We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Rustic at the same time”
Review of Roosevelt Room

Roosevelt Room
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Quinault
Price range: $10 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: In the fall of 1937, President Franklin D. Roosevelt visited Lake Quinault Lodge during a fact-finding trip and enjoyed lunch in the later-named Roosevelt Dining Room. Nine months later, Roosevelt signed a bill creating Olympic National Park. Today you'll enjoy outstanding cuisine in the Roosevelt Dining Room, one of our famous Olympic Peninsula Restaurants, as well as panoramic views of the Lake and the mountains beyond.
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant and Rustic at the same time”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We enjoyed it, the view was great, service fine, atmosphere cozy. The food left something to be desired.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AgentKlooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    170
    100
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasted good even with a bad cold”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was really looking forward to dining here, because my travel guide (Lonely Planet) and all the websites said it was wonderful. We were only staying at the Lodge one night, so I booked this ahead to make sure we got in. However, the night we dined there, I had come down with a terrible cold, and was having a hard time tasting anything!
So I chugged my Dayquil before dinner, and the aromas of the food started opening my sinuses a bit, and I was able to taste the fabulous meal. I highly recommend the salmon--I mean, you're in the Pacific Northwest, right? And they do the salmon there brilliantly. The service was wonderful--all the people that work there are very nice. And you can't beat the view of that glorious lake!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Does not quite live up to ambitious menu and prices”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The setting is beautiful - but the food did not quite live up to the somewhat pretentious menu and steep prices. Some lovely seafood choices on the menu, plus good options for the children. Portion sizes were generous but quality was OK, rather than special - the salmon was a bit dry, scallops were juicy but drowning in butter. Service was equally OK - we were left standing for 5 minutes before anyone even acknowledged our presence, while staff were scrambling around setting up tables. When they did make contact, they were lovely - a bit over eager at times, plates whipped away as soon as you were finished (while others were still enjoying the course).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SaKi_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 612 helpful votes
“A gourmand would recognize quality, and would LOVE this superb restaurant!!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have eaten in restaurants in Europe - Germany, Austria, Spain, France - and in South America, Asia and Canada - and the USA. Without question this meal was without peer. Ribeye was perfect, Crème brûlée was as good, I believe better than ANY made in France!! We totally enjoyed our dinner, the view, the atmosphere and the superior attention to detail of the entire staff. Cost? Perfluffle ... one gets what one pays for, and obviously SOME 'reviewers' favorite places to eat are Mc Places, wouldn't recognize quality if/when it stares them in the face.

Meals for two? Consistently - they were less than $30.00 (yes, we had more than just one meal during our two days here including a breakfast that was magnifique).

This location and restaurant are historically significant and there is no where else within a hundred miles that could compare. HIGHLY Recommended~~~~~

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SBruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“House-Made Sweet Potato Pancakes with Hazelnut Butter: Yum!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We ate here for dinner and breakfast while staying at the Lake Quinault Lodge. Dinner was good; I had the crab cakes and my husband had the burger. We split a bowl of clam chowder that was delicious and loaded with clams. But the real standout was the breakfast: we had the house-made sweet potato pancakes with hazelnut butter. The hazelnut butter on the pancakes was so delicious that we didn't even need syrup. Service was good, and we enjoyed the lake view at breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank _0mkq0_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roosevelt Room also viewed

 

Been to Roosevelt Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing