget. Anyway it was all good, the service was very good, and how often do you get a chance to eat Afghan food?

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mkt_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
516 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Tasty food, friendly owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was our first visit to an Afghan restaurant. The menu was more reminiscent of an Indian restaurant than we expected. We were not disappointed, however, as the food was delicious. The owner was friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very clean. They do have vegetarian options but limited choices for a vegan diet.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kupunakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good mediterrian food, have vegeterian options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Friendly service and nice food. They have good vegetarian options and great tasting food. They listen to you and explain the dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kdayalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle wa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum Yum Delicious Afghan Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I got dinner to go... Had the Qabuli Pallow and Borani Kachula: Wow! Very good. Lots of flavor. The lamb just fell off the shank. Potatoes were excellent. Will return soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happysack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing