We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Italian-style dishes, bustling establishment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marianna Ristorante

Marianna Ristorante
Ranked #20 of 303 Restaurants in Renton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: South 3rd street
Seattle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian-style dishes, bustling establishment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Food was delicious, and for this reason alone we will return. My husband had the prime rib special which was succulent and perfectly cooked but much more expensive than the menu items. My daughter and I enjoyed pasta dishes that were divine - next time I will order her bowtie pasta with smoked salmon, very rich flavors. The pasta in both dishes was perfectly cooked, not mushy. We made online reservations and were seated quickly despite the busy, noisy atmosphere. Our table next to the window was quite chilly. Unfortunately the service was S-L-O-W on this busy Friday night. We waited a long fifteen minutes for the waiter to first approach our table, and the food arrived a full hour after we were seated. The waitstaff was courteous, and apologized for being short-staffed in the kitchen that night, and brought a complimentary dessert to our table. The bus boy was noticeably polite and attentive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maple81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    9
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better than we thought...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The reviews were mixed with the food and the service. We made our reservation through Urbanspoon, so we did not have an issue with waiting for a table or our food. Service was attentive and not obtrusive. It was my first time eating here. The menu specialized in Italian cuisine, but we chose an item from the house specials which was the halibut. We passed on the appetizers, they gave us some dry tasting bread to dip in olive oil and herbs.
Our entree arrived within 15 minutes after we order, the halibut was perfectly pan seared and moist, over a bed of squash puree with olive oil with basil infused oil, puddles of blueberry compote and topped with micro greens tossed in a thyme vinaigrette.
With the small entree, we were able to partake in dessert, we order a strawberry galetto and the house tiramisu. Both were good size desserts, we had to box up the tiramisu for home because we were only able to finish the galetto. Good tiramisu and the strawberry gelato was refreshing served in a tuile bowl, with mounds of strawberry jam.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveGoestbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Bad service mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We've been here 3 or 4 times. It was good and local. But this most recent time - we will not be back. The wait staff almost outnumbered the patrons yet we were ignored. Waiters were too busy talking to each other.
The pizzas are good, thin crust baked in a brick oven. But they sat around so long they were hardly warm when we received them.
Their Italian sausage is wonderful but that can't be the only outstanding thing to bring me back.

It has great potential but unless they get their act together...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Italian done right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This ristorante in the heart of downtown Renton is a highlight of dining in this town! There is some fun background to the origins and evolution of this establishment including the name of the place being the owner's mother's name. The gentleman who runs the place knows what he is doing and has surrounded himself with excellent and knowledgeable staff. My wife and I have eaten here many times, and we will ALWAYS come back as often as possible.
I read some of the other reviews and they are all spot on! Including the awesome bar! Check this place out and ask for Santiago.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dlphi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
187 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“great place and reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We thought of trying something new and decided to buy a groupon for Marianna's. We usually go to the place in Crossroads (somehow the owner here and the one in Crossroads must be related or friends? they have the same picutres on the wall?) and we wanted to give his new place a try. The decor is a lot nicer (probably also newer), very bright and nicely done.

The staff seems to be a bit disorganized, they were totally chaotic even though not a lot of tables were taken? They mixed up the orders of the table next to us, my husbands food came 10min earlier than mine, we had to ask twice for bread to go with our salad and the drink came wrong. Definilty no high grades for good service, but we are here to eat, so as long as the food is worth the chaos, we can live with that. :-)

We ordered one pizza and one pasta dish to try and the pizza was delicious, they had real nice italian salami on it and it tasted amazing. Once my pasta dish arrived, I had to share it with my husband, since he loved it even more than his pizza.

Prices are fairly reasonable and we will be back soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marianna Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing