We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old and the new”
Review of Slater's Diner

Slater's Diner
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Raymond
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Forks, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The old and the new”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The atmosphere is the classic 1950's diner. I had a classic patty melt on rye and it was very good. They had sweet potato fries as an option. I had them and was surprised to find they were some of the best I've ever had. They are so new on most menus that a lot of places haven't figured out how to cook them and it seems like they are frequently raw in the middle or burned (or both). There were perfect.

The place was packed when I got there and the staff, while friendly, knowledgeable and efficient, was slightly overwhelmed. One more person on the floor for the lunch rush would have been helpful. Still, they were clearly doing their best and I didn't have to wait very long.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Back in the Fifties”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent several hours in this well set out diner and went back to the fifties for dinner. The furniture, wall decorations and music all come from the era. Elvis, Marilyn Monroe and Lucy and Desi were all featured. The waitress was a friendly helpful lass who assisted with our questions and explained some of the menu items. The deep fried oysters sounded novel and tasty so that is what we decided upon. We could not have made a better choice. They were delicious. The salad fresh and tasty as well. In all, a thoroughly enjoyable little diner on the road into Raymond.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Really Great! Good Prices Too”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a great experience here! The atmosphere was fun and the service was fine. The food was really good, and satisfying. Definitely a great break from the road. Will stop in again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DR V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Find!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Yummy trip down memory lane with some tasty new twist to boot! This place was recommend to us by the hotel manager where we had stopped for the night & we are soooooo glad it was! Good food, service, atmosphere, & prices! We'll be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mamaontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“FUN FIND”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Driving through on vacation. Stopped here and it was a good choice. Decorated with 50's style things sitting around and on walls. Waitress very friendly. The place was clean. Everyone liked their food orders. Service was good. Sweet potato fries were fabulous!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PELICANJANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slater's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Slater's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing