We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fitting Memorial”

Jimi Hendrix Grave Site
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Renton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fitting Memorial”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stopped by early one morning on route from downtown Seattle to Mt Rainier. Was easy to find and really not out of the way. Simple cemetery with the large memorial to Hendrix in the middle. People leave items inside the memorial including guitar picks, joints, condoms. It seems to be very well maintained and there was a women there early that morning dusting and cleaning everything. I think she does it as an act of homage as she looked to be left over from the 60's. Two young guys were sitting in the memorial paying homage in their own manner that involved marijuana. Happy I stopped by, well worth the visit and would go as far to say as a must visit for rock n roll fans.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stratsnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    69
    19
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Serene”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I went on a very light day, there were only two 'street kids' hanging around and only two other people there paying there respects. It is a very clean and well maintained memorial to a great rock icon. Note: ladies wear a bright lipstick if you're brave enough to kiss the marble.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Elegant tribute to a legend of music”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

As you can see in the pictures, the grave is at the center of a chapel-like structure, with 3 walls adorned with drawing depicting Jimi and some of his songs lyrics.

Fans leave bottles of beer, marijuana cigarettes, even condoms, I guess true rockers had different ways of paying their respects to their idols. Neverthless this is a place to leave not only Jimi's, but his family members remains to rest, it has a good vibe, you can feel the admiration for what this guitar player achieved in music and the influence he had on so many musicians, even decades after his death.

Greenwood Memorial Park is also a nice place, feels almost like a regular park with all the vegetation, soft grass, pine trees, some flowers here and there.

It is a quick visit, well worth the ride to Renton, if you happen to be in Seattle area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BrunoLonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A memorial fit for Jimi”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I moved to Renton in the 90's. When I visited Greenwood Jimi had a simple headstone that was regularly stolen. There would usually be young people there leaving incense and flowers. It wasn't very uplifting. A few years ago his sister has a very beautiful memorial built for him and it is wonderful! It is a little out of your way, but if you love Jimi it is worth it big time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 972SandraM972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Jimi and Family Remembered”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have had the chance of stopping in on the grave site numerous times with out of town friends. Very seldom are you alone there, most of the time some younger kids with guitars are sitting around playing some of Jimi's songs. I have run into people of all ages and spend time chatting with them. I was fortunate to have seen Jimi back in the 60's and share this with the visitors at the grave. Someone poured kind of Purple Dye on the base of Jimi's headstone when the memorial was moved to it's current location and it is a fitting color, kind of a Purple Haze.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cdseil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimi Hendrix Grave Site also viewed

 

Been to Jimi Hendrix Grave Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing