We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Quinault Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 30, 2010

This was a great place to stay - pretty good restaurant, nice hotel, but for me the location was perfect! Close to the hiking, great for having extended family around - huge field for nieces and nephews to play in and nice lobby for later evening cards,etc. w/the adults. Beautiful view of the lake as well!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZannaDeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,598 - 1,604 of 1,839 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2010

Lake Quinault is one of our favorite destinations. We pay the outrageous room rates because we use to love the staff that worked there and they way they always went out of their way to make us feel welcomed.
Now that the old staff is gone it's definitely not a place we will stay at again. The food could use lots of improvements as well or at least lower the prices. I'd recommend the Salmon House down the road.
For my money I will either stay at the resort on the north shore or down at the rain forest village

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmanolympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

The location is terrific. The staff is friendly. Food is good. And I sympathize that it is hard to staff such a seasonal location. BUT, one incident was inexcusable. We came up to our room on New Year's Eve and went to bed at 11:30. At about 12:10, a commotion started in the room across from us. For the next hour and twenty minutes there were loud sounds and doors slamming and the [--] word was used constantly. We were afraid to go into the hall to confront the evil doers. There are NO PHONES to call the desk, and apparently no one roams the halls to monitor this kind of behavious. The next morning I reported this issue to the desk. She mumbled something to the effect that someone said there was a problem in rooms 201 and 203. No apology. I am sure this is not the normal experience, but it was inexcusable.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed in one of the fireplace rooms at the Lake Quinault Lodge for Christmas Eve and Christmas Night. To our surprise, there were quite a few others staying at the Lodge during the holiday too. The room was very comfortable and the fireplace really made it cozy. The bed there was amazingly comfortable! The restaurant there is also nice and we had very good service when we dined there. The food was good, but it didn't match the prices... the food was definitely overpriced. Unfortunately, the restaurant up the road was closed for the holiday, so our only option was to eat at the Lodge.

The main Lodge was comfy and there were many people enjoying time by the fire and/or near the Christmas tree where they had live music. There was also a bar service in the evenings, which was also a nice option.

The location is great & there are a lot of places to explore during your trip there. I would suggest doing the South Shore/North Shore Road drive as a day trip.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank just_traveling01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

I stayed with my friend in the main lodge. Even though it was the older building, it was very clean and comfortable. Our four daughters stayed in a newer lakeview room. They had a comfortable room with a great view! We cooked outside on our own BBQ that we brought, stopped across the street at the market for more groceries, and enjoyed being there in a quiet month of the year. We loved the huge room with the fireplace where our daughters played games and we talked or others read. Great gift shop! It's also a short drive to one of the world's largest trees - worth seeing! Pool heater was broken so we enjoyed the sauna. We then drove 45 minutes to the ocean. We loved Kalaloch Beach!
It's also a good place to eat lunch at the hotel there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayBellevue_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Lake Quinault Lodge, located in the National forest on the south shore of Lake Quinault, WA, is a real gem. We stayed in a beautiful room (226) which doubles as the "honeymoon room," and has a fireplace and view of the lake. Granted we were there at the low season, and it rained, rained, rained, all during our stay, but we so enjoyed being in such an historic location. We were able to get out and hike and tour the area and see the incredible rain (!!) forests up close. Lake Quinault Lodge is a true gem in the National Park system, and is a must stop if you've ever enjoyed Old Faithful Inn, or Yellowstone Lodge. The staff at every turn was helpful and friendly and happy to make our stay more enjoyable. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SJDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Our stay in Quinault Lake Lodge was a big highlight of our Seattle/national parks (Rainier and North Cascades besides Olympic) trip. It is a grand building that takes its rightful place in the great “parkitecture” tradition. I found the setting beautiful and very romantic (in spite, or maybe because of, of the rain) and Olympic National Park and other parts of the Olympic Peninsula (the “OP”) are among the most interesting places I have been to. But on the next trip, if we have the time, the distances between destination points are great enough that it would be worth a couple of nights at Quinault and additional nights at one of the other locations (like Sol Duc or Crescent Lake; Hurricane Ridge is a long round-trip from Lake Quinault).

We splurged on a fireplace room, and I’m very glad we did, as, among other reasons, a downed tree cut off the electricity (to that whole side of the lake) one evening. Our cheery gas fire gave us a little light and a spot of warmth until the electric company completed repairs. As the main lodge (but not our wing) was on generator power, to their credit the very competent desk staff was able to fly into action, providing flashlights and extra blankets in case rooms got cold (electric heat was out too, of course); they also provided guests with frequent, and what turned out to be accurate, updates from electric company.

Our room was large, spotlessly clean, quiet, and well furnished; it had also a view of the lake and trees, and a big private balcony The bedding was quite good, but bed itself so massive that we banged our knees into its stick-out corners. Also in the room were a little (fold-out?) couch, a comfy chair, a little desk, an armoire with a big flat screen TV on top. The bathroom vanity was especially classy, and had plenty of room for our things. Hot water and pressure were just fine, towels big and absorbent enough. A hair dryer and walking sticks (cool!) are provided, but there were no phone or iron & board (might have been provided on request?). I found the lighting on the dim side.

The Quinault Lake Lodge lobby is magnificently designed for hanging out, with lovely comfortable chairs and couches, a huge wood-burning fireplace kept crackling morning and evening, windows overlooking the enormous greensward, lake, and mountains beyond, and historic and classy décor. It’s a great place for chatting with other guests or for quietly reading, checking email (bring your own computer, the wi-fi is free and reliable), playing chess, or sipping excellent coffee available from the restaurant a little before it opens in the morning. In the evening there is bar service. At the end of a hall is a small gift shop with a nice selection.

The restaurant opens at 8:00 for sit-down breakfast. The service and the food are very good (except for the chicken sausage, not so tasty). We enjoyed a very well-prepared salmon dinner there one evening as well, though like all food in national parks, it was not bargain-priced. Another place for a very good sit-down dinner is the Salmon House, a couple of miles east along the road. Or consider having dinner overlooking the Pacific at Kalaloch Lodge about 35 miles around the Peninsula. Quinault Mercantile, across the street, is a very friendly place, and makes all kinds of simpler food (sandwiches and the like) to order. Their food is fresh and inexpensive, but the portions are not generous. They’ll pack a handy sack lunch to take with.

The national park/national forest setting is unbelievably beautiful. In addition to taking in all the national park has to offer (such as the Hall of Mosses trail at Hoh) take the drive around Lake Quinault, definitely go to Kalaloch, and explore the beaches–Rialto and Ruby are nothing short of spectacular. It is certainly worth the long drive to Neah Bay to see the Makah (Indian) Cultural and Research Center and learn their story. Local wildlife includes Roosevelt elk, Columbian black-tailed deer, harbor seals, otters, and raccoons, and whales in the right season. It’s a fabulous area to visit, and Quinault Lake Lodge is a fabulous place to enjoy it from.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YellowstoneGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quinault
23.2 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
23.3 mi away
Moonstone Beach Motel
Moonstone Beach Motel
#1 of 3 in Moclips
181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rain Forest Resort Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Ocean Crest Resort
Ocean Crest Resort
#2 of 3 in Moclips
272 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lake Quinault Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Quinault Lodge

Address: 345 S Shore Rd, P.O. Box 7, Quinault, WA 98575-9700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Quinault
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Price Range: $135 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Quinault Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are some places so blissfully disconnected from the modern world that they seem to stand suspended in time. Lake Quinault Lodge is one such place - a grand and rustic lodge built in 1926 that welcomes guests with warmth, hospitality and a sincere feeling of home-away-from-home comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Quinault Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Quinault Hotel Quinault
Lake Lodge Quinault

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing