We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of help....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center-Seattle-Renton
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Renton
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In need of help....”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We are so thankful that we only needed to stay 1 night. The rooms are old and are in need of being updated. This was one of the worst night sleep we have had in a LONG time. The door had a gap around so big you could hear EVERYTHING, it appeared to be light coming in the room from the hall way. I was NOT about to take a shower as it was so old and the grout looked filthy....the bathroom was so small. Sorry, but we will NEVER be back...not sure why anyone would give this a good rating. If I had known I would of never booked this...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen5fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradKnutson, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center-Seattle-Renton, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Feedback is good even when its not pretty! Thanks for taking the time. We will be renovating the first phase of rooms very soon. New wall vinyl, carpeting, bathroom upgrades and more is on the scope for improvement.

I appreciate your disappointment and I apologize for the experience. We have a very good housekeeping and engineering team and will be aggressively taking care of this particular bathroom. I believe it to be out of the ordinary.

I would love the opportunity to speak with me as we would like to have more details as well as do something for you. We care greatly about your experience and would like to discuss further. Thank you again for making the time. The hotel phone number is 425-226-7700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    103
    112
    66
    67
See reviews for
95
100
58
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed at this property multiple times (at least 5 times) for business. It is what it is. Typical Holiday Inn type property that is old...As I have stated before I believe the staff is doing a bang up job keeping this property in functional shape.

The Good:
1. Check in was easy and efficient. Cher the front desk manager is outstanding at what she does. Liked that I was recognized as a priority club member..nice touch.Original room I was assigned has some issues (more on that later) and she quickly assigned me to a new room. Polite, without hesitation, no questions, just did it.
2. They have finally upgraded their rooms with flat screen TV"s...that was a nice addition and overdue...thanks for that.
3. Pillow menu was a bonus and appreciated
4. The people that work here are doing what they can. Its an older property, can't change that. From the front desk, the maintenance folks, they are all doing a good job.
The Bad:
1. Original room I was assigned has a toilet that leaked the first time I flushed it. Did not want to deal with that for my trip.
2. Checked in late and was assigned a room with two queen beds...I know that supplies are limited but would have preferred a King...maybe I forgot to specify that in the reservation
3. Parking is tight.. may have been a ton of park, stay and fly folks but had to park by the "evergreen" building that says parking for evergreen building only...asked at the front desk and was assured it was ok to park there..perhaps some signage that says its ok for hotel guests as well would be in order?
4. The hotel is old...from the get go with the directions "please use your key slowly in the door slot" to the scratches on the door, and repairs throughout its just plain tired.
5. If you don't have a room in the Tower, be prepared for some noise. Those rooms are newer and the sound proofing a bit better, but don't know by how much. Last two times here have been assigned a room in the smaller three story building. This time was in a room on the far North end, but facing the parking lot. However, still heard the constant grind of trucks and cars on I-405 all night....I'm not a great hotel sleeper to begin with, but this was for sure the worst I have slept at this property...Make sure you get a room that faces the pool in the old building or Grady way/parking lot in the tower if you are a light sleeper.

I give this hotel three stars because of the people and the effort they are making..Not much you can do about this older property....Thank you for the efforts of the employees. I'm sure I'll be back, but only because that's where my business meeting is at. Remember folks, you get what you pay for....if you pay average prices, you get average (at least for the building), way above average for the staff!

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the freeway....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradKnutson, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center-Seattle-Renton, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for the detailed feedback. The staff is our strongest and best asset and am extremely proud of them. Thank you for your comments.

We will have the opportunity to upgrade the rooms in the next couple of months. We will be changing out wall vinyl, carpet and upgrade the bathrooms and more. Thank you for your business and the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We parked our car for two weeks and stayed over one night before driving home. The front desk staff was attentive and friendly. The shuttle to and from SeaTac was prompt and efficient - even at 11:30 at night. The buffet breakfast was excellent. The building is older but the lobby and room had recent upgrades. Good value for the money and I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradKnutson, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center-Seattle-Renton, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback. We do a lot of business with people flying in and out of the airport. Keep us in mind for your future trips as well. Our location is convenient to a variety of areas and destinations around the Seattle area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you need airport parking for more than a few days, this hotel is a great choice. We booked this hotel for a 2 week trip out of Seattle. I was looking at various park and fly options when I found this hotel. The park and fly rate was quite inexpensive, and for a 2 week trip, was pretty much free after we factored in parking.

The hotel is about 10 minutes away from the airport and has a shuttle bus that runs every 30 minutes. The pool was closed, but we enjoyed the hot tub. In-room wifi worked well and was free! Also, for families, you'll be happy to know that kids eat free in the restaurant attached to the hotel. Overall, our stay was fantastic.

The hotel itself was pretty basic, but we were only there for 1 night. My compliments to the friendly staff and shuttle driver.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradKnutson, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center-Seattle-Renton, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for your comments and feedback. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
451 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice room, older but well kept and clean.
Temperature controls are saddly lacking and may not please a lot of people. The instructions say that if the room is too warm open a window and if too cool there is an extra blanket.
On our most recent stay the room was too warm for sleeping so we opened a window and it helped a little (our room was on the north side) but if you face the freeway it could be noisy.
We have stayed here a few times, for the free parking and great shuttle to SEA airport, on holidays and never had a problem.
The front desk is very helpful.

Room Tip: the north side is a lot quieter even if you overlook the roof of the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerleg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradKnutson, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center-Seattle-Renton, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We appreciate the feedback. We have two sections of the hotel and the one you were in has a 2-pipe system, which means it is difficult for the hotel to switch back and forth between heat and cooling. The lack of control can be frustrating. I apologize and have the ability to place you in a different section.

Thank you for your comments about the front desk staff. We have a great team and are proud of them. Thank you again for your thoughts. They are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lakewood
Level Contributor
144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed here before since it is close to SeaTac Airport and they have a shuttle with a park/sleep/fly option. Parking is only $5 a night beyond the nights you stay at the hotel. The front desk was extremely friendly on check-in and check-out. When we entered our room there was a look of a lack of maintenance or unprofessional maintenance. It seems like the people conducting maintenance are trying, but really do not know how to properly do it. An example was the security lock on the door. It had a block of cracked wood that it was attached to. The shower head was attached crookedly and leaked most of the water to the side of it.The lobby bathroom had loose faucets. The pool was full of debris - I assume it was closed. The shuttle van had a oil change light on and a low tire warning. It was just a lot of little things, seemingly petty, but made me wonder about the overall maintenance of the facility. The restaurant attached to the hotel was excellent and they have a friendly bar staff. The price was very reasonable but we probably select a different property next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Special
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradKnutson, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center-Seattle-Renton, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Its very important to me. You make great observations and myself and the team are committed to improving. I agree with you that the details are critical. Thanks again for sharing your observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed here in July on my birthday. The room was chilly and blowing cold air for heat(AC). When I arrived it looked out a place as if someone just hopped out of bed. I suffered the whole night in that ICE COLD room. It was late and no one could do anything about it. When I notified the front desk the girl who was trying hard to be helpful explained the wiring system and some story about the heat not working on certian sides in the building. She offered complementy breakfest and I called the Manager Amber Thompson and told her my experience. There was a bucket list of what was wrong that I'm not even covering in this review and those things I would let slide. The main problem was the heat not working. It was prob better to sleep in my car! Within the week she got back to me and ask if I wanted a refund. They credit my account and she offered me a complementy night so they can show me a better experience. I accepted but wanted to make sure the room "They complementy give me" had a working heater! not just AC! and had Housekeeping done! To make a long story short she never mailed me the complementy voucher. I followed up with her in September and told her I still haven't recieved it.She said she mailed it out in July. I verified my address again and It all sounded good like she was listening and cared. Till this day no follow up or no voucher. I don't even think they have enough rooms with Heat in them. This isn't my last resort hotel and def not my 2nd thought. They don't even have anything on a 2* hotel.No intergrity.No heat.Only Personas. Inauthentic concern and Alaska weatherd rooms.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, Make sure you especially request a room that has a heater that emits...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center-Seattle-Renton, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Emily P,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Renton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renton
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle/Renton
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 11 in Renton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Seattle South/Renton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Larkspur Landing Renton
1.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#7 of 11 in Renton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Seattle/Southcenter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center-Seattle-Renton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center-Seattle-Renton

Property: Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center-Seattle-Renton
Address: 1 S Grady Way, Renton, WA 98057-2500 (Formerly Rainier Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Renton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Renton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center-Seattle-Renton 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located convenient to Sea-Tac Airport, Bellvue, and downtown Seattle. Experienced and friendly staff eager to assist in making your stay at the Rainier Hotel and Conference Center one to remember. The Yankee Grill is located off the lobby, and is one of the areas best dining venues; serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner with a variety of handmade, delicious, creations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center-Seattle-Renton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Seattle-Renton Hotel Renton
Holiday Inn Renton
Renton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing