We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian restaurant!”
Review of Tropea Ristorante Italiano - MOVED

Tropea Ristorante Italiano
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food is amazing, the wine selection is awesome and service is very friendly! I can keep going:-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sreeram N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    68
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service. Tiny Place”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great Food and Service is outstanding. Tiny, strip mall location . A bit pricey. Expect to wait 1/2 hour or so at peak times.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NW-USA-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“An odd but worthy destination”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

What is it about strip malls on the East Side of Lake Washington that breeds excellent Italian restaurants? From the now defunct Tosoni's and (still alive and plate-licking) Firenze in Bellevue, Pasta Nova in Woodinville, and Tropea in Redmond this is really becoming quite the pattern!

We've been to Tropea a few times now and really must congratulate the ownership on its authentic preparations. Our most recent visit was as a party of 4, ordering a halibut special, pollo gorgonzola, and a couple pasta dishes (large helpings of which some made their way home for later) for our main courses. We started with what is easily the best melone e prosciutto appetizer in the Puget Sound area and also enjoyed some fine Italian wine and beer for our beverages. All was served perfectly prepared.

You do need to arrive early (5PM - 6PM) if you expect to walk in to a table on the weekend, and the regulars know this. I don't get the concern about the national origin of a waiter though, plenty of Italian restaurants employ non-native Italians with great success (some even mimic the accent, so much the better). If the food is good who cares? And I must disagree with the concern about the pricing. The menu has a wide range of products and prices and definitely competes successfully with places like Italianissimo or Grazie. You can get out of there for less than $50/couple (if you drink non-alcoholic beverages) if you choose to do so. If you can't afford this, then stick to Maggianos or McDonalds.

So it is a little difficult to locate if you haven't been there before (located behind some shrubbery next to a Mexican deli) and downtown Redmond's traffic flow doesn't help much. But, as mentioned before, arrive early and enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank themolitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We will never go back!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and I went to dinner here with another couple on a Monday night. After 90 minutes, and a bill of $200 for the 4 of us (for mediocre food and 4 glasses of wine) they asked us to give up our table so they could seat others. We thought this was extremely rude! We would have been out of there in less than 15 minutes anyways. We will definitely never return to this establishment!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Food and Great Service!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have eaten here many times - and consistently, everything I have ordered was very good - and the service has always been excellent. The location is odd (strip center)...and there are not many tables so there's usually a wait. That being said, if there IS a wait to get a table, it's well worth the wait. Order the lasagna; you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnappyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropea Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing