We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect meal before heading to the airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivar's Seafood Bar

Ivar's Seafood Bar
Ranked #25 of 303 Restaurants in Renton
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect meal before heading to the airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We had a few hours to kill before our departure & wanted to be in a scenic location within 15 mins driving distance to sea-tac. Our last meal in Seattle was at the location. We had the halibut & chips and the kids had chicken strips & chip. It was the perfect meal before heading to the airport. Food & service was excellent. My daughter got a strawberry milkshake at Kidd valley which was made with real strawberries. Loved our time at this location. I highly recommend it for those waiting to head to the airport...,perfect detour!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bamboo222SanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    25
    10
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Frisco
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a great place to have dinner. You are in a great park on the water and the atmosphere is great. The food was ok and no complaints. The location more than made up for the average food. Recommend going just for the experience and a chance to walk in the park and along the water's edge.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Seattle institution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

What is not to like, this place is great and should be visited ever time you are in town.Fresh fish and friendly service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_REL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great place for fish and a great view!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Not just another fast food restaurant, this location has a fantastic view as well!!! Food is served quickly, hot and tastes great!!! Would highly recommend for lunch or dinner!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kylechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, WA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“In the heart of Gene Coulon Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Fish and chips are in abundance in the Seattle area. As long time residents we have our favorite place in the Alki area, and haven't visited Ivar's in some years. A birthday gathering for several couples brought us to the Seafood Bar at Gene Coulon Park. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the fish. The coating was crisp, and the fish well cooked but not mushy. Ordering at one of the Ivar's Seafood Bars is an experience for a first time customer.. Employees are unflustered by lines, and a worker will make eye contact and ask what they can get started for you. All they want at this point is your cooked order. Sides of coleslaw or shrimp cocktail are added on when you reach the head of the line. I also ordered a shrimp cocktail and it was good sized, tangy and had plenty of shrimp in addition to the celery. We can heartily recommend this place to visitors and locals when they visit the lovely Park. Plenty of outside seating if weather permits, or inside surrounded by windows to enjoy the views of the lake.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Head-mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivar's Seafood Bar also viewed

 

Been to Ivar's Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing