We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Accommodations, Great Prices, Excellent Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Renton
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Accommodations, Great Prices, Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had reservations for a Thanksgiving weekend stay to see family but when dad had a major stroke two days befote our arrival we suddenly HAD to find a place to stay earlier than expected.

It only took one phone call to the hotel and we were set for that very night and through our planned stay. Thanksgiving was a bust but the staff at the hotel made what was an horrific life event more bearable by offering us compassionate, superlative service.

The room was quite comfortable and only a bit dated. Ours was an accessible room with a king bed. I was surprised to see a standard toilet in the bathroom rather than a chair-height, lengthened-bowl commode. While the "loo" was not an issue for us I can see where it might be for someone more disabled than me.

The room did have a nice, new flat screen TV and the free wifi was appreciated, too. The bed was comfortable if a little soft.

Overall, removing the emotional family tragedy, this was a great stay and we'll definitely return. Many thanks to the staff, too!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meixman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    61
    39
    22
    17
See reviews for
69
58
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Very good value for money. I will stay again here for my next visit. Not the fanciest but clean and everything we needed. Front desk staff were nice to chat with and very helpful. I did use the free shuttle to airport and had a time of 9 am to leave for airport and left right on time, did not wait at all.
Breakfast was decent and always had coffee in lobby. Also put out cookies in the evening.
Internet worked fine.
There is also a movie theatre across the street that has $3.00 shows.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookieburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed at the Clarion Hotel in September (2011) while renovations were underway. The hotel room was adequate - but everything about the place was barely adequate.

Pros: Decent breakfast in good sized breakfast room. Refrigerator and microwave in the room. Good guest coin laundry. Helpful, friendly, if somewhat unprofessional desk staff. Maid service was fine. Restaurant next door and other restaurants and convenience stores just a couple of blocks away. Free wifi.

Cons: Some distance from the airport so one will probably have to wait awhile for the shuttle. The property is aging despite the recent improvements.

Got the hotel on Hotwire for a reasonable price, so one can't really complain at that price level.

Room Tip: Select a room in the middle of the building on the north side - away from the freeway and the avenue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfPass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Mare
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

When you're dealing with your parents that are in town, it can be very stressful especially catering to their needs. I had them stay here at Clarion in Renton and everything worked out smoothly cause not only was the hotel in great shape, they had great customer service and were very attentive to their needs. Would recommend it if you're looking for a hotel with clean rooms and friendly service!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francismwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

I saw the reviews for this Clarion Hotel on Trip Advisor & decided to make a reservation. I needed something close to the insane SeaTac airport. Always have to arrive 2+ hrs at the least before a flight b/c of the insane lines for Delta & security!!!!

The hotel had a nice lobby & breakfast room. The decor is pretty ugly & depressing but it was clean. Paid $80./night.

The room had 2 Queen beds. Gotta say the beds were VERY, INCREDIBLY COMFORTABLE!!! I was dreading a 5 hr flght the next day but the bed sure was great for the night before the flight. Sooo cozy~

The location wasn't the greatest with a Bar & Grill on one side, a big Harley Davidson store across the street and LOTS of traffic. There's a Starbucks down the street as you head out to get on 167.

Curtains were great to keep all the light out & there was lots of light all around the building,

Just did not like the decor in the halls. Not appealing at all. But I did get a good nights sleep - that's what counts most!

Breakfast had a good variety with muffins, fruit, cereals, waffles, grits, gravy & sausage, coffee, tea, juices, etc.

Room Tip: The top floor was quiet. Don't know what the lower floor was like for the noise factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank satique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA state
Level Contributor
72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here one night prior to a flight to Europe and one night when we returned from Europe. Had to wait 45 minutes for a pick-up at the airport after arriving by lightrail on the preflight night and waited 30 minutes for a pickup on the postflight night.....plus 25-30 minutes to get to the facility. Although we selected this Rention location, rather than the airport Clarion, because of the better ratings, it was not worth the long waits.

The facility has friendly staff and seemed like a typical low- to mid-priced hotel that was clean. The bed was too soft, however, and the bed top cover is a heavy tailored spread that is very uncomfortable to sleep under (so we took it off for the night). I suggest these types of covers be replaced with a comforter-style covering. Also, the sink was in the sleeping room, not the bathroom...which is disturbing during the night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because we arrived at 11:00 pm at Sea-Tac on a flight from the East Coast. My husband had set us up with a rental car from a Renton location on the next day. That was a way to save money by avoiding starting the rental from the airport. Thus, we needed accommodations for the 2 of us and our 2 teenaged sons for that night.
The Clarion fit our needs quite well. It surely was not fancy, but the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The staff at the hotel were pleasant as well.
We had to wait about 10-15 minutes or so from the time that we called for the van to pick us up from the airport. However, the young man driving the van was very friendly and agreeable. We were hungry because we had missed dinner with there being no food offered on our flight. He took us to the local 7-11 on the way back to the hotel, so we could at least buy something to tide us over until morning.
Breakfast was included with our room rate. It was the usual type of breakfast that one gets at this level of hotel. There were adequate amounts of food, but the quality of the breakfast food was mediocre. However, since the rate for the room was competitive, we were not disappointed in any way.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renton
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 10 in Renton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle/Renton
1.2 mi away
Larkspur Landing Renton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Seattle South/Renton
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Seattle/Southcenter
1.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center-Seattle-Renton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 3700 E Valley Road, Renton, WA 98055 (Formerly Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Renton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Renton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel® is ideally located just minutes from many Seattle attractions and local points of interest. This Renton, WA hotel is close to the Valley Medical Center, The Museum of Flight, Pacific Raceways racetrack, downtown Seattle, the Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (also known as the Sea-Tac Airport) and the Space Needle building, which offers spectacular views from its observation deck 520 feet above the city.Spend a relaxing afternoon watching a baseball game at nearby Safeco Field ballpark, home of the Seattle Mariners. The entire family will enjoy miniature golf, go-karts, bumper boats, laser tag and much more at the Family Fun Center, located just one mile from the hotel. Spend the day shopping at Westfield Southcenter mall, which features more than 200 stores and 20 restaurants, located just three miles from the hotel.The surrounding area offers something for everyone, with a variety of entertainment venues, shopping centers and outdoor recreation, including golfing, fishing, boating and skiing. Several restaurants and cocktail lounges can be found in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Renton
Renton Clarion
Clarion Renton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing