We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, noisy, and OLD...not even quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rain Forest Resort Village
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Expensive, noisy, and OLD...not even quaint”
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We were too late to get a room at the Lake Quinault Lodge so took a room in the motel section of this resort. Rooms are small, old, and noisy. Could hear everyone around us...upstairs, going up the stairs, etc. Salmon House good but not great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gclat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinault, manager at Rain Forest Resort Village, responded to this review, October 23, 2009
Thank you for your review. What you pointed out gives us a good idea on how to makes things for our guest. We are always trying to improve our guests stays. We read and reply to all reviews because we care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    106
    52
    25
    11
See reviews for
72
132
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, CA
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

The location is beautiful and the rain forest, which technically begins to the east and to the north of the resort, is stunning. If you don't mind old shag carpeting and a slightly run down look, the cabins are Ok. In cabin 6 there is a large whirlpool bath, which was much appreciated, and the beds have great mattresses. Except for the refrigerator, which was large, the kitchen was disappointing. The pans, all old, scratched Teflon, were battered and small. No cutting board was provided, so the surface next to the sink was scratched from folks cutting and chopping directly on the counter. The coffee pot was tiny. The can opener barely worked. A couple of spots in the kitchen and bathroom floors sink when you step on them. The fireplace didn't work either but, fortunately, we didn't want a fire in August. The staff was quite friendly. For those items they couldn't fix right away - like the fireplace - they promised to "put it on the list." However this sort of thing was largely made up for by the scenery. If we were to visit the Washington rain forest again, though, we'd probably want to check out other areas rather than automatically returning to this one.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AG1593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinault, Manager at Rain Forest Resort Village, responded to this review, October 23, 2009
Thank you for your Review, here at the resort we care about our guests and their stay. We are glad there were things you liked about the resort. The shortfalls you pointed out, give us good idea on what can be made better. Thank you. Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Not only is the Rain Forest Resort in a beautiful location, have clean rooms, a very comfy bed and a great mix of travelers (RVing families, couples, etc.), but also, their customer service is excellent and even saved our trip. The staff were nice from beginning to end but on day two of our vacation (Sunday) when my vehicle developed some engine trouble, they surpassed our expectations. With a simple show of concern and a call to the owner of the only gas station in town (which was to be closed until Tuesday) we were comforted by the help and were even able to have someone look at our car and discover that the problem could be alleviated long enough to complete our vacation and drive home.
So, instead of stressing about how to tow our car to Aberdeen and find a mechanic, we completed our 5mi hike through the glorious rain forest and returned home, happy, relaxed and with a renewed faith in the kindness of strangers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kibertcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinault, manager at Rain Forest Resort Village, responded to this review, July 22, 2009
Thank you for review, it is a good aid for us to see what we are doing right and also wrong. My brother was the one that helped you with your car, he is glad to hear you made it home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElvisJackson55
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

I'v been coming to Quinault for years painting the senery. I like staying at the Resort becase they treat you the best from the office staff to the Restaurant waitress. The view is the best in the area. My favorite is there fireplace cabins. I like to come back from along day hiking and painting and relax by the fire. The last time I stayed I saw the Osprey"s and Eagle's fishing the lake. Just up the road there was a heard of Elk crossing. There is no place to visit and relax then the Quinault Rain Forest and definatly stay at the Rain Forest Resort.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElvisJackson55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinault, manager at Rain Forest Resort Village, responded to this review, July 22, 2009
Thank you for your reveiw, it gives us a better understanding of what people really enjoy about the Quinault Rainforest and our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We just returned from a two-week jaunt around Washinton's Olympic Peninsula, and stayed four nights at the Rain Forest Resort Village at Lake Quinault. This was the highlight of our trip. The resort is nestled on the South Shore of the lake, with a stunning view of the water and shoreline. We booked a Park Side Suite, which had everything we needed -- fireplace, spacious balcony overlooking the lake and the resort's quiet, grassy RV park, microwave, fridge and jetted tub! We stocked up on goodies at the resort's friendly little store and gift shop. Then we hit the hiking trails;there are several excellent hikes you can take without leaving the resort. A short drive away is the Colonel Bob trail. This is not for the faint of heart. It is seven miles, straight up. We didn't quite reach the summit because of snow, and by the time we got back to our suite, we were both ready for a soak in the hot tub. We opened the window at night in the bedroom, and let a chorus of rainforest frogs sing us to sleep.
The next day we took a drive around the lake and were astounded by the sight of a huge herd of giant elk grazing in a field just a mile or so from the resort! It was amazing! The drive took about two hours because we stopped to watch the Quinault River rush by on the North Shore of the lake.
That night we dined at the resort's restaurant, the Salmon House. The smoked salmon appetizer was delicious, and we learned that the owners smoke the salmon themselves right on the property. My husband had the dill salmon which was excellent, and I had a New York steak that was cooked just the way I like it.
The best part about the Rain Forest Resort is the quiet solitude and magical beauty of the rainforest. Our suite was clean and very comfortable -- we loved it. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable about the area. We really enjoyed our stay, and we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CheecaLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinault, manager at Rain Forest Resort Village, responded to this review, July 22, 2009
Thank you for your reveiw, we work hard, here at the resort to make our guest stay more enjoyable. Your review helps us on that quest. Glad to hear you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

My husband and I stayed one night in Cabin #9 which is right next to the Office/Store and right on the road and across from the Salmon House restaurant. It was a little noisy and busy until about 9pm.. Unfortunately the noise started up again bright and early with traffic on the road. We wanted to be off of the road but there was no unit available with a kitchen except along the road. Having internet access was a plus.
For the size of the room, and quality of the bed, the barely outfitted kitchen and bath, $179 for 1 night turned out to be very overpriced. But having the kitchen did save us on the cost of a dinner and breakfast, which we luckily planned ahead for. The kitchen needs a better coffee maker since you can't get coffee at the Office until after 9am.. If we stayed there again, we'd opt for the quiet of one of the cabins off the road, and make do without the kitchen.
The place is old, somewhat run down, in need of renovation but we prefer this kind of cabin to a hotel room. However, we did not think this particular cabin was a good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Docbarbsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinault, manager at Rain Forest Resort Village, responded to this review, July 22, 2009
Thank you for your review, your input is important to us. we will use your review to address your concerns about cabin #9. the price of the cabin seems to be misquoted @ $179, the price is $159 a night and less in the off season.
We have quite a variety of rooms and cabins at the resort, I am sure we would have something for you if you decide to stay with us again. Happy travels and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, FL
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Stayed in a lodge room. Musty smell, especially with air handler on, so kept it off. No kleenex tissue, no hair conditioner, hard to adjust water temp in shower. Not much ice available in the machine in the office/store.One bright spot: at the attached Salmon House restaurant, ate two delicious dishes: baked and broiled salmon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkbrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinault, manager at Rain Forest Resort Village, responded to this review, June 29, 2009
Sorry to hear these guest's stay was not up to their standards, we would rather have people enjoy our Rooms, grounds and Restaurant, then be disappointed. We have been upgrading our rooms in our village Inn this year , all with new pillow top beds and half the rooms so far with new air conditioners, the only air conditioned rooms around Lake Quiaunalt.
In this case, a room switch or upgrade, if possible, should have made for a better stay for these guests. The problems they mentioned, about the room, are being addressed and hopefully will not ruin anyone else's stay.
I would like to thank them for their comments
and let them know ,we care about our guests and are always looking for ways to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quinault
24.1 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
24.8 mi away
Ocean Crest Resort
Ocean Crest Resort
#1 of 3 in Moclips
249 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Quinault Lodge
Lake Quinault Lodge
#1 of 2 in Quinault
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rain Forest Resort Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rain Forest Resort Village

Property: Rain Forest Resort Village
Address: 516 S Shore Rd, Quinault, Quinault, WA 98575-9706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Quinault
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rain Forest Resort Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful resort on Lake Quinault in the heart of the Quinault Rain Forest with fireplace cabins and suites, Village Inn rooms, the Salmon House Restaurant, a general store with giftshop and more. With a large lawn to the lake and trails to the rainforest, plan on the spectacular scenery. Come on and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rain Forest Resort Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rain Forest Resort Village Hotel Quinault
Rain Forest Hotel Village
Rain Forest Motel Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing