We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rip off cancellation policy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cave B Estate Winery & Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quincy
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rip off cancellation policy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Be wary of their onerous cancellation policy. We booked a couple nights of yurts for a Gorge concert that was subsequently cancelled. They would not refund us even though the cancellation was beyond our control. Further they are fully booked on weekends for the rest of the summer. They were vague about our ability to rollover our cancellation credit into 2014. Wasted $400.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveBInnGM, General Manager at Cave B Estate Winery & Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
You are more than welcome to call the Inn and request that your deposit be applied to a later stay, so that your deposit can be utilized for good purpose. We also do not have control over when or if concerts are booked or cancelled., The one night non-refundable deposit is not unusual in high season situations. When you call, please refer to this response and indicate the days or days for which you had had your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    118
    63
    33
    20
See reviews for
64
309
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I expected the views to be great and they were. I expected the room to be nice and it was much more than nice. The greatest surprise was the food. While I don't think Cave B wines are fabulous, they are decent enough that when the chef cares to really be artful in pairing food with the wine, the result is stunning. The food, breakfast to dinner, was outstanding and worth the trip. I read other reviews and would tend to agree that the yurts don't look great although they might be fun if you have kids. This is a very romantic place. Take somebody you love and enjoy!

Room Tip: Avoid the yurts - all the rest are great. Fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TabernashColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washingotn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

First of all i have used trip advisor throughout the years and know that all reviews especially negative ones need to be taken with a grain of salt. Somebody might have just hit a place on a bad day or it could have been somebodys expectations were not being met. With that being said, i will give my honest assessment of cave b. we arriived on the property in the afternoon and immediately checked into our room. The property is magnificent, absolutely stunning. We were given a room in the main building overlooking the gorge. What a sight to wake up to. My first opinion of the room was that it was an average, nicely appointed room. It might have been a little dated and had a couple of steps that if not careful could have been an injury but oh well...
We were given a discount because the fireplace did not work but that was fine as it was 90 degrees. Now for the downside, for the amount one pays for these rooms i would have expected drinking water in the rooms and a refridgerator plugged in with drinks. You are a captive at cave b so you have to eat here as it is in the middle of not much else. The food was expensive and mediocre. In otherwords, not a gastronomical event. The wait staff were incredibly friendly and i would rate them to be exceptional. They have a tasting room on site where we went to sample some of the wine. I would call them professional but not exactly friendly. I did not care much for cave bs wines. My advice to anyone going would be to carry a few snacks and maybe some wine. If you are a hiker, definitely take the hike down to the gorge but have hiking boots and enjoy the scenery as there really is not a lot more to do here.

Room Tip: Room 30 in main house had beautiful view. Over restaurant but not noisy. The free standing houses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pigglypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveBInnGM, General Manager at Cave B Estate Winery & Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your impressions of your recent stay at Cave B Inn. Your comments will help us to provide the kind of experience that we want our guests to have. Our water comes from a deep water well on the property and is known for its excellent drinking qualities. We have on hand complimentary reusable water containers for hikers that are in keeping with our efforts to be sustainable whenever possible. Some snack foods are available at the winery However,there will be another casual eating option available this summer, located next to the pond. We hope that you will come stay with us again, and if you do, please let us know the kinds of things you would like to do, and we will do our best to facilitate your interests. Besides hiking and biking, there is fishing, swimming, boating, rock climbing, bird watching, dam exhibits, petrified forests, wine tasting rooms, historical exhibits, reading library,spa treatments, helicopter rides and more either onsite or easily accessible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wa. State
Level Contributor
169 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in a yurt for a couple of nights. We would have chosen a cave room or one of the real accomodations but they were all booked as were all the hotels in Ellensburg. So our choice was the Vantage Motel or a Cave B yurt. The web site photos of the yurt area made it look kind of interesting so I put my money down and took my chances.

My evaluation is somewhat "value" driven and I would imagine that had we stayed in a "real room" my evaluation would be different. But there is no way that the Yurts are worth $200/night. The area around the yurts is very ill kept (see photos). Perphaps some of the ground keeping issues are due to the early season, but for $200/night, clean the pond for heavens sake and spruce up the vaunted horse-shoe and lawn bowling areas. And, BTW, the $200/night does not get you maid service or fresh towels daily.

The yurts themselves are kind or rickity and delapidated looking and it was quite windy in the area (I think it always is) and the thing rattled and banged making it very difficult to sleep.

The view from the yurts of the canyon is limited and the weeds and cheat grass around the outside don't make it inviting to sit outside. I, am not sure where the Picnic area is we never saw one.

When I say the ambiance of a state park campground, that is not a stretch. The ambiance included drunken singing from one of the neighbors (must have been doing a bit of wine tasting) , howling dogs from one of the other neighbors and various engine revving during the night. The walls of the yurts are veeeeeeeeeeeeeery thin. This is all to be expected in a campground on July 4 weekend but not at these prices.

Now for the Tendrils resturant. Remember that this place is the middle of no-where, so convenient dining options are limited to the resort resturant. Ouch! We ate one dinner there, sharing an entree and it was $104+ tip. In all fairness, the food was excellent and Mrs. Spokane and I are light eaters so the shared entree, though small, sufficied. But the next night we
drove into Quincy for a Mexican dinner (that review to follow.)

Was there anything positive? Well, yeah, the view is nice, but the Grand Coulee is not the Grand Canyon. (As and aside we are booked in the El Tovar Hotel at Grand Canyon Village this fall for $178/night, and that is a real view). The hike to the river is ok and watching the stars through the little plexiglas dome in the roof is kind of cool for a few minutes.

And a final note, Mrs. Spokaneman and I stopped by to checkout. I settled my bill $568.00 for the two days stay and one meal, and the desk clerk did not inquire as to how our stay was. Mrs. Spokaneman and I were a bit offput by that. Heck, the desk clerk at the Super 8 always inquires as to the quality of the stay.

So, thats my take. Not a terrible stay, but surely not worth the money.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a Yurt!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spokaneman1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Great views, great wines and great food! We stayed in one of the cliff houses. Very much worth it. So glad we decided to stay here. We only stayed one night as the weekend was sold out. The fridge in the room is quite small luckily we had a cooler. The room was a pet room as we were travelling with our dog and toddler. The room was immaculate! The views are out of this world. Tonnes of area to walk the dog. We had lunch at tendrills restaurant. The food was yummy and very well priced for lunch. Can hardly wait to go back!!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
234 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We took advantage of a "last minute special" with the Cave B Inn. The rooms are normally prohibitively expensive for most of us .. and here's why. The remote location of this facility has an absolutely spectacular view.

Our comfortably designed room was marred a bit by work out furnishings. But, who was looking at anything but the Columbia River below. If you can find a deal on the room rate - and can go the distance to get here - definitely try to do so.

Room Tip: The rooms are very expensive here. Call and see if there is some sort of special rate offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Don't go. This is the only place we have stayed where a rate was quoted by both the front desk and reservations on April 15 and when we were ready to travel, Carol, some sort of manager, called at 6 PM on April 16 and said "we don't have that rate." "If you don't like me raising the rate, go somewhere else." And then implied I was a liar even though i tried to explain her front desk manager Valeria had quoted a rate $64 lower. I thought Carol was rude, inconsiderate, and my advice is to go anywhere else. In my opinion staff at motel 6 have better manners than Carol.
In addition we had originally confirmed reservations for April 19. After confirming and making confirmed plans including a deposit for Walla Walla, Cave B called back explaining they had made a mistake and could not accommodate us on the 19th because of a wedding. So we lost a $200 deposit in Walla Walla.
All I can say is DO NOT believe what they say until you have something in writing. They seem to be able to change accommodations and rates with a blink of the eye.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveBInnGM, General Manager at Cave B Estate Winery & Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are sorry that we were unable to give you the rate that you requested which is not in our current published rate structure. Rates do change seasonally and with room type depending upon demand and availability. All rates are posted on our website. Our reservation agents are available from 9 to 5 daily to answer any questions and make reservations, but are not authorized to make unilateral or arbitrary changes to the rates. We apologize if there was any mis-understanding with respect to this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quincy
24.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rama Inn
BEST WESTERN Rama Inn
#1 of 3 in Ephrata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
20.8 mi away
Sunny Springs Resort & Campground
8.6 mi away
Crescent Bar RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Suites at Crescent Bay Resort
Show Prices

Been to Cave B Estate Winery & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave B Estate Winery & Resort

Property: Cave B Estate Winery & Resort
Address: 344 Silica Road NW, Quincy, WA 98848
Location: United States > Washington > Quincy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quincy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cave B Estate Winery & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave B Estate Winery & Resort offers breathtaking views of our own estate vineyards, the Columbia River and the state's most dramatic gorge location. Cave B Resort offers 55 guestrooms, including 15 stand-alone Cliffehouses, 12 Cavern Rooms, three Inn Suites, and 25 Desert Yurts, as well as Tendrils Restaurant, The Spa at Cave B, award-winning Cave B Estate Winery, and a dramatic cliffside outdoor swimming pool. Come for a weekend, a true Washington State vacation, for a romantic getaway, or for a concert next door at the Gorge Amphitheater. Experience outdoor adventure, one of the few estate wineries in Washington State, and a landscape like no other at one of the Northwest's finest resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cave B Estate Winery & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cave b Inn And Spa
Cave b Hotel Quincy
Cave b Quincy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing