We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view but, no.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cave B Estate Winery & Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quincy
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view but, no.”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed four nights as guests of another couple. First of all, both of our reserved Cliffhouses were given to another party so we were moved to units 1 & 2. Don't expect them to honor their commitments. Cliffhouse 1 is badly in need of a good cleaning and updates. The blinds are broken, there is a big hole in the dirty rug in front of the sofa, the walls are marked, the furniture doesn't match, it's time to throw away the sheets along with the dead flies. Housekeeping was poor. Second night we were locked out and had to walk back to have key cards reactivated. Overall, management needs to clean up, and clean up their act.
Unique architecture. Grounds are very nice but need more lighting on the paths and better signage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gregory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    123
    65
    34
    20
See reviews for
65
323
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

First visit to the gorge.
Stayed here a few weeks ago and was disappointed by the service and the flies. Checked in at about 6. Lady at the front desk was not very friendly and seemed to have trouble finding reservation.
Stayed in a yurt. Once I arrived at the yurt saw something on the bedding. There were many dead flies. They do not have a phone in the yurt and called the number the lady at the front desk gave me at check -in. Couldn't get through at first. Finally talked to I think the same lady and asked them to please come bring new bedding. Took quite a while for someone to come and it was the same lady. Not friendly didn't have all of the bedding. At this point was frustrated and said would make the bed myself.
Ate in the restaurant. Hit and miss on the menu options. Some are good. The appetizers tasted great but the hailbut for main entree was way overcooked and dry.
I would think for the price they would check the yurt prior to someone checking in to make sure there are no dead flies.
And the service should be better and friendlier at initial reception.
Beautiful views and the wine tasting was ok.

Room Tip: Would probably check out the cliff houses as those might be newer and cleaner than the yurt
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blonde_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Like everyone says, the scenery and natural beauty here are breathtaking. It's truly a one of a kind view. I've stayed in the Cavern rooms before and I agree they could use a good cleaning and updating. This time we stayed in a yurt. These yurts are adorable and come with either a vineyard or a gorge view. I think the best view is from yurt #18. Unfortunately our yurt experience was super gross. We arrived to find a dozen dead flies scattered around the floor and on the bed. I think they get in and then try to get out through the roof and can't. It was nasty. We were able to sweep most of them out the door, but then more kept dying and falling on the bed and floor for the rest of the afternoon. By night time we were contemplating, "do we really want to sleep here?!". The starry view through the roof is amazing though, so I guess I'm glad we stayed. Also, we went in October and nearly froze to death. The yurts have a heater, but it sucks and won't stay on for more than 10 minutes. We were in bed with wool hats and sweaters. In the morning there was no water pressure for a shower, so we called and complained. They said they would alert maintenance "when they arrived," which was an hour later. The yurts are such a cool idea, but the execution leaves much to be desired. We had a good laugh about the flies, but we will never go back.

Room Tip: Yurt #18 has the best view and best privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jsv888_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This past weekend, I was invited to stay at Cave B with a group of women to celebrate the 40th birthday of a good friend. I've read a few reviews tonight and concur completely that this place severely lacks in customer service which should be the hallmark of one that charges rates of a 4 star resort. My friend had planned this celebration for months and had confirmed reservations, including making several phone calls the week prior, to confirm that all was in order for the 2 bedroom Cliffhouse she had arranged. We arrived about an hour in advance of check in and reception was having difficulty locating the reservation but finally claimed they had (more on this in a minute) but the room was not ready and they would need to call us. My friend left her cell # and we left to go enjoy some wine tasting. We had early dinner reservations (4 p.m. - though later we learned that serving for dinner did not actually start until 5 - not told this when she made reservations earlier in the week and not sure why they would allow reservations before serving began) and as check-in time came and went, we decided to check in at the front desk as there was no call. When we arrived at our room, my friend was hugely distressed to discover that our group of 7 had been placed in a one bedroom unit. Clearly upset, she returned to the front desk where she was told she had been given the room she had reserved (which was not correct). My friend located the original reservation made on her I-Pad and the front desk (manager on duty that night who only made matters worse over the evening as you will see) finally confirmed that the person who had checked us in had given my friend the WRONG ROOM and had actually given the 2 bedroom Cliffhouse to someone with the same last name (so we got their room and they got ours). Once this was clear, the resort then attempted to right their wrong by trying to call the person with the same last name but there was a concert at the Gorge that night and they had already left their room. They then proceeded to move that parties items (much of it already unpacked) from the room that we were supposed to be in (the 2 bedroom), and said they would also move our items to the right room. Much to our dismay, while we were at dinner, they only moved items from the refrigerator and none of our luggage or personal belongings. In fact, everything had been mixed with the other parties belongings in the original room. We had to go in and claim and move our items ourselves which we were not too comfortable doing since the other parties items were also there. At this point, we were over an hour late leaving for the same concert at the Gorge. Top notch service for a $600+ room per night - I think not! My friend was in tears at several points and very upset, however, the manager who handled this did not help the situation and the maintenance people who were asked to move belongings only made it worse. There was one young man who really helped us out and we will make sure the resort acknowledges him when we write to them personally about what happened.

The room itself, once finally in, had marks on the walls, the night stands by the king bed did not match, the blinds had notches out of different parts as if they had been broken, and there were many flies in the room. I have to say my husband and I had stayed here about 5 years ago, in one of the cavern rooms, and had a wonderful experience. I don't know who is managing this place now but there is clearly a change - it is not the same. The property was also in a bit of disrepair - grape vines hanging over the walkway, and as there are guests walking from the Gorge at night, there is very inadequate lighting along walkways (literally none).

I will not return to Cave B. The dinner was pretty good and the wine was ok but not worth the agony we experienced nor the price. I will be writing a letter to the resort as they should be ashamed at this level of service for the prices that are charged.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Allyson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveBInnGM, General Manager at Cave B Estate Winery & Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Allison, I have written to your friend whose birthday was being celebrated, so I will not repeat what was said here except to say that we acknowledge that an honest mistake was made when the room reservations were switched at check in. Your friend is being compensated for the mistake. As to the pricing, although it sounds high, with seven persons in a room designed for four, there were the usual and customary extra charges for the extra persons that inflated the room rate that night. Concert nights are our highest tier nights, so not our usual and ordinary rates. As to the flies, this time of year they are a problem.. One cold night and the problem goes away. We are truly sorry for the mix-up. and any upsetness caused by it. To look on the positive side, you were spared from siting in the wind and rain an extra hour waiting for a concert to start that was ultimately canceled. I hope you were there when Adam Levine and Kelly Clarkson made their brief appearance!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Cave B Inn is located above the Columbia River Gorge with spectacular views all around the property. Our overall experience was perfect!!!

We hosted family and friends for a weekend event and experienced the most amazing food & service - throughout the entire weekend. Everyone absolutely loved the property & the service. I captured some photos to give you an idea of the tranquility you will experience. We lounged by the pool, we hiked, we took advantage of the spa services and had many meals, including room service - everything was great & the food was amazing!!! We did not once think about turning on a TV . . . therefore, I have no idea if the TV works or doesn't work. We had zero issues with driving our car down a driveway to get to our Cliffhouse #15 (we did drive slow since it is a dirt road with rocks). And, if you are not comfortable with driving on the dirt roads or walking distances (the property is pretty spread out), Cave B staff will get you around on their golf carts. They do have rooms for people with disabilities and are thoughtful to provide extra service - you just need to ask, which we did for one of our guests.

We experienced responsive, professional, and friendly service from the entire staff. If we needed an extra amenity or something for our room, it was only a phone call away. We did not experience any issues with staff not being available. In fact, we found the staff to be very responsive, including when one of our guests was stung by a bee and fainted. The team sprung into action to get us medical assistance - they knew what to do & they were very professional and empathetic during the entire incident. Thankfully, our friend recovered at the local hospital and was able to rejoin our group.

The property is dark at night, the grounds are not perfect, walkways can be of dirt and gravel, and the property is very spread out - depending on where you are staying . . . however, this is the appeal for us - being in the middle of nowhere with natural beauty all around you & spectacular evenings looking at the stars. To enjoy this appeal, we were prepared: I packed flashlights for ourselves and our guests & they did come in handy; I also informed our guests to bring proper attire: good walking shoes for dirt, gravel, grass, and cement walkways, clothes for hiking, and a sweater for the evenings; I packed snacks & sunscreen for everyone to have in their rooms (closest store for snacks or anything is about 15 minutes away & probably isn't open late). Next time, I will pack eye/sleeping masks for guests staying in Yurts (very bright, very early), however, everyone still loved staying in the Yurts & Cliffhouses.

Cave B Inn & Spa and the Winery were worth the money. And, I cannot wait to go back to enjoy another amazing experience!!!!!

Room Tip: If you can afford a Cliffhouse - book a Cliffhouse. For Yurts - book one with a River View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VeronicaLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveBInnGM, General Manager at Cave B Estate Winery & Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Cave B. We really appreciate it.
And a special thank you for writing a review that will be helpful to others who may be planning a stay with us. We strive to provide a wonderful experience for our guests and it makes us happy when we are able to meet and exceed expectations. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My mother and I stayed on Business two weeks ago, and we stayed in a yurt. We have never stayed in one of the yurts so it was a experience. We always stay in the cliff houses or the cavern rooms that offer more amenity's, though the Yurt was a fun experience, we do prefer to stay in our regular Cliff House on all our next visits. We where in the Quincy area to install art by Douglas Granum, so after a long day, we had dinner at Tendrils the restaurant on site, What a Absolutely wonderful Dinner!

Overall cant wait to return!

Room Tip: Cliff Houses or Cavern rooms, the Yurts are fun if your wanting to explore!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBryanSHoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveBInnGM, General Manager at Cave B Estate Winery & Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal Cave B fan and taking the time to write a review. The Yurts are , meant to provide a more affordable option, and yes, have more appeal to those who want to experience something a little different than the usual. We will pass on your kind words about the food to the kitchen staff. Looking forward to your next visit.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, washington
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

First the excellent points:
- Views are absolutely amazing
- Setting is sublime
- Architecture is unique and pleasing
- Great (although laid-back) service
- Romantic
- Other-wordly relaxing (although there was not a concert next door)

The not so excellent:
- Needs some spiffing up
- Needs a good cleaning
- Restaurant is just okay
- Interior decor is a little un-cohesive with the architecture, as well as a little Holiday Inn-ish

All-in-all, we really enjoyed ourselves. The staff was quick to give us a room upgrade. They were friendly and easygoing.
We would definitely go back for another nice weekend. The lack of that last star was mostly due to just a lack of that certain something. If you are going to have $600 rooms, you need to have $600 room maintenance, decor, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveBInnGM, General Manager at Cave B Estate Winery & Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review, we very much appreciate the feedback. The Inn has been open now for eight years and yes, it is due for some renovations. We will be closed from December 16th through February 13th coming up, and plan on using this time off to do a thorough spiffing up of the rooms. We look forward to hosting you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quincy
24.7 mi away
Best Western Rama Inn
Best Western Rama Inn
#1 of 3 in Ephrata
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
20.8 mi away
Sunny Springs Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Crescent Bar RV Resort
8.7 mi away
The Suites at Crescent Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cave B Estate Winery & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave B Estate Winery & Resort

Property: Cave B Estate Winery & Resort
Address: 344 Silica Rd NW, Quincy, WA 98848-9468
Location: United States > Washington > Quincy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quincy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cave B Estate Winery & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave B Estate Winery & Resort offers breathtaking views of our own estate vineyards, the Columbia River and the state's most dramatic gorge location. Cave B Resort offers 55 guestrooms, including 15 stand-alone Cliffehouses, 12 Cavern Rooms, three Inn Suites, and 25 Desert Yurts, as well as Tendrils Restaurant, The Spa at Cave B, award-winning Cave B Estate Winery, and a dramatic cliffside outdoor swimming pool. Come for a weekend, a true Washington State vacation, for a romantic getaway, or for a concert next door at the Gorge Amphitheater. Experience outdoor adventure, one of the few estate wineries in Washington State, and a landscape like no other at one of the Northwest's finest resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cave B Estate Winery & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cave b Inn And Spa
Cave b Hotel Quincy
Cave b Quincy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing