We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shoot for the Happy Hour - stay for the drinks”
Review of The Matador

The Matador
Ranked #11 of 245 Restaurants in Redmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Matador serves fresh Tex-Mex cuisine and premium tequilas in an inviting, social atmosphere with amber lighting and unique, hacienda-inspired decor.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shoot for the Happy Hour - stay for the drinks”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I regret that we missed the end of happy hour. The food looked good. The staff was friendly and competent - the interactions that we had were all pleasant. The bartenders were top-notch. Beers were ok. Margaritas & mojitos were great. Don't expect heavy-handed pours & you won't be disappointed. Very classy, decor was appropriate & appreciated. I would definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    80
    27
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is our favorite, close to home, go-to restaurant. The margaritas are good (not watered down or with a lot of sugary mixer), and the food is fresh. My favorites are the veggie verde enchiladas and the shrimp fajitas, and the nacho (no meat) appetizer. This is a 21 year old and over restaurant. There's an outdoor seating section for when the weather is nice, and there are heaters out there as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie0500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not great, but nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for somewhat authentic Mexican food, this isn't it. The portions are pretty good while the service isn't.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice menu choices”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I enjoyed the pork enchiladas roja. There was a nice, spicey bite and the portion size was perfect. Service was good, but it seemed to take a little longer than expected to get the chips and salsa with our drinks. I would return again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amasland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Everything was fantastic”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Good food, good drinks, good service, good atmosphere, excellent value. This was my second time there and it is always a nice night out. The habanero shrimp are my favorite. For the quality of the dishes, the prices are fairly low. I was pleasantly surprised when the check came. Dinner, drinks and dessert for two was well under $100.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murfeejnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Matador also viewed

 

Been to The Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing